We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...when the nighclub is closed.”
Review of Niagara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Niagara Hotel
Ranked #69 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I'd give this hotel 5 stars for the nights Mon - Wed, and maybe 1 for the weekend nights. The people are just lovely, and the restaurant good, and the rooms superb. I got 'upgraded' to a larger room on my 2nd visit at no extra charge. BUT, the nightclub downstairs means sleep simply is not possible from midnight until 5.a.m. Thur - Sun nights, and I had to move elsewhere. Very odd, really.

Room Tip: Aim for the 2nd floor...it is further from the club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sodafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Staying at the centrally located Niagara Hotel was the best part of our trip to Ghana and the best shower we had in West Africa!

There are many hotels in Accra but, what makes this hotel so outstanding is the family that owns and runs it...immediately you feel like part of the family. We felt safe, we were well taken care of and well fed! They made our stay in Accra much more memorable than had we stayed anywhere else. A good room is just a good room, feeling like a part of the family takes it to a much higher level.

It's a good value for the spacious rooms, hot showers, free wi-fi, onsite restaurant and bar, invaluable for being treated as part of the family, I recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was the best place we stayed in Ghana. It was a splurge for us (we normally stayed in small guesthouses and backpacker joints), but it was the end of our trip and we are so glad we chose the Niagara. While the room was big, comfortable (especially the bed), and the shower was hot and amazing, there was nothing that spectacular about the hotel itself. Except, the family that runs it. What an absolutely incredible, generous, open, and helpful family. They took us in, gave us tips about Accra, fed us, and took us out at night. They are hilarious, kind-hearted, knowledgeable about Ghana, and made our trip so memorable. The best thing they said to us was, "When you come here, you're not coming to a business, you're coming to a family." And it was so true. We felt more at home there than anywhere else in Ghana. Don't except super luxurious quarters, but do go here if you want to feel safe, comfortable, and completely taken care of. Note- there is an awesome nightclub downstairs. So this is extra fun if you want to party. But bring earplugs if you need to sleep Sat or Sun night. I had mine and slept like a log. Love this place and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adleec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed here for just one night while on a stopover in accra. It's a really bare-bones hotel, with some tacky and rather old furnishings. The staff were ok, and the dinner wasn't as bad as reported by an earlier reviewer. The location is rather poor though and the nightclubs surrounding the hotel make a lot of noise which can disturb ones sleep.
It's main advantage is free wireless internet and it's close to the airport.
Overall, I'd say there are better hotels for the same price range in Accra and I wouldn't really recommend this one.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djlenzyd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The staff was nice but management was very rude and unaccommodating when they made mistakes. The night clubs in the area were so loud that the 4 of us in our group got very little sleep any of the weekend nights. Airport transport was the only thing that I can say was useful and effective. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone staying in the Accra area. There are many other hotels for a few more dollars a night that I would choice now. So if you are looking for sleepless night, rudeness, and a horrible stay- then pick this one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We chose this hotel because it was recommended in the Bradt guide to Ghana and classified in my edition as ”Mid range” and in a later edition that my friend had as “Upmarket” … How it can be classified as such remains a mystery for the three of us as this is probably one of the worst hotels we have stayed in, at least in that category! ...
The general feel of the hotel when you arrive is of neglect, run-down and non-existent service. Nobody helps you to your room, the furniture is tatty and in some cases totally broken like one of the tables in the bar or the 2 sofas in the reception area which are of cheap plastic with holes hastily patched with different colour plastic material. When we arrived and in spite of a firm reservation made a month before, our room was not ready … at 18.00 in the evening!

This impression was only confirmed once you entered our rooms: the door (in both our rooms) did not shut properly, the loo did not flush as there was no water in the tank which was broken, the one towel in the bathroom was full of holes and of a dirty grey and the sheets on the bed were pieces of very thin material without any hem but certainly not proper sheets. This is for starters as the electricity system was really scary with threads hanging down from the ceiling and overcharged plugs. The air-con system (reflected in the price of the room) hardly worked and made a terrible noise which prevented us to sleep.

Worst of all was the restaurant: ALL the china and glasses were chipped and the food was absolutely inedible and even positively dangerous: the steak I had ordered was black… and frankly I would not have touched it with a barge pole, more than half the dishes on the menu were unavailable, the restaurant itself was not cooled as the staff switched on the air-con only when the clients arrived (with a temperature of between 34 and 38 Celsius!) and the music was so loud than we could not hear each other talk before we asked them to turn it down. The manager who smoked heavily in front of clients came to talk to us when we sent back the food and was very defensive about our complaint but still charged us for some of the dishes we did not eat.

The category should be "dont go there"

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sonagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kuli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#78 of 90 in Accra
8 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#12 of 90 in Accra
36 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maxlot Hotel
Maxlot Hotel
#44 of 90 in Accra
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crown Apartamento Hotel
Crown Apartamento Hotel
#49 of 90 in Accra
28 reviews
0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#37 of 90 in Accra
17 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niagara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niagara Hotel

Address: Kojo Thompson Road | P.O. Box 4079, Accra 4079, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Price Range: £37 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Niagara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Niagara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing