We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel at premium prices.”
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Accra
Accra, Ghana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average hotel at premium prices.”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

First impressions are given as a classy 4* hotel.
Booked into a basic $320/night room, they are big, well designed and well finished.
The bathrooms are poorly finished and the 2 rooms that I stayed in/saw both had broken shower heads.
My first room had extremely slow wireless and very weak signal, so I was given an ethernet cable to solve the problem.
The next problem was that the port in the wall did not work, there is another port next to the bed but the cable will not reach across the room to the work desk.
I strongly complained and 90 mins later was in another room, with exactly the same problems but due to the lateness I told the receptionist that they could be sorted while I was at work the next day.
None of the problems were sorted.
So I tried to arrange a hotel move, maintenance arrived and fixed the shower but not the ethernet port, it seems as though they reported back to the duty manager that I was going to check out.
I was offered an upgrade and a guarantee that the internet would work better in new room and to give her 10 mins to sort it out.
30 mins later and they had found 2 rooms, they would check the wireless signal in each before they arranged to move me and would take 10-15 mins, 35 mins later I had to ring the reception find out what was going on.
5 mins later I was taken to my new room, a chalet near the pool area.
The chalets are pretty well set out with separate lounge and bedroom, again the bathroom was poorly finished and the shower head needed changing.
The wireless has a strong signal, but painfully slow at times with continuous disconnections.
The beds are so comfortable.
The pool area is fantastic, seems great for numerous parties sending a loud dull thud thud thud through the chalet until late most nights.
The buffet breakfast is better than some hotels in Accra but nothing compared to the thought of an American Buffet Breakfast.
The food has been excellent apart from the shrimp and avocado cocktail which is the 2nd worst thing I have ever eaten. (1st was a tomato sorbet in the Maldives)
The service is ok but no smiles.
I expected so much more from the fitness centre, 3 tread mills and 3 bikes, then a weights section that would put most gyms around the world to shame.
The forex bureau is big bonus.
But I just can not get past the internet and thud thud thud.
I have booked myself into another hotel from tomorrow night due to this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWAAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We regret we were unable to meet your expectations. Areas of concern raised have all since been addressed

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    193
    153
    43
    41
See reviews for
28
25
36
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Excellent room, seems like being in Europe: big, good bed, bathroom ok (nothing luxurious though for the price, could be better but we are in africa), TV flat screen.
Nice pool bar with good live concerts every evening starting from 6PM which is nice considering the hotel is far away from any kind of entertainment...
service is ok, very friendly, a bit slow. but it is Africa, not Germany.
at 5min from the airport which is convenient.
Only backside is that it is located on a highway road, nothing to see or do around except the bs stop small market...

Room Tip: i had room 124, new one apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapustefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted you loved our new rooms and friendly staff.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The building is less than spectacular, and much of it looks like a 1950s apartment block from outside. However, the reception area is large with a gigantic giraffe statue to welcome guests through the door! The room was comfortable, if not a little small. Very comfy bed, with extremely soft linen - which really made for a great nights sleep! The bathroom was modern, anad included some nice amenities - it's just a shame there's no bath tub. This is also the first time I've found complimentary sun tan lotion in my hotel room! A nice touch! Breakfast was included, which was very nice, apart from the disorganisation and waiting time at the egg counter..

All in all, an enjoyable stay - recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted you loved our new rooms and had a pleasant stay.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

There was much to like about the hotel -- the rooms were clean, the wifi worked, the breakfast selection met our needs, the public areas in the lobby and pool were quite comfortable. I found the staff to be most responsive. My colleague left his personal bag at the table after dinner, and when he returned two hours later it had been retrived and was safely in the hands of the security personal. The Golden Tulip is a fine location for a business stay. Finally, the location was convienent to the airport and one felt quite safe.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breeze_of_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel has good rooms including spacious bathrooms, nice linens etc. The poolside setting makes for a good place to have your breakfast (good buffet spread) but overall the customer service is so bad that I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sujata410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We regret we were unable to provide you with a pleasurable experience. We assure you the area of concern has since been addressed.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Golden Tulip Accra is a beautiful hotel with all amenities. Good rooms, internet, swimming pool, etc. The breakfast spread is quite good. There's a welcoming committee of local dancers. The lobby is spacious. In the evening you can go to the pool side for evening drinks and snacks. The hotel has a small but well equipped business centre. For a business travel it is a good hotel to choose. Having said that I must add that it's designed more like a resort than a business hotel. So should be a good choice even for vacations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundeep1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your positive comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagos
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

.Since we live locally we ate here a great many times loved the food and the ambience is good too. a bit on the expensive side but very enjoyable none the less!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonaijanowahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and ambience of the restaurant.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 93 in Accra
592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Property: Golden Tulip Accra
Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing