We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in heart of Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Luxury in heart of Africa”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

As seasoned travellers, the Movenpick could have been in any city of the world. That having been said, there was definitely a Ghanaian seasoning to the place, and one is never allowed to forget where you are.
The room was first class; very comfortable and with all the facilities one comes to expect from a five star hotel. I have stayed in 5 star hotels in Ghana before, and this is the first time that I believe they deserve them. The wifi system needs work, as it is typically Ghanaian and unnecessarily complicated. One had to register one device for a single code, and one can't use another device on the same code. I am sure there must be a simpler system available. I spent a lot of time visiting reception because of some connection problem or other.
The food in the restaurant was first class. They ran a buffet style dining room for all meals, and the breakfast was almost enough for the rest of the day. Even the BBQ by the pool with live band was good. But, in a land where one can live like a king on a meagre income, it was not cheap. In fact, it was disproportionately expensive when one considers the standard of living and average salary of the local people. However, to watch the waiters on roller-blades ply their trade by the pool was a delight. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Book and pay for your room and meals before you go. Ask for a room overlooking the pool, there is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimJayCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Mr. JayCee

Thank you for your stay and for your complimenting words.
We are glad you had an enjoyable time and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    361
    111
    35
    15
See reviews for
57
52
49
709
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

40 mins away from Lagos, Accra is a fun and convenient weekend getaway. I was quite excited about going back having stayed at the Labadi Beach hotel twice before and had such a great impression of Ghanaian hospitality.

The Movenpick’s impressive stature, 5* branding and Thai operated spa invited a different experience to try out. From the 7th floor, the view of the huge swimming pool and surroundings did not disappoint with gorgeous sunrises and sunsets (ignore the construction of the new hotel suites). The room was comfortable with very cosy sheets, mattress and pillows.

My issues lie with the poor quality of any and all of the food and beverages that were sampled. (Slow service is to be expected).

There was no Movenpick ice cream available in the entire hotel, except for a pistachio version which had gone through about 12 evolution's in consistency and taste from the defrosting and refreezing process over so many times. We were very surprised that this would be considered appropriate to serve.

A bloody mary or mimosa was “not available” for breakfast! The majority of the items displayed on the buffet breakfast had been left to clot or harden under the burner. The cold cuts were in cold sweats of water. When we complained and requested for fresh items, we were declined and told the buffet was to close in 10 minutes – that’s when we finally got the attention of a waiter. The fresh omelette order was never registered so after 25mins of waiting, had to be re-ordered, then when it was served, saturated in oil and grease, was totally undesirable. The roasted bacon was so hard it could have been mistaken for a mini frizby. Sadly we had to relive the ordeal of the buffet breakfast repeatedly as it was purged over and over again. I've not seen food poisoning on this level for a very long time, we should have taken more notice of the cues.

Management’s response was more of “we are unable to confirm that you contacted food poisoning from our hotel”, but offered to call a doctor to the hotel. A nurse telephoned the hotel room and insisted that we came to the hospital in person which was interesting logic when the patient was unable to spend more than 5 minutes away from the bathroom. Management also offered to purchase medication, which without a prescription was not very useful. They were not able to offer another hotel room so one of us could get some respite before the 6.30am departure.

“I’ve been sick a number of times after eating at the Movenpick” a close friend told me today, which is great cause for concern as their complaints have clearly fallen on deaf ears. Altogether it was quite a stressful end to what was billed to be a relaxing weekend. I absolutely do not recommend eating anything from this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room to get a great view and so you are not disturbed by the noise of the constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Megha

Thank you very for choosing to stay with us for your weekend trip.

Allow me to express once more my sincere apologies for the inconveniences and problems you had during your stay.

As mentioned in our previous communication, we investigated the mentioned products immediately and neither our HACCP control / record system shows signs of irregularity nor did we get any other comments from guests who enjoyed there meal from the Breakfast Buffet on the same morning.

But most important for us that you felt better after arriving back home and allow me to say once again that we are truly sorry that this weekend ended in this way.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very impressed with the hotel. Great facilities (including an amazing pool and running track). Restaurant food and room service food is really good. Rooms are very comfortable and the shower is fantastic! The only negative to my stay was the bed pillows. They are possibly the worst hotel pillows i've ever slept on at a hotel! They look fantastic when the bed is made - all big and fluffy. But when you sleep on them, you have to scrunch 2 or 3 together just to get some support.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review.

I am sorry to learn that you did not like our pillows but most of all, that we did not place our pillow menu visible for you. We actually have a selection of pillows available, please do let us know on your next stay and I am sure we will find the right pillow for a perfect sleep.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Arguably the best hotel in Ghana. I have stayed here on several occasion and will definitely go back.

Quite expensive but outstanding customer service and a very good restaurant with good bar and restaurant.

There's a free hotel shuttle from and to airport .

I'd recommend this hotel definitely.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Dean

Thank you for your review and of course for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you and we are looking forward to welcome you back one day soon.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed three the previous week . Friendly staff excellent hospitality ,buffet could have been better as the starters and the desserts are more than the main food chooses ( at least n the intercontinental area ) . the breakfast buffet was good but only filtered coffee and a small selection of tea choices . The rooms are spacious and very clean, complementary bottles of water always there ,beds are ver comfortable ! A bit of noise from the constructions just opposite the pool area . the poll is very big and there is always a light breeze so be careful to avoid the sunburn . It was very kind of the staff that allowed us to have a light breakfast before catching an early morning flight although it was 6a.m
The Thai massage was very good ,given by Thai professionals .
Nice a relaxing experience above all .

Room Tip: Currently the rooms with poll view are a bit noisy because of the constructions neat to the pool . R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Marika K.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

For those who have travelled in West Africa staying at the Movenpick is like a little bit of paradise.
The deli was great for a light lunch away from the typical boring mess hall buffet area, the quality of food was also surprisingly good.
My room was tidy, new, well appointed, with a great TV (you know it is important not to have one local channel and a tiny TV).
I had a thai massage which was just what the doctor ordered on a long business trip like this and was as good as any I have had around the world.
The service was good at reception and they did not make me feel like a criminal when my card did not go through (daily limit exceeded) they said try it again tomorrow. What a pleasant experience. Only negative is that there is no loyalty bonus or card for repeat customers.

Room Tip: The executive suites are a good option as you get access to a printer, a cappuccino machine and a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Nicolas K.

Thank you for your stay and for sharing your experience. We do hope that we will have soon the opportunity to welcome you back.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I´ve been there for 1 night ( 2 single rooms), since 18/06/2014 till 19/06/2014.
They have charged US395,00 for the single superior room and US495 for the executive room (both with breakfast included).

The lunch end dinner, both in buffet are very poor for a 5 star hotel. For the main dishes, you have rice, chicken and one kind of fish.

Good outside swimming pool, employees very frendly.
Not so good - Its very dificult to have connection in our phones inside the hotel and wireless don´t work outside.

I think Accra has better solutions if we consider the price paid.

Room Tip: They have give me the 644 with swimming pool view. Nothing to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joao p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Joao P.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback with other travellers. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our buffet meals, being a bit surprised as we have daily changing theme nights for the evening buffets which include a wide selection of main dishes & live cooking station.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity and that we can welcome you back one day.

With best regards
Nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
4.0 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
4.1 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
3.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#17 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra

Property: Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Address: PMB CT 343, Cantonments Ridge, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra is set in an urban oasis within the city centre/business district. This contemporary 5 * hotel is only 7km from the airport and provides your home away from home whilst in Accra with free Wifi and complimentary airport shuttle. The Accra Financial Centre, World Trade Centre, International Conference Centre and Government Ministries are all close by. The modern rooms and suites feature stunning garden or city views with complimentary coffee/tea facilities, 46” screen TVs, laptop sized safe and in room ironing facilities. Throughout the hotel guests can enjoy our African art collection showcasing over 2500 pieces of original art. For a little extra, guests can choose the Executive Club Floor with private check-in/out, boardroom and an exclusive lounge with balcony. Enjoy complimentary evening canapes with selected wines and champagne in an exclusive “home away from home” atmosphere whilst looking over the lavish gardens. A variety of dining options are available from light snacks, International buffets and A la Carte. Conference facilities on the ground floor feature a 736sqm ballroom with 5 adjacent meeting rooms, business centre and large pre-function area, ideal for organising your business or social events. You can work out at the state of the art gymnasium, or have a bracing dip in Accra’s largest outdoor swimming pool. The Emporium attached to the hotel, has a variety of shops and businesses including, a bank and cash machine, chemist, mobile phone/computer shop and a hair and beauty salon. “We speak your language.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing