We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Even Better Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charleston Hotel Ghana
Ranked #3 of 245 Accra B&B and Inns
Navasota, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Even Better Service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel! Everything was clean and well kept, and the amenities are top notch. The restaurant and breakfast are a bit small, but the food is good, with a variety of American and Ghanian dishes. However, the best part of the stay was the staff. Every employee of the hotel seems to make it a personal priority that you will have an excellent experience, and that means the world to me. You will likely meet the owner (who lived in Dallas for a while), and you can tell she takes an immense amount of pride in her place. If I ever am lucky enough to return to Accra, I will definitely do everything I can to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliana K, Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us a review .. It means a lot to us and also do appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future. All the best ... Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
7
5
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed at the Charleston 4 different times over the summer as I was in Ghana completing our adoption! The staff at the Charleston took special care of me and my daughter! Always accommodating as our schedule was crazy! Pamela, and Elvis (front desk) are beyond perfect in their kindness and efforts to help out our stay! The hotel is spotless! The food Amazing! The pool clean as can be! I will recommend the Charleston to everyone I come in to contact with especially our adoptive friends who need a little TLC while fighting a hard battle. We love the Charleston and everyone there!

Room Tip: Charleston takes care of everything and every need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adoption2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliana K, Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for this great review. We make it a priority to make our customer's feel at home and comfortable . We miss you here already...glad you made it back safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you are looking for a safe and comfortable place to stay in Ghana, this is the hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and the A/C worked very well. We ate several meals at the hotel and they had excellent dinner selections. The staff was extremely friendly and were happy to go the extra mile to make us comfortable. We spent our nights hanging out at the pool and the pool service was also excellent and friendly. They also provided travel to and from the airport and assisted with other transportation needs during our stay. High recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliana K, Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Glad to know you enjoyed your stay . Thank you for your business we really do appreciate you taking time out to review us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildeer, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Charleston hotel is like a boutique hotel. The amenities are nicely presented, and most importantly clean. The staff is phenomenal. They are highly service oriented, accommodating, polite, friendly and welcoming. We found Charleston Hotel on tripadvisor after an especially horrible night at another hotel. We took the recommendations of recent visitors and they were right on point. So glad to have real experiences available to help us choose a better hotel. It was the best hotel stay in our 10 day stay in Ghana. A great value compared to other hotels with similar offerings. I would highly recommend it and return there with no hesitation.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a FACE towel not a wash cloth to wash with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliana K, Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Yvette..Thank you first for your business and also for your review. Here at Charleston's we make customer service our number one priority . It is really good feeling when we get a review that let us know our efforts are not in vain . We are constantly working on making sure that customers get the value they pay for and most importantly that they feel secure and at home !! Thank you again and hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College station, tx
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

With it being my first time visiting Ghana I am so glad I stayed at the Charleston Hotel. I have absolutely no complaints, except that I wish I could have stayed longer. Management is extremely hospitable, respectful, and very down to earth. My room was always clean and the hotel has nice amenities and decor. The food was delicious and I was never disappointed. This is definitely where I plan to stay everytime I visit Ghana because of the very professional yet family like atmosphere and the high standards of quality in all aspects.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelisafields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliana K, Owner at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your response and glad you enjoyed your stay here at Charleston Hotel!! We look forward to servicing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Charleston hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed at! The staff is extremely friendly and more than willing to accommodate you with anything you need, the food is delicious and the price is great, the rooms are very comfortable, it is extremely clean (cleaned everyday), the A/C works great, and the pool is great! It is also a very calm neighborhood, which is very nice. Although the wifi did not work in the room, it worked excellent everywhere else, so it was not problem at all. Nothing to complain about whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliana K, Owner at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Nicolle, thank you for your response! Charleston team is glad to know you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We sincerely apologize for the wifi discrepancy in your room. We corrected the error and have ensured that wifi usage is convenient in all areas of our hotel. We look forward to servicing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at the Charleston Hotel Tesano in Accra for three days. The atmosphere was pleasant and welcoming. The accommodation and restaurant were comfortable, food was tasty and customer service was outstanding. Staff made great efforts to be helpful and courteous while the owner and her adult daughter were visible, engaged and hospitable. I recommend this hotel, which is almost like a country inn and would want to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliana K, Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We really do appreciate you taking time to review our Hotel . Our business objective is to make our customers feel at home and comfortable . It is fulfilling to know we are accomplishing that . Thank you and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
5.2 mi away
Mahogany Lodge
Mahogany Lodge
#7 of 92 in Accra
100 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crown Apartamento Hotel
Crown Apartamento Hotel
#34 of 92 in Accra
26 reviews
7.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
4.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Accra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Hotel Ghana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Hotel Ghana

Property: Charleston Hotel Ghana
Address: 17 West Loop Tesano, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 245 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Hotel Ghana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the metropolis residential area of Tesano, Accra. With our 26 upscale guestrooms and suites, our boutique hotel will allow you to submerge into an oasis of tranquility and relaxation. Discover contemporary furnishings and a sleek yet sophisticated style, perfect for the leisure and business traveler. You'll appreciate our scenic environment! If your looking for your 'home away from home',Charleston Hotel should definitely be your accommodation of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Charleston Hotel Ghana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing