We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Monticello
Nearby Hotels
US$155
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$120
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$120
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$128
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
164
54
4
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
54
4
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelconcierge serviceeach room has its ownworld classbeautiful hotelbusiness tripvisiting accraa great place to stayenjoyed my stayclose to the airportpool sidevmanitaemperorchapterzambeziluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very nice rooms, peaceful location, convenient for airport, v friendly and helpful staff, good food, pleasant atmosphere. Good value for this sort of hotel in a capital city.The in-house concierge "Koncierge" can help organise trips, drivers etc and are v friendly and efficient (although the service is q expensive).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24876S29846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Villa Monticello is a small but lovely hotel in Accra. Nothing in comparison with the big hotels in Accra. I'm travelling frequently to Accra for business and this hotel is definately a very good one. Location is close to the airport and the shuttle service works without any problems. In this hotel you are a guest with a name and not just a number. Every evening when I came back I received a warm welcome with my name.

The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The A/C is silent and works well. The only issue I faced was the power sockets. Nearly no power sockets available and I needed the hotel staff to find them at the desk. The Wifi works well - I had no issue.

The breakfast is "a la carte" - but special wishes are no problem. The food quality is good and freshly prepared. That's the reason why you need a little bit time for breakfast. However the staff in the restaurant could be a little bit more responsive and quicker. The same is valid for dinner in the evening. Prices are at the higher end for Ghana.

All over all I enjoyed my stay and will come back to Villa Monticello on my next trip to Accra.

Room Tip: Stayed at the room Nelson Mandela (next to the entrance and reception). Cars are parking directly in front of the window - you need to close the curtains to have privacy. Next time I will ask for a room in the upper floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FrnkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I had dinner there.
I order pasta pesto.
Very bland.
Did not enjoy it at all...
The waitress was surprised by my choice and asked if I was vegetarian!
Dont like the restaurant set up.
Will neither go back nor recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Mame317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel has less than 20 suites, and each of them is decorated differently following a theme (Soho, Gold Coast, etc.). Rooms are lovely, and very spacious. Wifi works relatively well!
The hotel is calm and comfortable; the staff is friendly.
But the best point is... the food! I tried several of the restaurant's dishes (for breakfast, lunch and dinner), and all of them were fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Angela C,
Its always a pleasure hosting your team here, many thanks for your continued support and for taking time to review your stay with us. We are working on upgrading our internet service hopefully on your next trip it will be 'Great"..
We all look forward to seeing you here again.

Best Regards,

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed in Villa Monticello for a week on a business trip, and enjoyed every minute. The suite - it would be an insult to call it a room - is spacious, clean and well equipped, including an espresso machine, which is a life saver for me :)
Food is good and very tasty, though pricey.

Cons:
1 - The hotel has only a few suites (I didn't count, but I think there are not more than 15), and the capacity of the bar and restaurant is in accordance. When there are events in the terrace the lobby is full of outside guests and it is a problem to find an available place to sit.

2 - Food selection at breakfast is very limited.

Bottom line is I would always prefer to stay here when in Accra over other hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid the single suite on ground floor, and the suites facing the pool - they are much noisier than the rest.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guy_agga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guy_Agga,
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Villa Monticello and for such great review. We take great concern with your comfort and will closely look at your cons and implement necessary changes.

Villa Monticello team hopes to have the opportunity to host you again next time you are in Accra,

Thank you once again for your continued support,

Best Regards,

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews