We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Same quality - or even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Monticello
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Same quality - or even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Last time I wrote a review on this hotel was in 2012. I was really happy with staying at Villa Monticello. This year I went there again. Same thing happened. I was impressed while staying there. The hotel has a car which services it's customers. The drivers are pleasant and social guys. No speeding - good driving!

Coming back home I discovered i had misplaced the hotel invoice. I sent an email in the evening and someone (obviously the night clerk) replied during the night and sent med the required document.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Munr,
Thank you for making Villa Monticello your residence of choice, we are all glad you enjoyed your stay once again and hope to see you again in the near future.

All the best for the rest of the year.

Regards,

Charles and the VM Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    47
    3
    8
    1
See reviews for
16
22
15
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

this is my first time in ghana and i have really blamed myself for not sleeping in villa monticello hotel .i came on business trip and although i did not sleep there , i had a breakfast there with my clients and my co-staff.it was amazing .scrambled egg was soft and testy .good work done to the chef.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very nice rooms, peaceful location, convenient for airport, v friendly and helpful staff, good food, pleasant atmosphere. Good value for this sort of hotel in a capital city.The in-house concierge "Koncierge" can help organise trips, drivers etc and are v friendly and efficient (although the service is q expensive).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24876S29846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Villa Monticello is a small but lovely hotel in Accra. Nothing in comparison with the big hotels in Accra. I'm travelling frequently to Accra for business and this hotel is definately a very good one. Location is close to the airport and the shuttle service works without any problems. In this hotel you are a guest with a name and not just a number. Every evening when I came back I received a warm welcome with my name.

The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The A/C is silent and works well. The only issue I faced was the power sockets. Nearly no power sockets available and I needed the hotel staff to find them at the desk. The Wifi works well - I had no issue.

The breakfast is "a la carte" - but special wishes are no problem. The food quality is good and freshly prepared. That's the reason why you need a little bit time for breakfast. However the staff in the restaurant could be a little bit more responsive and quicker. The same is valid for dinner in the evening. Prices are at the higher end for Ghana.

All over all I enjoyed my stay and will come back to Villa Monticello on my next trip to Accra.

Room Tip: Stayed at the room Nelson Mandela (next to the entrance and reception). Cars are parking directly in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FrnkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I had dinner there.
I order pasta pesto.
Very bland.
Did not enjoy it at all...
The waitress was surprised by my choice and asked if I was vegetarian!
Dont like the restaurant set up.
Will neither go back nor recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mame317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel has less than 20 suites, and each of them is decorated differently following a theme (Soho, Gold Coast, etc.). Rooms are lovely, and very spacious. Wifi works relatively well!
The hotel is calm and comfortable; the staff is friendly.
But the best point is... the food! I tried several of the restaurant's dishes (for breakfast, lunch and dinner), and all of them were fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Angela C,
Its always a pleasure hosting your team here, many thanks for your continued support and for taking time to review your stay with us. We are working on upgrading our internet service hopefully on your next trip it will be 'Great"..
We all look forward to seeing you here again.

Best Regards,

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed in Villa Monticello for a week on a business trip, and enjoyed every minute. The suite - it would be an insult to call it a room - is spacious, clean and well equipped, including an espresso machine, which is a life saver for me :)
Food is good and very tasty, though pricey.

Cons:
1 - The hotel has only a few suites (I didn't count, but I think there are not more than 15), and the capacity of the bar and restaurant is in accordance. When there are events in the terrace the lobby is full of outside guests and it is a problem to find an available place to sit.

2 - Food selection at breakfast is very limited.

Bottom line is I would always prefer to stay here when in Accra over other hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid the single suite on ground floor, and the suites facing the pool - they are much noisier than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy_agga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guy_Agga,
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Villa Monticello and for such great review. We take great concern with your comfort and will closely look at your cons and implement necessary changes.

Villa Monticello team hopes to have the opportunity to host you again next time you are in Accra,

Thank you once again for your continued support,

Best Regards,

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.3 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 91 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
4.0 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
4.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
0.8 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#5 of 91 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.2 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monticello

Property: Villa Monticello
Address: No 1A Mankata Avenue Link | Airport Residential Area, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Accra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Monticello 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monticello boutique hotel is a luxury boutique hotel situated in one of the most exclusive areas in Accra. Conveniently located to Kotoka International Airport and in easy walking distance to one of Accra’s exclusive shopping areas. There are 14 uniquely designed suites, each offering a luxurious personal touch and stylish elegance plus a fitness room with state-of-the-art facilities overlooking the outdoor swimming pool and The Terrace Cafe. Villa Monticello offers a Free Shuttle Service, within a 5km radius and Free Airport Meet and Greet.Villa Monticello has been awarded with a TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence. This prestigious award, places us in the top-performing 10% of all businesses worldwide on TripAdvisor and is given to businesses that consistently earn high ratings from TripAdvisor travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Monticello Hotel Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing