We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHOOPS!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
175 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“WHOOPS!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Returning to my room at 5 PM, I found the A-C had been set to 21 degrees. There was no remote control. I phoned housekeeping, and a technician was there in 10 minutes, adjusting the temperature, but with no explanation for the missing remote. Also, most of the cable channels had gone missing from the TV, and I was stuck with soccer, CNN and BBC.

Last but not least, you have to retype your username and password every time you reboot your computer. Another annoyance.

Breakfast was excellent; conference facilities OK.

For $263 per night, UN negotiated fee, I expected better.

Room Tip: Tennis players and swimmers should ask for rooms near the court/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your comments which helps us improve on our service.

We have noted your concerns and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our service provider for the cable channels experienced technical challenges which affected the channels. However, the technical challenges have been resolved and all the TV channels are back in operation. Furthermore, the remote control has also been replaced.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again.

Once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    183
    143
    42
    38
See reviews for
25
22
33
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

it was too bad. After reading a few reviews in here I wasn't really looking forward to staying in this hotel but, I had a good sleep, the room was large enough. shower was good, although not very powerful. All areas were clean, checked in quickly. Pool area was nice. the little food I had with my colleagues (pool snacks)was nice.
Hotel is 5-10mins away from airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Neil,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your positive comments which, encourages us to offer our best.

We do take our guest reviews seriously as the feedback is used to constantly improve our services in order to provide a pleasurable experience for guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

From what I heard of Accra hotels, Golden Tulip and particularly it's breakfast/dinner buffet are well regarded. And to be fair there is a lot to like about the hotel - the buffet is decent, the pool is very nice and the pool bar staff smiley and helpful and generally it is a big well equipped machine that can cater to most needs. Rooms are a game of two halves - ask for the non smoking, newly refurbished ones preferably looking at the pool. The alternatives are miserable. Staff is helpful and tries but for most of the time just seems a bit overwhelmed. The huge lobby is a thoroughfare that appears to serve a number of purposes and none too well. The gym is tiny and time managed. So in summary nice try but I would not go back in a hurry. And it's not cheap..

Room Tip: Non smoking, 1/2 level looking at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Sasha,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and taking time to share your experience.

We very much appreciate your comments which, encourages us to continue offering our best.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed our full American breakfast and dinner buffets and the warm hospitality of our friendly staff.

We will continue to improve on our offerings to offer value to you our guests.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again.


With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed here October 2013 during business visit.
Lobby looks nice. It is somewhat bothering at the reception is "divided" with a pillar - so not really sure which side to queue!
Terrible check-in clerk. Rude, incompetent and not "present". I will not go into details, as I experienced it more as a "person" issue than a general staff issue, as I had many other pleasant encounters with the reception staff.
I was in a need of an adaptor for the powersocket, but they were out. They would call when one was available, but never did during my 3 days stay! (bought one on day 2 myself, but never informed them about not needing it anymore). A shame, they should have a proceedure for getting back to customers, even if no news!
Hotel seemed outdated, but rooms were good. Ironing board, safe deposit box, clean bathroom, clean rooms. Not the biggest, but normal.

I am not too hooked on the breakfast buffet (although perfectly fine), but really enjoyed the lunch buffet.
If you have an interest in swimming and the lenght of the pool, I was informed that it is 24m long!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Stoffert,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments which, encourages us to know your concerns to enable us address them.

We sincerely apologize for the unprofessional attitude of our check-in staff on your arrival. This is not our standard and we are happy to note that you had pleasant encounters with other reception staff.

We do have a procedure in place at the front desk to give feedback to guests within 24hrs of their lodging requests. However, we will ensure procedures are followed by staff.

We value your patronage and assure you of a pleasurable experience on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My first visit to Ghana and the location of the hotel was a genuine plus being so close to the airport. I later discovered that this hotel is the choice of most airlines to put their cabin crew up at, so if no one gets up to dance on live music evenings, you now know why !

The price is way over the top for what the hotel is and this is the only experience I have ever had where you have to pay in stages. On arrival we paid for three days then had a note shoved under the door saying that our "credit had been exceeded and please contact the main desk" where we had to pay for another three days and then on departure we paid for the final two. Quite what this was all about I don't know. The biggest mess occurred when we got back to London and found out that we had been charged three times for the last payment ( a staff error by putting the credit card through three times) it took a lot of hassle to get this refunded.

My main complaints were the overpricing and the general haphazardness, but also there were obviously "ladies of the night" operating on the premises ( a lot of expat skilled workers stay here) and some of the staff told us they lived on tips alone which later turned out to be false.

In a nutshell, it's not a bad place to stay if you can ignore the shortcomings, but I wouldn't choose to go back.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments which, helps us know your concerns to enable us address them and better serve you.

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our check-in procedures requires guests to pay fully on arrival for the number of nights of their stay. Where stays are extended guests will be requested to pay for the extended stays. If you confirmed your departure date on check-in, then our staff should have requested payment for the full stay.

We would appreciate it if you could provide us with more details of your stay to enable us investigate the issues raised in order to address them to forestall future occurrence. Please send the information to: sales@goldentulipaccrahotel.com

We value your patronage and would like to be given the opportunity to give you a pleasurable experience on your next visit to our hotel.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused.


With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra


Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Accra hotels

Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel has been through a major renovation, which was a good idea. Now the hotel seems modern, the rooms clean and the staff very friendly. The food is very good and especially the breakfast is excellent. The music is not as noisy as usual and it was a delight to spend 10 days at the place.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the backyard, unless you enjoy live music every evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnailNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We very much appreciate your positive comments which, encourages us to continue offering our best.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed our elaborate full American breakfast and the warm hospitality of our friendly staff.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again.


With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Lovely hotel, great a bit overpriced but every time my husband stays there an item of his gets stolen. Once it was his pyjamas, another trip, his slippers and this trip a shirt given to be dry cleaned.

Sad but I have advised him not to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments which, helps us know your concerns in order to address them.

We sincerely apologize for the concerns you raised and will be conducting thorough investigations into the issue. Could you please provide more details about your husband’s recent stay, i.e. his full name, the period of his stay, his room number etc. Kindly email the details to me at: sales@goldentulipaccrahotel.com

Thank you.


Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 95 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
1.1 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#4 of 95 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.5 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Property: Golden Tulip Accra
Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing