We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed staying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Grove Regency Hotel
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“enjoyed staying”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed for two nights, and indeed felt at home, I will always cherish an opportunity to be here again. The most interesting part of my experience was the fact that, there was vehicle available in the morning to take you to the nearest shopping mall.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asikimila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    57
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
9
6
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have now lived at this hotel for several months and I can say that if you want an authentic Ghanaian experience at international standards, this is the place to be. I have visited other hotels in Ghana for both business and pleasure trips... and I have either found the Western hotel or the local hotel that does not replicate international standards. If you want to experience Ghana and at the same time enjoy clean environments, super friendly staff, good laundry service, good wifi, and excellent (and safe) Ghanaian food, this is the place for you. If you need something special, just ask! The staff will go above and beyond to help. If you are looking for a business place, this hotel is also ideal for business gatherings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I went to Accra for New Year's...our first trip to Ghana, and the hotel was amazing. Staff was friendly and helpful. I was a little worried about someone going thru our things when we were away. I even left little traps, but it never happened. Th food was great. The hotel grounds were clean and very quiet. The owner of the hotel even came around and say hi. I can't say enough about this place. It was a great buy, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asante M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I was here for 3 nights on business, and the hotel was absolutely fine. I'd stay here again without worry.

Service and staff was good, friendly.

Room was absolutely fine, it was clean, had everything I needed and it all worked. Large room also. Simple decor/furniture but was nice.

Breakfast was a little disappointing, coffee was terrible, not a lot of choice. I had one meal in the evening in the bar and it was delivered quickly and food was great taste and value.

Internet worked fine via wifi in room and throughout the hotel area.

Same day laundry was fine.

I've no idea of other Accra hotels, but this one was fine, and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was the third time I came back to this hotel, and it is still my favorite in Accra. The rooms are big enough and comfortable, the staff friendly and responsive, housekeeping very good, the restaurant offers tasty Ghanaian dishes, all in a laid-back, family-like atmosphere. Internet access can be a bit sketchy, otherwise I was very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I recommend the Coconut Grove in Accra. The price is very reasonable. It is an easy taxi ride to reach all around the sites of Accra. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The rooms are big, air conditioned and comfortable. The breakfast is more than filling with even your choice of fresh eggs cooked to your liking. You can arrange for the hotel to pick you up at the airport.
Best to bring cash to pay the bill. 5% will be added if you use a credit card.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The coconut grove is really a stunning hotel. It has big rooms with airconditioning which you can't leave without in the hot & humid accra. The rooms are very neat & tidy. There's a swimming pool if you wanna cool of as well. There staff is extremely friendly and go the extra mile to ensure your happiness during your stay. There is free wifi available and a refrigerator in the room with some bottled water, beer and a few sodas.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpiwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
2.2 mi away
Mahogany Lodge
Mahogany Lodge
#8 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alisa Hotels North Ridge
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#21 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Urbano Hotel
Urbano Hotel
#18 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Regency Hotel

Property: Coconut Grove Regency Hotel
Address: 5 Mozambique Link | Behind Ghana Immigration HQ, Accra Box CT 3998, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in close proximity to the business district of Accra. The Regency has 10 suites and 26 standard rooms all tastefully decorated, with air conditioning, multi-channel satellite TV, Free Wi - Fi and mini bar. You are assured of 24 hour uninterrupted power supply to make your stay very comfortable. Some guests have described our location as 'strategic and closer to everywhere'. We are within 5-10 minutes drive and in some cases walk to the Diplomatic and Business District of Accra, the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum, the seat of Government (Flag Staff House)the Accra International Conference Center, the National Theatre, the Makola Market (one of the largest in Africa)and the 37 Military Hospital (a UN designated grade 4 Hospital). Our staff know that you are our reason for being in business and we can assure you of 'memories worth repeating'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Grove Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing