We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Meppel, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I really enjoyed every bit of my stal with movenpick. in fact is the best hotel in Ghana. Michael was really good to me during my stay. he is such a good guy.
many reasons to return

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jikl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    362
    111
    35
    15
See reviews for
57
52
49
711
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on a business trip and was very impressed. Friendly staff who took my needs very seriously, e.g. ensuring that I had internet access after midnight by sending an IT helpdesk person. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, good food, and an efficient business centre which was useful for me as I had quite a bit of scanning of documents to do.

If you can afford it, would recommend it!

Room Tip: If you need to be in the centre of Accra, then this is a good place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linday243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This hotel blew me away from the start. After living and working in West Africa and traveling extensively across Africa, this is probably the best business hotel I've stayed in. From the impeccable taste in decor, the delicious food, to the fast wi-fi in my room, I've been pleasantly surprised at every encounter. The fitness center is huge and clean as well, I truly feel like I am in a 5 star hotel. Gorgeous! So happy to have this in Accra. The beds are incredibly comfy too with down comforters and pillows.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank iamkasiaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I usually stay at another hotel in Accra (also in the 250 USD range), but wanted to try out Movenpick that opened up for business early this year.

Overall the staff was very friendly (not quite common in Ghana hotels) - this includes everyone from bell boy to restaurant staff and check in. The check-in went fast and trouble free.

The superior room had a good size, comfy bed, clean nice bathroom with all the extra stuff you need (and dont need).

Breakfast next day was on level or beyond many European hotels in terms of choices and included.

The hotel has a night club/lounge type bar with loud music serving a wide range of cocktails. It seemed popular with both locals and foreigners. The music could not be heard outside the bar.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Under_many_stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I spent 4 nights at this hotel while attending a wedding in Accra. We earlier on checked into another hotel but could not stay more than a night because it was not up to our usual standard.

Right from the time we entered the lobby till we departed, it was a delight. Check in was easy and very informative. We requested for late check out on our departure and it was granted without any fuss. We were even served a welcome drink.

Positives

The Hotel/ Room: New, tastefully finished, well decorated and stylish. Our room was well appointed, very clean, airy and of the standard that you'll find of an upscale 4 star hotel anywhere in the world. The bathroom had all the amenities including bathrobes, slippers, and a bathroom scale amongst other stuff. There was an iron in the room which was very pleasing to me because i always want to do my own ironing myself. We had a bottle of complementary water in the room as well as a choice of quality tea and other beverages. There is a kettle for you to make your own tea/coffee

Location: The hotel is located at the centre of town, at the heart of the business district. It is opposite the National Theatre. You can take a stroll around the hotel easily. The airport is about 20 minutes away and 10 minutes from Osu (the popular area where you can shop, eat, exchange money etc. The KFC at Osu is particularly good!)

Breakfast: Breakfast was great. One of the largest choices of food that you can get; from cold meats to cooked meat, to nuts, fresh fruit, cereal and some local food, you’ll have a filled day. The staffs were responsive and served with a smile.

Business Centre: I was also very impressed with the service that I got from this department. I sent a document for scanning. It was promptly done, returned, I appended my signature and they rescanned for me and sent to my mail box. In this way my business did not suffer while I was on this short holiday.

Service: I cannot commend the service enough. Every staff that we had contact with was genuinely pleasant and ready to serve. Wendy and Abigail at the reception epitomises the service at the hotel

Negatives/ Improvement

None!! The hotel should however speed up the commencement of their in- house shop service. I had to go out to buy some toiletries that I needed urgently

Recommendation: I strongly recommend!!

Room Tip: Ask for the pool view room. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MissMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the first time in August, we were supposed to have stayed there for one night but we ended up extending it for another night. We loved it so much that we booked to come back for our last 3 nights in Accra.

The hotel location is fantastic. It is just opposite the National Theatre, the Cal Bank and Accra City Centre is easily accessible by taxis and buses just outside the hotel.

It has very quiet surroundings, you wouldn't think you are in the city centre, the lobby is very welcoming, the decor, the ambience, the space is very nice.

The Front-desk staff are particularly helpful and nice with impeccable manners. What we liked most was the restaurant, the buffet breakfast was very good, with a lot of variety, and very well-spread desserts.
The buffet lunch is a must. It costs about GH 45 cedis but it's well worth it.

The gym is another place to go if you enjoy working out and after that you get a good stretch from the well-trained staff. Again, if you enjoy swimming, their pool is a good place to chill out in the afternoon. They have a good poolside bar as well that I will highly recommend.

The rooms are cozy and comfortable with Spanish style bathrooms and are very clean as well. They supply you with endless bottles of water to keep you hydrated.

I have stayed at various hotels in Europe including the Ritzs of Paris, Marriott Champs-Elysee, Marriott Marquis New York, Marriott Eastside Manhattan, The Ritz Carlton, the Hyatt right down to Golden Tuilip and the Holiday Inn. In my opinion and experience, I will rate the Movenpick Ambassador Accra to the likes of the Ritz Carlton Arts Hotel in Barcelona, A five star hotel in the Olympic village.

All the staff are well-trained, very helpful, polite and very friendly yet they get things done, when and how you want it.

Although there is construction work still going on, don't let this spoil your stay or holiday. On the whole and all in all, it was a very nice place to stay.

However, one negative point is that, there is a smell outside the hotel coming from the drains . This problem needs to be addressed either than that, the hotel experience was very good

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LizLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We were bowled over by the warmth and friendliness of the staff at this brand new hotel, set in extensive landscaped grounds and conveniently located near the centre of Accra - ideal for either sightseeing or business, with a free shuttle service to and from the airport. The rooms were luxurious with high standards of service, the Sankofa restaurant was first class and all were set off by exquisite African artwork throughout the building (- look out for the huge circular snakeskin rugs on the ground floor and the trio of modern sculptures outside the lifts on each of the upper floors). We did not get round to swimming in the huge outdoor pool but we enjoyed sitting at the poolside bar, where waiters use rollerblades to bring the food and drinks out from the main hotel! A part of the the hotel is still under construction but this did not affect our stay in any way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
4.0 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
4.1 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
3.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#18 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra

Property: Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Address: PMB CT 343, Cantonments Ridge, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra is set in an urban oasis within the city centre/business district. This contemporary 5 * hotel is only 7km from the airport and provides your home away from home whilst in Accra with free Wifi and complimentary airport shuttle. The Accra Financial Centre, World Trade Centre, International Conference Centre and Government Ministries are all close by. The modern rooms and suites feature stunning garden or city views with complimentary coffee/tea facilities, 46” screen TVs, laptop sized safe and in room ironing facilities. Throughout the hotel guests can enjoy our African art collection showcasing over 2500 pieces of original art. For a little extra, guests can choose the Executive Club Floor with private check-in/out, boardroom and an exclusive lounge with balcony. Enjoy complimentary evening canapes with selected wines and champagne in an exclusive “home away from home” atmosphere whilst looking over the lavish gardens. A variety of dining options are available from light snacks, International buffets and A la Carte. Conference facilities on the ground floor feature a 736sqm ballroom with 5 adjacent meeting rooms, business centre and large pre-function area, ideal for organising your business or social events. You can work out at the state of the art gymnasium, or have a bracing dip in Accra’s largest outdoor swimming pool. The Emporium attached to the hotel, has a variety of shops and businesses including, a bank and cash machine, chemist, mobile phone/computer shop and a hair and beauty salon. “We speak your language.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing