We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 nights in Accra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“3 nights in Accra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

In February I spend 3 nights at the Accra Holiday Inn Airport hotel.

The hotel shuttle bus picked me up from the airport. This shuttle is offered to hotel guests free of charge and runs 24/7. The hotel is a 3-4 min drive from the airport. The driver told me that in bussy times he does 20 trips PER HOUR between the hotel and airport... it sounds a bit high, but tells me the hotel ensures travellers are picked up/dropped off.

Upon arrival I checked in and the hotel made an attempt to block some credit on my credit card. My card, an Australian Citibank card, has no PIN facility as far as Im aware and in my 3 years using it, no credit card terminal had ever requested for it...I had an alternative card which I had to use. Also be aware that the hotel rates are published in USD, invoiced in local currency but payment is required to be done in USD again... The rate used for this conversion is EXTREMELY disadvantaged for the traveller,, to such an extend that when I submitted my expense claim with my company it showed an 80 USD difference in what the hotel should have charged versus what they did charge me.

The published rate (behind the counter) is 350 USD, which is high for this hotel, if it would have been located in other markets. Around the hotel 3 new hotel properties are under construction and lets hope that with some competition the cost will be driven down a bit.

I got to my room, 309, with the elevator (2 elevators, working well, small in size, max 3 people).

My room was spacious, clean, soft bed, clean bathroom, separate toilet. The minibar made a lot of noise so I unplugged it for the duration of my stay. The airco was also a bit on the noisy side and as it was quite cool at night, I had it switched off 2 out of 3 nights. The rooms wont open (or at least not easily).
The TV in the room is large and has all of the usual suspects pre-programmed. There seemed to be pay tv available as well.

There is a hotel pool with a nice terras on the side, which serves a basic menu. (I went for the burger 2 days in a row). On Friday night there was a nice band with live music.
I peeked into the gym of the hotel (next to the pool) what that was not much. The place around looked safe for roadrunners.

1 evening I ordered a salad (to compensate for the burgers) from the room menu service which was delivered within 20 minutes.

Breakfast was a decent buffer with very nice coffee served.

Check out took a long time (20 min) as the credit card terminal was not functioning and manual payment had to be processed.

Room Tip: I had an airport view hotel which I was fine with, but I guess the pool view rooms are the best in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vastgotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    199
    141
    43
    17
See reviews for
20
18
50
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Spent 4 nights in this hotel needing to get in and out of town a couple of times a day.
For this purpose the hotel is ideally situated, also if one still has to attend meetings at the day of arrival. On my arrival day I could easily make a 3:30pm meeting after having arrived at the airport at. 12:30, clear immigration, collect luggage, clear customs and get to the hotel with their courtesy van. Although check in is from 2pm, a room was made ready in 15 minutes and by 2 is was ready to roll. Excellent drivers, all qualified and background checked, are available. If you have to drive from meeting to meeting it is recommended to use these transportation services.


  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janaalt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

By far one of the best hotels i've stayed in Ghana at in terms of value for money, price and service. They have pretty high standards on a worldly scale and the rooms are quite decent. Bang tidy and spacious with satellite tv.

Very good breakfast choice with a grilled/roasted selection of food available from the outside bbq. Pool is top notch and the summer hut next to it.

I had a car and parking was free with minimum hassle.

The area is very secure, being next to the airport so security was at the bottom of my agenda, no problemo.

Will stay here again, just keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M7Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamako
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Accra for 6 nights. It does the job as a reasonable 4-star. There is a professional ambience to the hotel, staff are well trained and are generally courteous and attentive. My rooms was of reasonable size, clean and reasonably comfortable. There was no intrusive noise, and I slept well every night.

As in most Ghanaian hotels, breakfast is acceptable but limited compared to what a comparable hotel would offer in other parts of the world. After 6 mornings of the same limited stuff, you really want to move on. The dinner buffet is significantly better, especially the starters. The menus in the restaurant and the bar areas are OK, but somewhat limited for where the hotel positions itself.

The hotel is more suited to the business traveller than to the holiday-maker, and could not be classed as 'romantic'. The pool area is pleasant, but with so much coming and going, and being obviously in the middle of an office park, it's not a place to get away from it all.

The hotel is expensive, although not out of line with other Accra hotels - which in the main are grossly overpriced. To put it in perspective, I am currently staying in a hotel in Washington DC which is rated among the best by Tripadvisor reviewers. I got corporate rate in both hotels, and I am paying less in Washington for a greatly superior hotel than I did for Holiday Inn. I can get genuine 5-star hotels throughout Asia for about half the price of Holiday Inn (or any other acceptable Accra hotel) and can stay in a comparable hotel in almost any European city for significantly less than in Accra.

Who or what is driving the high prices in Accra? I have rated 'Value' as 'Poor' because $220 per night is $220 real dollars each night, times six, no matter what extenuating circumstances the hoteliers may face. If you ignore what the money actually means and compare to other Accra hotels, then Holiday Inn is fair enough. On that basis, I have given an overall rating of 'Very Good'.

Other plus sides: internet is free, although there were good days and bad days. The airport is just a few minutes away. If your business is not downtown, the location can be quite convenient.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a good hotel for a business traveller. However, this hotel does not match up to the holiday inn standards in Europe and US. The hotel is pricey for the facilities on offer.
High points:
1. Rooms are clean and spacious.
2. Breakfast spread is good.
3. Restaurants are good and offer decent choice.

Low points:
1. Gym is very basic. The machines are minimal- air con often does not work and there are no towels or glasses for drinking water. You have to get access on your room key from the reception- grants only single access and to gain access to your room you need to queue up at the reception again. Quite a pain isn't it?
2. Beware of credit card charges. If you transact using credit card you are charged in dollars. OK, if you have the account in dollars, but if it is in any other currency, it will be a double whammy for you! I suggest you pay in cash if you can!
The staff are generally very courteous and polite. But they take their time for service.

Room Tip: Choose on a higher floor and on the pool side but a bit away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harish_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magee, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I only stayed one day plus one night but found it to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in for this purpose. The staff is polite and eager to please, the room service meals were excellent.Rooms are clean and nice.The fact that it is less than five minutes from the airport is a big plus.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom a bit dated, cable & internet worked great. Relaxing pool setting to have lunch or dinner. Breakfast buffet pretty good. Professionally run. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texanime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 91 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#15 of 91 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.3 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
0.3 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#10 of 91 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Accra Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Accra Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Address: 19 20 Plot | Airport City, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Accra Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only one kilometer from Kotoka International Airport, and only seven kilometers from the city centre, Holiday Inn Accra Airport, part of the African Sun group, is ideally located for the business traveller or adventurous tourist.The Holiday Inn Accra Airport has 168 appointed rooms and all have high-speed internet access (Wi-Fi), satellite television and a mini-bar. The Wiase Restaurant, overlooking the sparkling pool is open all day and caters for the large appetite to snacks for the not so hungry.La Cabona Pool Bar and Restaurant gives guests variety and an opportunity to relax.The staff at Holiday Inn Accra Airport are proud of their can-do approach to guest requests which start with free airport transfers. All you have to do is advice them of your flight details and they will do the rest.Exceptional conferencing facilities are matched by the skills of the dedicated conferencing and banqueting manager, whose team can cater for a reception for 450 people, a banquet for 250 or 300 people seated for a conference. A total of five meetings rooms and all ancillary equipment are available and Holiday Inn Accra Airport staff expertise and experience is on tap.What will be unfamiliar though, is the particular flavour given to the traditional African Sun Welcome by the Ghanaian staff. This part of West Africa has a charm all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Accra Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Accra Airport Hotel Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing