We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely veranda, great staff and service”
Review of Midindi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Midindi Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Addis Ababa
1 review
“Great food, lovely veranda, great staff and service”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed at Midindi at the recommendation of a friend. The staff was accommodating and cheerful. The rooms are comfortable and adequate with air conditioning and good quality bedding. There is free wi fi service. Breakfast is included served in a spacious dining room. I had an afternoon tea sitting on a lovely veranda with potted plants and colorful Ghanian deck furniture enjoying the warm breezy weather of Accra. Dinner at the hotel is quality food and great service. The pool is clean with a length long enough for eight laps per turn.

Room Tip: Check that the room's AC is on and that the refrigerator has been plugged in. Also ask for water...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midindi, Manager at Midindi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Laura,
Thank you for your complimentary remarks. We shall continue in our quest to upgrade our services and become the premier hotel for the business traveller in Accra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    26
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
2
3
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I was compelled to stay at this "Boutique Hotel" as the other hotels in the area were fully booked, the rooms were big but not of a standard size, my room could house 5 to 6 people comfortably, while my colleague's room barely had enough room for his bed (both rooms incurred the same daily rates). The rooms were clean, but that is where the compliments have to end. The staff is not properly trained, they do try hard but it is in vein. It took me almost a full hour to checkout of the hotel. the Restaurant's food is okay but you typically have to wait 30 to 45 minutes to eat. There are many misleading reviews about this place, which is how I was folled into staying there. If you have an alternative, rather use that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midindi, Manager at Midindi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Belac10,
Thank you for your review which we find useful in assisting us to fine tune our product to fit our guests. We currently have 26 rooms and therefore when corporate customers for whom we provide services book for single rooms we do upgrade guests to larger rooms if there are no single rooms available. The upgrade in rooms is done at no additional cost and is because there were no available single rooms then.

We have undergone a major renovation of our facility and put additional value and style in our service through training, our rooms and facility areas. We would be privileged to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at the Midindi Hotel whilst on a business trip during August. The hotel is conveniently located not too far from the airport - in fact, it seemed to be on the flight path for planes landing or taking off from the airport but the volume of air traffic isn't anything to worry about. Staff were generally helpful and courteous.The breakfast buffet was OK but I had to ask staff for things like hot water for the coffee (only instant coffee, no fresh) and milk, not them ask me. As I learned on my first morning there, if you wait for them to ask you what you want, you could be there all day! The dinner menu was OK and the food was fresh and well-prepared.

The hotel looks modern from the outside but the building I was in, towards the rear of the property, was a bit run down. There were bits of dismantled furniture in the space outside my room which did not make it that inviting. The furnishings in the main room were OK and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was clean but there was a lot of mold on the sealant around the bath which wasn't nice to look at when having a shower.

Overall though, the Midindi Hotel is an OK place to stay I'd use it again if I return to Accra on business.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0mbard0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midindi, Manager at Midindi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear L0mbardo,
We are greatful for your input and assure you that we are using it to improve our services. At the time you arrived we had just started a program of updating our rooms, hence the dismantled pieces in that part of the hotel.
We are happy to say that the process of putting more value in the business for our customers is 70% complete and you would probably immediately recognize the improvement both in the rooms and in added upgrades to the wifi, restaurant, a new pergola at the restaurant, new gym equipment & overall improvement in service.
Once again thank you for your input and rest assured that we look forward to welcoming you to our facility again. It is our belief that we are on track to giving our guests top value during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed at Midindi as other hotels near the airport were fully booked. I think about the only thing to be said is that the rooms were clean. The hotel is generally a badly put together local hotel, with echoing corridors, grasping staff and noise air-conditioners, in the flight path or the airport (very noisy!). At best a 1 star charging four star prices..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banking0nlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This boutique hotel in the convenient Cantonments area has become a home from home for me and my colleagues during regular visits to Accra.
The staff create a warm, friendly atmosphere in the hotel, which has spacious rooms which are due a makeover but perfectly comfortable, clean and good value. The new Executive Chef promises changes to the menu in the very pleasant restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetnSourKraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The hotel is basically tired, and although the rooms are large, there is nothing in them that makes you want to use the big room. Bedding was clean, but furniture is old and bathroom fittings are missing with holes remaining on the walls. Yes, its relatively inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. The pool area and gym looked pleasant but I did not use them. Reception was a bit musty and check-in a lot more basic than the bigger hotels. Dont expect too much for breakfast, but again if you are looking for a quick and light meal, it had the basics. Some of the accompanyments looked like they had been prepared a while ago. Staff were friendly and willing to help where possible. The generator was running 24x7 outside my room which meant keeping the windows closed. It is well located, near the airport and the only shopping mall of note.

Room Tip: Chack that the airconditioning works on cold, especially if your room faces the generator, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownCobraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is a masterpiece for every kind of stay, be it business or holiday. To begin with large rooms, nicely designed, perfect WiFi, excellent cuisine, fast and friendly staff - always present when needed, but never intrusive... and it is too much of understatement to be showy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahogany Lodge
Mahogany Lodge
#8 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Urbano Hotel
Urbano Hotel
#18 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#12 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Airport West Hotel
Airport West Hotel
#26 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midindi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midindi Hotel

Property: Midindi Hotel
Address: 15 First Circular Rd. | East Cantonments, Accra 00000, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Midindi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midindi Hotel is a bespoke boutique hotel located in Accra's premier residential area, East Cantonments. The Hotel is five minutes drive from the airport and one thousand five hundred metres from the American Embassy. It is within a five minute drive from the entertainment hotspots in Accra such as Labadi Beach,Osu and the Accra Mall.Places of interest nearby are the W E Dubois centre, Captain Hooks, Tante Marie and Le Must restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midindi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing