We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but needs better management”
Review of Central Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Accra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Central Hotel
Ranked #133 of 228 Accra B&B and Inns
Delmas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location but needs better management”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

If you are willing to put up with an atmosphere of unfinished renovation and a few "bizarre situations", this hotel might be worth it. The staff is extremely nice and the hotel is well located in the Osu central part of Accra. You can walk to the banks, get a cab easily to go to the craft markets and other places. But prepare yourself for a rather rough stay: no regular coffee in the morning, you will get the Nescafe type. It is not possible to pay with credit card while checking out, because the "machine has a problem". Unbelievable but true. The breakfeast is a poorly toasted bread, plenty of fresh fruits, Nescafe coffee, some tasteless egg mixture, no juice. If you want to have diner or lunch, the food is acceptable and not at all expensive. The Internet signal goes off and on constantly. In conclusion, if you don't intend to spend too much time in the hotel you can go there because it is much cheaper than the others in Accra.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have almost no access to Internet signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlyneDelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
1
4
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
376 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We spent our first three nights in Ghana in the Central Hotel in Accra. The room was large and comfortable. However, the "hot" water was tepid at best and complaining to the front desk was of no value. The bathroom sink couldn't drain because the drain was stuck in the down position. Their solution was to remove it altogether. The breakfast was uncaringly served from what appeared to be a dirty kitchen and was not worth the effort, so we skipped it after the first day. The personnel were for the most part pleasant, the air conditioning in our room made the nights quite comfortable for sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Central hotel is located in the Osu central part of Accra metropolis. It is on a street off Oxford Street the main and popular commercial street in Osu where there are banks, super-market, fashion and service providers. It’s about 15minutes to the airport.

The hotel provides residence accommodation type with kitchenette with cooker, microwave oven, cooking utensils, plates, etc. Though the hotel provides free breakfast (basic continental) served in the room and have menu with few meals options, guests have in each room all that is required to prepare own meals. There are close by supermarkets/stores (a major one is the Koala stores). Pressing iron and ironing board are provided in each room. Television with local and few cable channels are available. There is free wireless internet access in all rooms. Single and double rooms go for less than $100 per night.

I have stayed a number of times in the hotel, sometimes primarily due to proximity to places of business or interest and other times as an alternative when other preferred hotels are not available. Due to its location (off Oxford Street) there are no great views irrespective of the room you chose. Generally, the single rooms are on the ground floor. Taxis are available right in front of the hotel.

What I don’t like about the hotel is the fact that there are not many staff providing services to residents and I dont like the feel in the bathroom.
.
If you are looking for an average hotel and you either want to do the cooking yourself or go to nearby eateries (there are many of them along the Oxford Street and walking distance to the hotel), then this hotel is good for you. However, if you will be preoccupied with other things and preferred to be served, then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Central hotel has 2 branches km away one to each other. My contact in Ghana recommended one in Ridge area - close to British High Commission, as good value for money (120$/night). Only good point of this hotel is location that is close to Oxford street, close to main Government buildings which is really advantage because heavy traffic could be issue in Accra. Staff seems completely disinterested for the smallest guests complains and request - like provide bottle of water (fridge in the room empty)!? Breakfast is poor - egg albumen, filter coffee and fruit only, but not in perfect eating condition. The furniture look as is collected form 5 different yard sales. But the biggest remark is unacceptable level of cleanliness in the room! I'm sure that my linens was not change before my arrival, room smell bad and look very dirty. Bathroom curtains broken, no hair dryer, no shampoos and only one towel again smell bad. A/C so loud that does not allow you sleeping. I got the room in older part of the hotel, and can not judge about newer one - but considering behavior of the staff I don't believe can be much better. Because I arrived late and couldn't find the option immediately after check inn I left this place next morning and move to Holiday Inn, and was so happy to spend additional 150$/night! If you are used on European standards of hotels, and you expect clean and well maintained place - THIS IS NOT PLACE FOR YOU, STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doktor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Accra hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Hotel is well situated and within walking distance to the Oxford Street where you have
all the shopping, restaurants and hot spots. The rooms ar OK, maintenance however is sometimes neglected. The staff is helpfull and things get fixed after lodging a complain. A little tighter management would do wonders! TV is standard not much choice. WiFi is good. A fridge, a gas cooker and a microwave was in the room. The kitchenware looked a bit neglected but you can buy one or two things if needed. Parking is available. I'm not a fitness and pool freak and cannot comment on the facilities. In all a good choice within reach of everything you might need.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karls42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I was put up in this hotel at last minute by the Ghanaian company that I was working for as the Best Western Premier could not occupy me for my 6 week trip.
My first impression was that it was going to be very basic.
It seems as though they have two sister hotels on same plot and I was staying in the newer one.
There was no receptionist for 10 mins, because of the hotel being so quiet she had gone for a walk.
I was in a double room, it was clean and roomy.
New A/C unit which was frosty cold and silent.
The rooms have flatscreen LCD tvs but with only 3/4 watchable channels.
The bathroom looked like it had been finished by a 3 year old but the shower had good pressure.
When using the sink you had to time the water for the dirt to be flushed through when cleaning your teeth.
The balcony was unusable as the A/C unit took up most of it and that was after having to move the small table and 2 chairs that were positioned in front of the door.
The wifi did not work in the room but they do have a very fast connection in their media centre.
I complained for 6 days and was then moved to another room, a deluxe room that was much bigger and seemed much nicer, It had a bath with shower over.
The tv channels were slightly clearer and the wifi worked.
The problem with moving up floors is that the pressure drops, the shower was little more than a trickle.
The beds are like concrete and the pillows not much better.
Continental breakfast is included, this consists of some fruit slices, 1 slice of toast, some rancid orange juice, the pineapple is nice, except for when they give you the orange even though you have asked otherwise and tea/coffee.
If you want anything else then you have to pay.
I moved hotel after 2 weeks, in that time they had ran out of most menu options, large bottles of water and coke, even though it seemed there were no more than 6 people in the hotel the whole time.
The menu prices for food and drink are very good, just a shame that most are unavailable.
It does have a gym, if you call 2 bikes, 2 running machines and 4kgs of plastic weights a gym.
I was contemplating an upgrade shortly after moving to the deluxe so the only friendly receptionist there (couple were miserable as sin) showed me around, the executive suites are insanely huge with 2 queen beds in 1 room and a kitchenette in another but none had a proper sitting area.
I have been told that it is in a great location for the town centre but can not comment.
The new hotel that I moved to was similar room price but everything else twice the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWAAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The advantage is the bathtube and the location and the kitchinette.
Like most Ghanaian hotels the value is much behind the money u pay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiristoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Byblos
Hotel Byblos
#46 of 92 in Accra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alisa Hotels North Ridge
2.8 mi away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Elegance
Hotel Elegance
#32 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Urbano Hotel
Urbano Hotel
#17 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.4 mi away
Afia Beach Hotel
Afia Beach Hotel
#36 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Property: Central Hotel
Address: 16 Lane, OSU Oxford Street, Accra 23321, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel has two locations, Osu and Ridge in the heart of the city, Osu where every activity is available for tourist. It is close to the airport and our rooms are fitted with kitchen net where one cannot mis his favourite dish, so one can always cook in his room and enjoy free internet browsing with your laptop and is affordable too. Our Ridge branch has a swimming pool and a gym for our in house guest with conference facilities, restaurant and a bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing