We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad, but not for sleeping.”
Review of LUXE Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LUXE Suites
Ranked #52 of 273 Accra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel is ok, reception staff very friendly, and the owner as well (although he is not very privacy respecting). Room pretty neat. Having said this, the hotel is basically in the middle of nowhere and the Chinese restaurant next door is quite expensive (for Accra). Breakfast is basic and quite lame. Worst thing is the doors which are ridiculously noisy and seem to slam EVERY SINGLE TIME. It is impossible to sleep after any of the other guests has waken up. Add to this that the staff of the hotel starts to make noise early and draw your conclusions. Quite a pity because the hotel, being remote, could actually be a nice quiet change for African capitals.One last thing: do not use the taxis they call (there are no taxis passing in front of the remote street) as they ll rip you off (or try to). Get in touch with your own taxi driver and call him to pick you up. Then, if needed, let the personnel negotiate the price if that does not satisfy you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

I just spent 5 nights at the Luxe Suites and I have to admit it was difficult to leave. This was my first trip to Ghana and I literally fell in love with the staff at this hotel. They were so accommodating and went to great lengths to ensure that my friends and I were happy. The food was terrific, the rooms were more than comfortable, the location and security were phenomenal, and again, the staff made us feel as though we were family. When I return to Ghana (which I hope to soon), I will not even consider staying anywhere else. Thank you, Quami, Correta and the entire Luxe staff for a wonderful stay. TPL

Room Tip: My friends and I stayed in the two bedroom apartment in the rear of the property (across the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I were in Accra for a conference in June and were lucky enough to stay at the Luxe Suites. We found it online, searching for hotels near the Ghana College of Physicians and Surgeons. We booked the Presidential Suite through Expedia for what we thought was a fair price, and it truly was a great value. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from the airport. As it turns out, we were greeted at the airport by Kwame, the hotel's owner, who brought us to the hotel (and also got up very early in the morning to take us back when we left)!
Our room was huge. The bed was quite comfortable and the air conditioning very effective. The bathroom was a nice size with a large shower. The hot water heater takes some getting used to as far as timing, but once you figure out the system it works just fine. Plenty of hot water. Room was thoroughly cleaned every day.
Breakfast was included and was served in a small conference room off the main lobby. It wasn't fancy, but it was perfectly adequate and tasty.
The staff went out of their way to be attentive and thoughtful. There were a few minor glitches (nothing even worth noting) but they bent over backwards to address any issues and always went above and beyond when they could.
One word of caution: be wary of the taxi drivers who may try to overcharge you. Kwame (the owner) told us it should cost about 5 cedi each way to the conference center (about $2.50 each way). We have been in Ghana before and thought this was accurate. However, the taxi driver who came to the hotel attempted to charge us an outrageous amount of money -- 50 cedi EACH WAY (his name was Manford -- watch out for him). Lucky for us, we knew better and refused. We complained to the front desk about it (because they arranged for the taxi) and they seemed as shocked as we were and assured us they would speak to the driver.
One of the best things about this hotel is the restaurant right next door. It is a fabulous Asian restaurant (also owned by Kwame). Food was great and very reasonably priced. We ate dinner there every night! Kwame is also opening up a sports bar/continental restaurant adjoining the existing restaurant. Good move -- and I'm sure it will be just as great.
Kudos to Kwame: he owns several hotels in the area and we were impressed by his dedication to service and attention to detail. This man knows how to run a good business, and really cares about his customers and his reputation.
Bottom line: Luxe Suites is a great value. Good location. Comfortable, spacious rooms. An owner who really cares about customer service and will listen (and incorporate) your feedback. We will absolutely stay there when we return to Accra next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel seemed like it hasn't been updated since the 50's. it looks nothing like the online photos! The room was pretty clean and had running water, and a/c.
They took my credit card for a deposit but insisted on a cash payment. They offered breakfast but we were eager to hit the road. Over all it's ok for Ghana but there is probably nicer places for the price.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Psalm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUXEGroupAccra, Owner at LUXE Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Hello,

Thank You for staying at LUXE Suites. I am surprised that you felt the rooms were represented incorrectly on the internet. All of the pictures were taken at our hotel and are exact photos of our Executive rooms. There are no pictures on the internet that are not real photos of our hotel and it is a disappointment to hear someone is claiming that. We have not misrepresented our hotel in anyway, and we firmly refute that claim. Our hotel is less than two years old so unless it is the style of the rooms that is causing you to compare it to the 1950's then I also disagree with that. I chose the design myself, as an owner under 30 years old, I am pretty sure that is untrue. All of our rooms have furniture less than 2 years old, and Flat Screen televisions. Our hotel is among the most competitively priced hotels in the Cantonments area, but I am sure you can find cheaper hotels in Accra, but not in our area. We Thank You again for staying with us and hope you enjoyed your stay in Ghana.

Coretta A. Owusu
Executive Director, LUXE Group
JD Candidate, University of Pennsylvania Law School '14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at LUXE suites for our very last night in Ghana, and it did not disappoint. After staying in budget hotels for the past month we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and size of the room we got. We were also very happy to see that the room had air conditioning, hot water, and free wifi. Not only was the room great, but the staff was very helpful and friendly. They went above and beyond their duties, and were very accommodating. They allowed us a late checkout at no extra cost and also allowed us to keep our heavy luggage locked up while we spent the day in Accra waiting for our evening flight. We appreciated everything they did for us and would recommend this hotel to our friends and anyone staying in Accra.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed at Luxe Suites for a week during my stay in Accra, and I would definitely recommend this hotel as a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were beautiful and spacious and VERY clean. The service was excellent and the entire staff very accomodating. The complimentary breakfast every morning was also very good. The hotel itself is in a fairly quiet area, which was really nice, but it was also very easy to catch a cab from outside the hotel to get pretty much anywhere in a reasonable amount of time (airport, mall, city center, etc). The manager was also very kind and allowed us to stay in our room past the checkout time as I had a late flight out of Accra. I definitely plan to stay there again on all my future trips to Accra.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is the most awful hotel I've ever stayed. They gave the room, but did not mention they have construction of the building. So they give the rooms only on the first floor. First of all it seems that the walls are made from rice paper. Every sound is like in your room. For the double room they give only one breakfast, for the second person you must pay additional fee. First night we came back to the hotel quite late went to bed and suddenly found out that it's impossible to turn off the light, they gave us another room and we were to move all our belongings by ourselves, the duty reseptionist just looked at us and enjoyed the show. Second morning they began to drill the wall in our bathroom from outside. In the room there is no shampoo and soap. And all this you get "only " for 100$.

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Nataly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
8.4 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#13 of 90 in Accra
37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#66 of 90 in Accra
62 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 90 in Accra
226 reviews
2.3 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
4 mi away
Tribeca Hotel
Tribeca Hotel
#94 of 273 in Accra
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUXE Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUXE Suites

Address: 1 Switchback Lane, Accra 19103, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range: £56 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LUXE Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXE suites is a full service hotel designed for business travelers – offering member organizations low fixed rates. We offer travelers a place to feel at home located in close proximity to major corporate offices, Embassies, Governmental, and Non-Governmental organizations. We offer several options from simple nightly stays to full room and board with chauffeur service. Our rates can NOT be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LUXE Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing