We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“a very good hotel”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a week on business. In a room on the 4th floor. THe hotel looks great, furnishings and decor top notch. There was a distinct damp smell in the corridors on the that floor but this did not extend to the room which was a good size, well furnished, with a great bathroom and shower. The air conditioning worked fine, complimentary tea coffee and water, an in room safe big enough to hold a 17" laptop, plenty of wardrobe space, an iron, and a huge Sony flat screen TV. I found the wi fi worked easily, although it was slow (no good trying to watch You tube). There was only one day when I could not get connected. The breakfast buffet is probably the best I have seen but there were a few minor niggles,on a couple of days due due lack of attention to detail. The buffet opened at 6.30. I wanted tea, but whilst there were tea bags, there was no hot water, or cold milk which also ruled out cereal. . There was bacon, sausages etc but no scrambled eggs. These did not appear until 6.50. The evening buffet is expensive ($35) but very good. The a la Carte dishes were also good. Wine as expected was expensive, $10 a glass for the cheapest! Desserts were superb. The pool was huge and the pool service from the bar very good. There is a free airport shuttle which worked very well, although it can only carry 6 people max with luggage. All in all a very good experience but for $380 a night for a standard room it should be! I would be happy to stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Chapel43

Thank you for the time taken to complete your TripAdvisor review and thank you for staying with us.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and please rest assured that your observation of the Breakfast operation will be shared with the F&B Manager & Chef and corrective measures will be put in practice.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back once your travel brings you back to Accra.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    371
    112
    35
    15
See reviews for
57
51
49
730
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This must be one of Accra's best hotels, and it seems pretty new. I don't think I had any complaints about staying here, other than that room service almost always took longer than advertised. My colleague complained about the internet speed, but I didn't have any issues. The gym and pool facilities are excellent, and there is a good coffee shop (and small mall area) connected to the hotel. Good range of TV channels, comfy beds and stylish bathroom all added to the quality of the stay. Buffet restaurant ok, there is an outdoor option too. Hotel is centrally located so it provides good access to ministries, etc.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor for a decent view. Ignore pool opening times, I was able to go for a swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikTNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear RikTNC

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your time in Accra and thank you for the time taken to share your experience with other travelers.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back one day.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at many business hotels in africa and this was the worst by far for getting wifi working. Of my three mission critical pieces of equipment, I was only ever able to get one connected. My colleague too had the same problem. Of course, i figured i could just call guest services and get it sorted. No answer after 20 rings. Just to put icing on the cake, after my visit, they sent me an email asking for feedback. When I clicked on the link, it directs me to an internal server error!!
Ok the staff are very friendly, and service generally very good (with the exception that it was not very easy to get coffee at breakfast - I had to ask several times). The design and cleanliness of the hotel are superb, but in the end, I wasn't able to get work done while there. Maybe that wasnt so bad as I had to sit by the pool and read instead. Bottom line - for the price, it should be a trouble-free experience. My hotel stays in Nairobi, Kampala and Dar went very well by comparison.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ibscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Ibscotty

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. Please do accept our sincere apology for the service errors occurred during your stay, please rest assure that each of them will be addressed and worked on.

As to our Wifi coverage in the hotel I’m delighted to share with you that we have recently embarked on a project of upgrading our current Internet System with the latest state of the art technology which will provide all our guests with a large choice of Internet services. This project is currently on going and is scheduled for completion towards end of November. During the transition period current services will not be affected rather whenever a certain area is completed services will increase in the respective location.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you our new internet system & the true Swiss service with a personal touch.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I came with a group for an executive program in Accra. Although there are Boutique Hotels I think for a group like hours or for business purposes this is the place to stay in Accra. A good restaurant, a reasonable room (linen ware a little tough for the quality of the hotel and price, for example) and good service deserve making the choice for this place. Wi Fi slow and not strong is another thing to improve whereas charging for an additional cappuccino at breakfast (considering the price is just a wrong option toward customer satisfaction). A nice pool, good gym and also nice shopping arcade make as a summary a good experience

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Eduardo O.

Thank you for choosing Moevenpick Ambassador Hotel for your & your groups recent visit to Accra and our thanks also for taking the time to share your experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and please rest assured that your remarks will be adressed.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have stayed in Movenpick for only one day in October 2013 before heading to Kumasi to watch a match between Egypt and Ghana. Movenpick is almost the best hotel you can find in Accra. I was coming in a group and to minimize time for check-in, the hotel had prepared the room key for each person in advance and that was nice however all us us had to return back to the reception again as all the keys were not activated !!
The hotel provides a wireless internet service however you will be lucky if you can manage connecting to it by yourself. Again you need another journey to the reception to configure it for you.
The room was wonderful with its view facing the pool. Very good bathroom.
Food in general was good however for me choices were limited especially in Lunch and Dinner.
The hotel has a very good pool however I did not have enough time to use it.
Transportation from the hotel is not an issue as you will find lot of Taxis just outside the hotel and the hotel staff were nice to get you a taxi whenever you want it.
Good location just beside the National Theatre and within few minutes from the famous Art Centre.
Overall very good hotel especially when you are in Africa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmedalhadidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Ahmedalhadidi

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel for your group and for the time taken to share your feedback.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to apologize for the issues with the keys. I do remember very well the moment and it was an error from our side. My sincere apology for this.

As to our Wifi coverage in the hotel I’m delighted to share with you that we have recently embarked on a project of upgrading our current Internet System with the latest state of the art technology which will provide all our guests with a large choice of Internet services. This project is currently on going and is scheduled for completion towards end of November. During the transition period current services will not be effected rather whenever a certain area is completed services will increase in the respective location.

Once again, it was a pleasure hosting you and your group and we hope to welcome you back one day here in Accra


With best regards
nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I really REALLY like the Moevenpick, I don't know why, because I haven't always had the best services here but I do.
Unfortunately, I will not be staying here again. There have always been issues with the internet anytime I stay here, sometimes minor, and if you spend the day at meetings outside the hotel, it doesn't really affect you. During my last trip, I spent more time at the hotel than outside and had a ton of work to do, unfortunately, there was no internet for the 2 days I was there and was told that had been the situation for a couple of days before I got to Accra.
For someone who was in Accra for business, this was a disaster, this is why I shall not be taking such risks again, and will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olasimbo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Olasimbo O

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for the time taken to share your feedback.

While we are delighted to see your most favorable comments as to cleanliness of the room, location and overall sleep quality we have noted with great concern your comments and observations as to our Internet services. We are delighted to share with you that we have recently embarked on a project of upgrading our current Internet System with the latest state of the art technology which will provide all our guests with a large choice of Internet services. This project is currently on going and is scheduled for completion towards end of November. During the transition period current services will not be effected rather whenever a certain area is completed services will increase in the respective location.

In closing should travel bring you back to this part of the world I would be more than delighted if you could contact me directly nadja.mueller@moevenpick.com in order to assist you with your booking at our hotel.

With best regards
nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Overall a positive feedback,

clean and good spacing in the room, quiet, good airconditioning, secure access to each floor, nice view to the pool, good food, while charges and prices are higher than expected.
Personnel should improve its skills and manners. Bath tap was faulty the first day, next morning a techician fixed it. Internet access not always fine. Not flexible with extra allowance of

Room Tip: with a view to hotel's pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBX1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear NBX1964

Thank you for your time taken to share your experiences about our hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I noted your comments about the manners of our team members. (if you would not mind, I would like to know more details about your observation - nadja.mueller@moevenpick.com)

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back one day.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
4.0 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
3.3 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 92 in Accra
119 reviews
4.1 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra

Property: Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Address: PMB CT 343, Cantonments Ridge, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra is set in an urban oasis within the city centre/business district. This contemporary 5 * hotel is only 7km from the airport and provides your home away from home whilst in Accra with free Wifi and complimentary airport shuttle. The Accra Financial Centre, World Trade Centre, International Conference Centre and Government Ministries are all close by. The modern rooms and suites feature stunning garden or city views with complimentary coffee/tea facilities, 46” screen TVs, laptop sized safe and in room ironing facilities. Throughout the hotel guests can enjoy our African art collection showcasing over 2500 pieces of original art. For a little extra, guests can choose the Executive Club Floor with private check-in/out, boardroom and an exclusive lounge with balcony. Enjoy complimentary evening canapes with selected wines and champagne in an exclusive “home away from home” atmosphere whilst looking over the lavish gardens. A variety of dining options are available from light snacks, International buffets and A la Carte. Conference facilities on the ground floor feature a 736sqm ballroom with 5 adjacent meeting rooms, business centre and large pre-function area, ideal for organising your business or social events. You can work out at the state of the art gymnasium, or have a bracing dip in Accra’s largest outdoor swimming pool. The Emporium attached to the hotel, has a variety of shops and businesses including, a bank and cash machine, chemist, mobile phone/computer shop and a hair and beauty salon. “We speak your language.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing