We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crystalline Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$155
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$413
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$120
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$128
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
11
5
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
5
2
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 22 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed with Auntie and Unkle for 3 weeks and was really glad I did. It's not really a hotel, more like a compound with their home, and separate buildings with rooms for guests. It's quite basic, no hot water (standard in Ghana). It's located down a side street in Darkuman (dar-KU-mahn) which is a middle class suburb of Accra. This means it is a good half-hour from downtown or Kaneshie market.
I took an entire double room which was around $25/day but worth the privacy and comfort.
I had them cook me breakfast and dinner every day which is very good and reasonable as well.
I'm happy to answer questions or give tips on Accra.

Room Tip: Call and ask for an entire double room. ($25/night)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric_yld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

A letter confirmed our booking (10 days ahead) and airport pick up . NO pick up had to ring owner SETH who neglected to say only daughter's room availableand full of her personal stuff. Sent to a 'sister's' place but not facilities we wanted. Wasted a 45min drive from airport.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Auntie and Uncle take great care of you at Crystal Hostel. It is located pretty far out of town and we found it VERY difficult to convey to taxi drivers where exactly we needed to go - Darkuman?!? No one understood that word, for some reason! It's tough to find but once you're there it's comfy! There are several dogs in the compound used more as security than as companions - they're friendly but they alert everyone of someone's arrival or any movement outside. There are many rooms and the hostel is one of the only buildings in the suburb that is more than 1 story tall - the view from the roof is great! If requested, Auntie will buy you any food you like and will prepare your meals. We never did this (we were only there 3 nights total - the first 2 nights of the trip and then the last night before heading home) but several of the people we met had Auntie get/make food for them. There is a slow computer with internet access for a fee using the honor system. Our room had 2 twin beds with clean sheets and 2 towels were provided for the shower. There is no door between the bathroom and the bedroom, so you better be comfortable with your travel companion! The shower flooded in our second room but the one in our first room was fine. The water was cold and pressure was low, but for $24 a night we didn't expect anything more! The room had a ceiling fan, decent beds and a secure lock on the door - what more can 2 girls as for!?

Loved Crystal Hostel, would definitely recommend it!

Don't expect Ghana to have accomodations up to american standards - it will be hot, there will be bugs, and the water will be cold. Set your expectations properly, pack well, and enjoy the great cultural experience. Stick with places in a low price range and spend your money on interesting tours, good food, and fun souvenirs or just save it up for your next trip! And definitely take the tro-tro's - what an experience!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahndipity429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews