We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great midtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Grove Regency Hotel
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great midtown hotel”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Strategically located in the Ringway section of Accra near the old "Sankara Circle," this hotel has a unique and charming red brick exterior. The staff is extra cordial and friendly as only Ghanaians can be. The room was very clean and well kept by the housekeeping staff. Room a/c and WiFi were excellent. Moderately priced, this 3 story hotel is underrated....should be a 3 star at least. The pool is balmy and crystal clear. And don't forget to greet the hotel mascot, Cookie, a delightful and gentle white corgi mix.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    58
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
9
6
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

When you are visiting Accra you should stay at Coconut Grove, they have lovely staff, convenient location, and offer a real Ghanaian experience. I have extreme food allergies and they worked very hard to thoughtful to accommodate me and make we feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel was lovely. The pet poodles in the reception area gave it a family hotel feel. There is a beautiful outdoor swimming pool (which no one used)
My bedroom was self contained and very comfortable and spacious. The air conditioning was really good and not at all noisy so sleeping was easy.
The staff were all very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Antigua
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The staff was welcoming and efficient,the room was comfortable with a very good mattress,We slept very soundly.We enjoyed the real Ghanaian food and fruit.All the staff was knowledgeable about Accra and very helpfull,Would definitely return.

Room Tip: not too close to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed recently at the Coconut Grove Regency Hotel in Accra, my first visit to Accra. Chose it after reviewing a number of hotels for our stay. I booked seven rooms for our crew.

Check-in was easy and the staff friendly. We had help with our bags to our rooms. No elevator so a helping hand upstairs was appreciated.

Breakfast was okay and the omelets were tasty. My colleagues have a penchant for lots of fresh chili to put on their eggs/omelets and were not disappointed with what was produced for them. They even set it out earlier on day 2 when we needed to leave the hotel early.

No issue with laundry, aircon or noise. The bar was good and the beer cold. Food was tasty as well.

All in, I would rate this hotel and very good both for service and facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I just spent another night here en-route to Kumasi. Like my stay here last year, the service was exceptional. Their car was waiting for me at the airport (my flight was 30 minutes late and major delays(65 minutes) getting through Immigration/Customs). The rooms are basic, but absolutely spotless!
The staff, including four legged ones, are fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Antigua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent Hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Having traveled from the Caribbean where hospitality is renowned, Coconut Grove Regency in Accra was outstanding. They even accommodated our baby and little Tristan has a ball. Food was great and the ambiance welcoming. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay.

Room Tip: room on first floor were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auden N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
1.7 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#22 of 92 in Accra
64 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mahogany Lodge
Mahogany Lodge
#9 of 92 in Accra
94 reviews
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Urbano Hotel
Urbano Hotel
#14 of 92 in Accra
23 reviews
3.5 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alisa Hotels North Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Regency Hotel

Property: Coconut Grove Regency Hotel
Address: 5 Mozambique Link | Behind Ghana Immigration HQ, Accra Box CT 3998, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in close proximity to the business district of Accra. The Regency has 10 suites and 26 standard rooms all tastefully decorated, with air conditioning, multi-channel satellite TV, Free Wi - Fi and mini bar. You are assured of 24 hour uninterrupted power supply to make your stay very comfortable. Some guests have described our location as 'strategic and closer to everywhere'. We are within 5-10 minutes drive and in some cases walk to the Diplomatic and Business District of Accra, the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum, the seat of Government (Flag Staff House)the Accra International Conference Center, the National Theatre, the Makola Market (one of the largest in Africa)and the 37 Military Hospital (a UN designated grade 4 Hospital). Our staff know that you are our reason for being in business and we can assure you of 'memories worth repeating'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Grove Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing