We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bog Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is bog standard business traveller hotel - nothing outstanding, nothing mediocre. This would be fine except the room rate suggests better standard should be provided and is expected. Staff friendly, shuttle service available. Bugbear was that the restaurant staff seemed to be surprised that people would actually want to sit and eat on the patio rather than the extremely bright lit dining room which lacks ambiance. Getting staff to provide cutlery was a challenge and they have a haphazard approach to providing bar snacks with sundowners. Food was ok. Tried a local dish and despite being happy with hot and spicy food, the heat striped my tastebuds - not an inducement for this foreigner to try Ghanian food, I'm afraid. Loads of construction near by so noisy and dusty outside, especially during the week. Request for iron and board before 7 am appears to challenge staff. No one appears to be in housekeeping till 7AM. One 1 day of my stay the printer in the business centre was out of order and when I asked if I could email my two-pager to reception for them to print I was told this was not possible. Rooms clean, kettles and tea/coffee provided. Convenient for airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yoliwe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Yoliwe K,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced duirng your stay. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I guess most staying here are either coming or going, and for that reason, it works well. Not the nicest hotel, but so convenient - especially their greeting lounge at the airport and then their direct and free shuttle from the airport. For that reason I have stayed here twice, but a bit pricey for what it is. Buffet is nice, but not amazing, rooms are nice and functional, but not amazing. Staff are great as always. Comfortable and friendly, and I will continue to use it as I come and go - until such time as some more competition is built nearby which is happening fast.

Room Tip: If you need good wifi - you may have to shuffle rooms a little to find a "hot-spot".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I enjoyed my visit to Accra, Ghana very much. No rain and not too hot. The hotel sits adjacent to the airport but there is not a lot of airline traffic so the noise level was good. However, there is construction all around the hotel which was very noisy from early morning till late evening. The room was nicely appointed and had a small refrigerator and ample storage space. The bathroom was clean and roomy. The bed slept well, but the mattress was on the firm side. Room service responded promptly and the food was tasty. The big shock came because of the cost of hotel rooms, I have never had to pay what this room cost me any where I have stayed. Take plenty of money and it should be in cash, credit cards are rarely accepted.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and it was quiet except for the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is very close to the airport and has a regular free shuttle. Good facilities, good service. Wifi is a bit iffy and I had to change rooms to get a good connection. Rooms are spacious and clean. Not cheap but worth it for convenience if you are on a stopover between flights

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very conveniently located close to the airport.
Not cheap and not the height of luxury, but nevertheless quite comfortable. There was a selection of pillows, which is always useful.
Buffet breakfast fine.
WiFi could have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tin586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel, now for almost 20 times in the last 4-5 years. Still, every time I come, I feel its getting better. Today was no different...Although I came before 12 noon, the reception staff was happy to provide me an early check in and that too she kept my request of an airport facing room.(by the way--the front rooms are all airport facing with the upper floor rooms having a run way view which I really enjoy). Being a platinum IHG member I was also upgraded to an Executive room. The dinner and lunch buffer spread is excellent......not to mention the pool side dinning. Coupled with their great service...this is definitely the place to stay in Accra.

Room Tip: Ask for a airport facing room and enjoy the views. And don't miss the dinner buffet...worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Spacious and clean room with comfortable bed. clean and spacious bathroom.
Food was tasty and good with many verities at buffet.
I wish to stay again this hotel when visits Ghana. Just yards away from Airport, location is very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sivadathan-A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
1.3 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#2 of 90 in Accra
638 reviews
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#17 of 90 in Accra
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Accra Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Accra Airport

Address: 19 20 Plot | Airport City, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Price Range: £219 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Accra Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only one kilometer from Kotoka International Airport, and only seven kilometers from the city centre, Holiday Inn Accra Airport, part of the African Sun group, is ideally located for the business traveller or adventurous tourist.The Holiday Inn Accra Airport has 168 appointed rooms and all have high-speed internet access (Wi-Fi), satellite television and a mini-bar. The Wiase Restaurant, overlooking the sparkling pool is open all day and caters for the large appetite to snacks for the not so hungry.La Cabona Pool Bar and Restaurant gives guests variety and an opportunity to relax.The staff at Holiday Inn Accra Airport are proud of their can-do approach to guest requests which start with free airport transfers. All you have to do is advice them of your flight details and they will do the rest.Exceptional conferencing facilities are matched by the skills of the dedicated conferencing and banqueting manager, whose team can cater for a reception for 450 people, a banquet for 250 or 300 people seated for a conference. A total of five meetings rooms and all ancillary equipment are available and Holiday Inn Accra Airport staff expertise and experience is on tap.What will be unfamiliar though, is the particular flavour given to the traditional African Sun Welcome by the Ghanaian staff. This part of West Africa has a charm all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, IHG, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Accra Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Accra Airport Hotel Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing