We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AT ALL COST -- Scary owner locked us in”
Review of The Congress Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Congress Hotel
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Monrovia, Liberia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COST -- Scary owner locked us in”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Beware of this hotel. We had a terrifying experience where we raised a credit card charge dispute with the owner (he had charged us twice for only one night's stay). Screaming and verbally abusive, he locked the parking lot gate and refused to let us leave unless we paid him in cash for 2 nights-- even though those 2 nights' charges were still on the credit card. Only after the police arrived were we able to reach a compromise where we withdrew cash from an ATM to pay him and immediately left for another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
3
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

The hotel appeared new and clean, but had the following issues:
- cold water running from showers
- hotel safes were non functional
- unavailability of staff and management
- extremely poor customer service
- change in terms upon arrival (after booking) - e.g. was promised taxi to and from airport, but hotel did not deliver
- rate quoted during booking was changed upon arrival

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Accra hotels

Tampa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2010

A colleague & I stayed in the Congress Hotel for one week in early February. There was a conference in Accra & all of the big hotels were full. We were surprised with the cleanliness; great included breakfasts; a reasonably-priced & totally reliable internet; and the Manager who went out of his way to make our stay perfect in every way -=- what a delightful man! We were happy that we selected this hotel -- the cleanest hotel I have stayed in West Africa.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talkingbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Almost a good hotel, but ...
1. Numerous cold showers
2. Most rooms do not have working safes
3. Near daily Internet problems (somewhat common in Accra)
4. No IT staff
5. Low water pressure, which is only a problem when taking showers.
6. Owner will boot you to give room to newly arriving guests if you stay too long.
7. No real desk or work area to speak of
8. Swimming pool but there is no swimming allowed
9. Still a coating of construction dust in rooms
10. W A T C H the exchange rate and check your credit card for overcharges!! I was over billed by several hundreds of dollars and the owner wanted to launch an investigation with his bank as to why/how this happend, which was an obvious delay tactic. The answer was very simple. He calculated using a historically unheard of high exchange rate. When informed of this he admitted that was "his suspicion" too, but has still failed to correct the error.

Positive:
1. Good, fast and friendly staff
2. Food is actually pretty decent.
3. Will cater to special requests for diet/food needs
4. Not overly priced and on par with other local non-resort hotels.
5. Large rooms

Would I stay again or recommend? Maybe 35/65 - 35 for and 65 against

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stillmyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

if you are in Accra, try the congress hotel. This place amazed me especially the manager. He was there for me anytime needed help. Printing and formatting my documents, he was there. Getting autographs from the Black Stars, who were lodging there for the 2010 world cup qualifiers, he was there. The place is very neat and the beef filet steak and french fries dinner is mouth watering.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie21602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2009

An excellent property in a very accessible location in Accra. The hotel is very clean and the service is courteous. The food is good.
I would certainly love to stay in the hotel again, whenever i visit Accra.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osaLagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
1.7 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#22 of 92 in Accra
65 reviews
7.9 mi away
Paloma Hotel Spintex
Paloma Hotel Spintex
#53 of 92 in Accra
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 92 in Accra
139 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#15 of 92 in Accra
32 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mahogany Lodge
Mahogany Lodge
#7 of 92 in Accra
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Hotel

Property: The Congress Hotel
Address: A25 Patrice Lumumba Road | Airport Residential Area, Accra 0233, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Congress Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Congress Hotel in Ghana is a modern hotel conveniently located in the midst of business and residential centers in Accra, at A25 Patrice Lumumba Road and White Avenue in the Airport Residential Area. The Congress Hotel provides top quality accommodation and go the extra mile for their guests. Staying at our facility turns your trip into a fantastic vacation or business trip. The Congress hotel is a perfect choice whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Guests also enjoy The Congress Hotel’s Sweet Sleeper bed, with its plush mattress, warm blanket and comfortable pillows. It will be hard to separate dreams from reality. With a choice of Single or King size rooms, you are guaranteed a comfortable and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your The Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing