We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good option while on business trip.”
Review of Airport West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airport West Hotel
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good option while on business trip.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nice clean and big room with split type aircon, a large double bed, a small refrigerator, LCD with some good channels available. tea, coffee and creamer is also available with electric kettle. Breakfast is ok if you want to fill your hungry tummy. Restaurant menu also has couple of good option for lunch/dinner, portion size is also good enough.

Room Tip: take room on 2nd floor fronting main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mansurkhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    24
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
3
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

the staff are really nice and friendly. they are also very helpful.

The restaurant attached to the hotel is pretty decent. breakfast was included in the rate of the rooms and was good.

The downside is that it is very noisy at weekends and some evenings. The reception room by the pool seems to double up as a chapel and party room so there are celebrations a couple of nights during the week. The singing in the chapel started at 5am on saturday mornings and also went on till quite late during the week!

There were also late night parties (untill 11.30pm) on saturdays with super loud music. There were also some very loud parties but that finished earlier on fridays and saturdays.

The level of noise throughout the week and weekend from parties was pretty incredible and was not appropriate to a place that tries to cater to business travellers.

A double room was US$200 a night for two people which seemed a little bit excessive for what felt like a luxury youth hostel at times.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyclo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I spent 6 nights at this hotel. The staff are very courteous and willing to assist. The rooms are clean and spacious. The location is also very calm. For a small hotel though, there ae quite a lot of corporate events

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor. Noise from Events at the poolside can be disturbing if you are on the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spirodesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel was just good.I stayed for 6 days there.I enjoyed my stay although during the night was quite noisy,songs and music from the pool area.
Very clean rooms and well operating A/C.
Breakfast had not a big variety of food.Rooms quite large with comfortable double bed
Very helpful staff smiling all the time.
If for another visit in Accra ,I will be glad to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumasi, Ghana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is just good. I booked a night for my partner (who was just returning from Australia) and I. It was a great experience right from the shuttle at the airport which was timely and exquisite. The room was ok, intercom initially did not work but later was fixed; the wifi was very fast for Ghanaian standards. The TV was ok but there could have been more channels. The washroom was ok but the mouthwash supplied barely had any English writing on it. I didn't use anything there save the towels anyway.

The customer service was splendid all-through with the staff smartly dressed except the IT guys who were not in uniform and I promptly complained about that. The staff were also impressive in their frank approach to duty and apt search of feedback which for me, here in Ghana, is much rare.

The restaurant was ok though the furniture there was cramped. The food was well priced unlike at other restaurants. The breakfast was wonderful but I wish there are preset sought of combinations that could have been served in rooms rather than we all descending to that pretty stuffy restaurant. The food was generally was ok except one local dish which nearly had my wife vomiting. They must also call say two hours after the food is served to check whether it would be necessary then to pick up the empty dishes. I believe that would be very nice.

I could book on phone and I was impressed at how prompt check-in was. I have read some terrible reviews pertaining to check-ins in other hotels.

The location was great, serene and looked secure. Proximity to the airport and Accra Mall were yet further inviting pluses with taxis never lacking once you step out of the hotel.

Overall I am much impressed and would very much want to visit again.

Room Tip: To avoid excessive noise from passing vehicles and good wifi reception, choose a room on the upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadcoffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel, and Accra in general is one of the most expensive I have been to. Despite that, my good experiences at the hotel revolves mostly around its people. They are corteous and they know how to do their job properly. Everything went well - from airport pickup to check out and things in between. One remarkable experience happened during my last day. The night before my early morning flight, I asked for takeaway food. I was expecting the restaurant staff to forget about this. To my surprise, she had packed one hot sandwich for me perfect for a quick breakfast at the airport.

The company made a good decision of booking us in this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank francis_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I spent 3 days for a business meeting. The hotel staff are welcoming and courteous, and want to ensure a comfortable visit. Rooms are very clean, large and bed was fairly comfortable, though I dont like the way that hotels sometimes attach two twin beds together to make a king - there is a valley in the middle. Price was good for this level of room and service - much better than other 2 hotels recently visited in Accra.
Complaints - poor lighting and desk and only 1 electrical outlet - how can so many business hotels not have outlets or lighting at the desk? To their credit they moved a light and brought an extension cord.
Also by the poolside, there were people making a lot of noise (an exercise club) at 6am.
Location - not far from airport, but not near anything else either,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
1.0 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#18 of 92 in Accra
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
2.1 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Alisa Hotels North Ridge
0.5 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
2.5 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#22 of 92 in Accra
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport West Hotel

Property: Airport West Hotel
Address: August Akwumi Street | 137 Airport West Residential Area, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport West Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport West Hotel is a contemporary Hotel with style and comfort deliberately designed to suit the needs of discerning guests. we are ideally situated five (5) minutes drive from the Kotoka International Airport. we believe that it is always important to relax, refresh and rejuvenate.that is why we have designed our hotel to best suit that well appointed rooms, an international cuisine restaurant, a well equipped gym,swimming pool and 3 conference rooms. our accommodation is of the highest standard and comes with all the facilities you would expect from a modern hotel. we look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Airport West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing