We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for a Bussiness stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Battaramulla
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient for a Bussiness stay”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Located quite close to airport and hence convenient to get to. also located In a quite part of town. (But you do tend to hear to sound of vehicles Ina muffled sort of way) Checking In Took quite a while even though we were the only guests at the front desk at that time and it was staffed by three ladies. No hassle but presume its best plan for some time especially when you are checking out.

Rooms were very small and cramped but was clean. From my perceptive clean out scores size any time. The hotel and the rooms looked like a small inn even though the room rates did not reflect that. the room had a safe which was a big plus, and free wifi was available across the hotel even though sometimes the signal was weak in the rooms. the signal in the lobby and the passage was very strong. Calls out need to be taken thru the reception and cost circa 2CD a minute.

Staff were very friendly. Fresh juice I ordered turned out to be canned juice though. But they served it with a smile and re confirmed its fresh juice, I put that down to poor communication from my side. You have to have an open mindset like that in this part of the world. The pub was deserted but was told its busy during the weekend. The Restuarent was ok, the food was nothing to write home about...but you will get thru.

There is a supermarket around the corner and it's best you get some bottled water because the small bottle in your room will not suffice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImalF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Plaza H, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2015
Dear ImalF F,

I sincerely appreciate you taking time to give us such detailed feedback. I am glad to know our staff, location and cleanliness made your stay positive. However, I am disappointed that other aspects didn’t meet your expectation. These concerns have been raised and properly addressed.

We hope to have the privilege to host you again.

Valeria Kukubor
Guest Relations
Oak Plaza Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    37
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
10
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
241 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Although it is conveniently located close to airport and our offices in Accra but I would never stay there again, watching their promtional channel you might think it is a most luxurious "redefining standard" is the slogan but the service is very poor, breakfast was a big disappointment, only 2 choices of stale fruits in the land of the freshest and most delicious fruits. I wish management would spend time on training staff although they are kind

Room Tip: Check the room before you are given one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Plaza H, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2015
Dear Fitiany,

I would like to firstly apologize for the late reply. Thank you for your candid feedback. I am sincerely disappointed to hear that your stay at the hotel was not up to par. I can assure you that such are not our standard. However, please note that your concerns have been passed on to the respective departments and addressed accordingly.

Despite this, we hope to be given a second chance to welcome you back on your return visit to Accra.

Valeria Kukubor
Guest Relations
Oak Plaza Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for one night after BA flight was cancelled. Staff were really helpful and efficient in the face of a total lack of information from BA regarding rebooking! Room was very good - fresh and clean, a/c worked well, wifi was good, etc. Lots of choice for lunch and dinner. Highly recommended - and will stay here if need to be near the airport or require easy access to motorway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Plaza H, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2015
Dear Dermot S,

It was a pleasure to have you with us and thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can.

We look forward to hosting you on your next travel to Accra.

Valeria Kukubor
Guest Relations
Oak Plaza Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I can not believe that hotel charges USD250/night for a room the size of a cubicle! And in the room where I spent the night, the air conditioner was dripping water right in the middle of the room during the night!
And if you are a smoker, you will be made to feel like a lesser mortal here! You are not even allowed to smoke even in the open areas! In fact there is a designated smoking "open area". It is located close to the car park and in such a manner that you will feel like an outcast.
I was supposed to spend a week at this hotel but I checked out the very next morning.

Room Tip: If you don't like too much light in your room, avoid the rooms overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spirodesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Plaza H, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport, responded to this review, 23 February 2015
Dear Spirodesi,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. The management & staff of our hotel sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your stay with us last year and the late response.

I am very saddened that the services offered to you were below standards. It would be our pleasure to redefine the standards we so proudly boast of during your next stay with us and provide the opportunity to restore your faith back in our hotel.

Valeria Kukubor
Guest Relations
Oak Plaza Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This is a very comfortable hotel, rooms a bit on the small side but this is made up by air con and wifi that are excellent. Restaurant and meals are ok. Swimming pool and outside area are excellent. The staff are very friendly and all requests are entertained, rooms are always clean and tidy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Despite having rooms on the small side, the Oak Plaza offers good value reasonably close to the airport (20-30' by shuttle in rush hour). The hotel offers an airport shuttle and 24h room service, a pool, gym, room safe, etc. Good lighting, a comfortable bed, effective air conditioning, reliable wifi and sound-proofing, and some very friendly and helpful staff, are all plus points. Bathrooms are small but OK, and unlike other hotels in Ghana do at least come supplied with bathroom products. The breakfast buffet was very good. All in all, worth staying at for a short layover.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The location of the hotel is good, relatively close to Airport. The main restaurant is rather dark and the food served is OK, but nothing special. Also the breakfast is average . The staff service in restaurant needs to improve. The pool area is much more pleasant and so is the staff serving food and drinks here.
The pool itself was good.
The barbecue night (Friday) was very interesting with good Entertainment in a nice Environment.
To get to the Accra Mall one needs to take a taxi, and trip will take 5-10 minutes. There you find better restaurants e.g. an Italian.
First I was given very small room and when I asked for a better one i got a bigger room with a comfortable chair. The temperature of the shower was was too low and in spite of my reporting this isssue nothing happened. The staff in the reception were very nice .
This is the only hotel I have stayed at in Accra so I cannot compare with others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
586 reviews
1.6 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
2.2 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#18 of 92 in Accra
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
4.6 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport

Property: Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
Address: Dede Plaza, Spintex Road | East Airport,Accra, Accra 233, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best Luxury Hotels in Accra, the Oak Plaza Hotel presents our intention to enter into a partnership agreement with you on providing your guest, and team of staff a choice facility that offers comfort, convenience and relaxation. Acclaimed as one of the best 3 star hotels in Ghana, the Oak Plaza Hotel is distinguished by its exceptional services and impeccable facilities, choosing a convenient location on East Airport; Oak Plaza Hotel is a preferred hotel near Kotoka International Airport with excellently appointed rooms and pampering services. First-rate business facilities have also been incorporate which makes it an ideal business hotel. Good care has been taken to ensure that dining at Hotel is a pleasant experience. The Lucida restaurant offers excellent dining choices with an extensive range of Ghanaian and Continental cuisine. Our buffet break features a variety of delicious, healthy range of fresh, sweet and salty dishes. The hotel, with its neo-classical arched facade and modern interiors designed to meet the pleasurable taste of our contemporary guest, displays a distinct combination of contemporary design and soft ethnic chic. In the core of the luxurious and serene environment of the hotel stands the Oak Plaza Garden as a signature creation of the hotel. The Oak Plaza is a hotel that caters to a niche clientele with impeccable facilities for relaxation, leisure and business support. Your airline crew and guests will be granted complimentary access to our health centre with a state of the art gym and semi Olympic swimming pool, together with a fully furnished business centre. It is a designer business class hotel providing very personalized service. Our free airport shuttles to pick up your guest on arrival and also drop them off when departing stand us out among our competitors. All our shuttle buses have ice chest, stocked with complementary bottles of water to welcome our guest at the Airport. At the Oak Plaza Hotel we provide our guest with the polished comfort of a quaint hotel in the historical city of Accra, where tranquility and relaxation peacefully coexist. Beyond the hotel's welcoming elegant setting, you will enjoy the cordial service provided by our well trained staff, who are ever ready to promptly provide you first class services and cater to your every need. The Oak Plaza Hotel welcomes its guest in a private, yet sophisticated facility, where public areas are meticulously maintained and interiors are uniquely designed because "we redefine standards". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing