We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at The Åknac Hotel”
Review of The Aknac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aknac Hotel
Ranked #8 of 271 Accra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Such a lovely place to stay during our trip to Ghana.
I booked after reading a lot of the reviews. Firstly, it is in a great part of Accra, yes the immediate area is residential with lots of development happening, walk 5 minutes down the road at your at the trasacco estate which is one of the nicest areas to live in Accra. We rented a taxi driver for our stay and he took us around which was handy. He knew what times to avoid the ridiculous traffic which was good but after spending days out, it was such a Pleasure to return the The Åknac. The staff are such nice people, from the managers to the cleaners. They are professional and attentive yet they made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The restaurant is a nicely decorated space with tasty fresh food. Our room was very nice. Beautifully decorated with good quality furniture and linens- seems they have purchased their furniture /bedding from high end British suppliers.
The beds were very firm, too firm for my liking as I prefer a softer mattress but it was perfect for My husband.
The pool was a lovely space to chill and laze around.

All in all, a beautiful boutique hotel. Excellent prices And to top it off- nice staff which is crucial!
Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: We were in room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MDavis111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAknacHotel, Front Office Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Dear MDAVIS111,

It was such a pleasure reading your lovely review of our property. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments with us and the trip advisor community. It was a delight having you and your husband as our guests, we hope to welcome you in the future and wish you the very best for the future.

With kindest regards
Mary
Front office supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visiting Accra for the first time, booked Aknac due to reviews. Immediately realised this was a mistake when we noticed the taxi taking us away from the city and in to the suburbs of Legon. Except the location however the hotel is new and therefore clean. Food was surprisingly good. But it left us kind of isolated!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Waqasmunir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAknacHotel, Front Office Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Dear Waqasmunir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the environment and food.

It is unfortunate that you felt isolated. We are sure that the more you familiarised yourself with the Accra area, the greater the realisation that we are a short drive away from the colourful bustling areas of the city.

Wishing you the best for the future.

Kind regards
Mary
Front office supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is coming late, but the experience lingers on. Spent our honeymoon in Ghana and stayed at the hotel for a week. The room was sparking clean and had a very classy feel. The entire hotel was clean too. Relatively fast internet service was provided and the staff were cordial and helpful. The meal were also very nice and quite affordable. You should try the Spagetti Boligno. Not sure I got the spelling write tho. Nice pool too. Only snag... The pick up cab took for ever to pick us up at the Airport. Overall, great experience. Will do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yemi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAknacHotel, Front Office Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Dear Yemi O,

It was delightful to read your review and thank you taking the time to share your comments with us and the trip advisor community. We are honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us and it was a pleasure to have you both as our guests.

We wish you both a wonderful future together and hope you will visit us again.

Best wishes
Mary
Front office supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Found this hotel after an extensive Internet search of the extortionately priced hotels in Accra. The Aknac was well priced and had a night free promo.
we were picked up by shuttle service & it took around 35 minutes to arrive at our destination.
The hotel is situated off the beaten track

We received a friendly welcome, with some freshly squeezed lemonade, our room was well decorated with plenty of towel and bed linens. The hotel in general has a creative and luxurious feel yet it feels personal and homely,. they have not yet opened arts and crafts shop which looks like they will be selling some unique pieces - Cow horn on a glass/ diamond tray caught my attention!
Food was good! Breakfast was good and staff were very attentive & friendly. All in all a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 110 very presentable with nice ambiance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank freddy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I was VERY disappointed as our pick-up did not arrive for about an hour. It took us about 55 minutes to get the hotel which was in the middle of nowhere.Just want to emphasis that the hotel is nowhere near the airport as it advertised on the website. Unclean bath room and was horrified when a chamber-made used bedding which was not ironed to make the bed and when I questioned her, she called a second CM who came and just straightened the bed sheet and walked off.

I asked for a key to the safe deposit in my room, 3 days running but they couldn't find any key to much the safe in my room. Asked the reception to change some money (pounds) i was told '' we are unable to change £20 as it is a lower denomination'' and cant make any profit or they could change for a much less rate which i would have lost about £10 equivalent for every £100. This! i find a ripe off. Guess what i was glad it wasn't changed as i got MUCH better rate from the Foreign exchange.
My overall experience staying at the hotel was AWFUL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Quiet location faraway from the hustle of the city. Great pool and functional restaurants. Rooms were spacious and modern. Lots of towels and linens. Exterior view still being worked on at the time of visit but you could tell that it would be paradisaic....
Will definitely return there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAknacHotel, Front Office Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Donny,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With kindest regards
Mary
Front desk supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I travel across Africa constantly and without doubt this hotel is the poorest value for money I have experienced. I have stayed here 3 times over the past 2 years, thinking it might improve, but I after this current trip I won't be staying here again. It looks impressive on arrival at the foyer, but basically nothing works. It is almost impossible for them to find you a room where all of the following are in place - the door to the balcony closes / locks, there is water / hot water, the air conditioning works, the lights work - so in the end you change rooms at least 3 times before you can settle. The hotel has had limited maintenance and so the rooms are going downhill with lots of wear and tear. And the internet works approximately 10% of the time and it's excruciatingly slow when it does. At $140 per night minimum I expect at least a bit better than this. Honestly I'd rather be paying $10 somewhere and have no expectation of anything working! It's way over-priced for what they provide.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank 403Linda403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAknacHotel, Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your stay with us.

It is unfortunate that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Whilst we are very appreciative of guest comments, for you to state that "basically nothing works" it is a very broad statement which we feel is not fair. The problems that you describe are not typical of our establishment and we are very sorry that you encountered such issues.

Once you were checked in to your room, upon realising that your air conditioner was leaking, our manager changed your room. We have ongoing maintenance and our rooms were refurbished a few months ago. It is unfortunate that you were temporarily placed in a room that required some maintenance in order for us to prepare your new room.

With regards to the WIFI, we would urge others to view our previous reviews as the majority of our guests comment on the speed of our internet services. Within west Africa, unfortunately at times, the actual service providers themselves experience difficulties which then has a snowball effect on its users. As a result of the potential WIFI fluctuations, we have an IT staff member on hand to assist guests with any IT problems that they may encounter.

We thank you for staying with us and would hope to convince you to stay with us again in the future as we value your custom. Our team would be very happy to welcome you back and I would be happy to personally make any arrangements for your stay. Should you wish to do so, I can be contacted at enquiries@theaknachotel.com.

Wishing you all the best and may I take this opportunity to once again apologise for the issues encountered.

With kind regards
Coordinating Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.7 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
6.1 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#2 of 90 in Accra
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#22 of 90 in Accra
65 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 90 in Accra
224 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fiesta Royale Hotel
Fiesta Royale Hotel
#14 of 90 in Accra
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aknac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aknac Hotel

Address: Trasacco Valley, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range: £61 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aknac Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Aknac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing