We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sterile”
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sterile”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here on and off for the best part of 20 years since it opened, and as it is mostly still the same, my overriding comment is that its boring.. Rooms are comfortable if getting a little tired. Food is good though, and the pool is welcome after a hot day in Accra. Worst of all is the piped Muzak which can be awful at most times of the day. The bands that perform can be hit and miss. If you're visiting Africa you would probably want to hear some authentic African music, not cheesy western cover versions. Best thing is that the chef would usually prepare a special room service meal for me of steak, jollof rice and palaver sauce !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChubbysHiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We appreciate your comments which helps us to know your concerns in order for us to address them and better serve you.

We have taken note of your suggestions and will incorporate authentic African music in our repertoire of music.

We assure you of a pleasurable stay on your next visit and look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    187
    150
    42
    40
See reviews for
26
25
35
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Remembering where you are, Golden Tulip is still a good choice - bearing in mind that you will be faced with typical challenges that Ghana is subject too - like you room not being ready & its 6pm.. Having an extra paid guest in the room but no blankets, towels or pillows to accommodate (& to acquire these items is no short of a mission!) Poor internet, random outings of power & so on, I still enjoyed my stay. The rooms were comfortable, the restaurant was great, the bar was great & we even stumbled on a full blown disco (happens every last Friday of the month) which I thought was great too!
All in all, this place was great - remembering where you are!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boydalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have taken note of your little concerns and assure you of addressing them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I had a few issues on one of the previous stays at the hotel and swore we'd never stay there again. However, one night my son's flight back to the States was delayed til 4am and we knew getting a taxi at that hour would be impossible from our house in East Legon so we wanted to stay close to the airport. Holiday Inn was full so we had no choice but to check with Golden Tulip. My husband was attended to by the manager who put us in one of the Chalets. He was very attentive and addressed some of our previous concerns with my husband and assured him that improvements were made and rectified. Our room was very nice, beautiful view of the grounds, comfortable bed and cold AC. A little pricey but compared to hotels charging the same amount, this one is far better. Food in the Branche Restaurant is the best in Accra...just wish we had spent more than one night in that room!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking time again to share your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased you had a positive experience and a pleasurable stay with us this time around.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.


With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Accra hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Been here many many times since 2005. Previously been reasonably happy with most of the basic business visit necessities. This time however the wifi is pathetic and essentially unusable. The room and passageway key-card readers also do no function as one would expect and required several returns to Reception to reprogram. Another disturbing issue is that your waitron allegedly does not receive any tip you may choose to add to the meal bill. Guess this just ends up I'm management's pocket instead. Not exactly fair practice on my opinion.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank chescat1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your comments, which help us to know your concerns in order to address them and better serve you.

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations.

During the period of your stay, our internet service provider had some challenges which made internet unstable. We are currently working on a backup ISP so that when the main ISP of our provider goes down we would depend on the backup ISP to ensure uninterrupted internet service to our guests.

For your information, guests tips included in meal bills are paid to waiters at the end of each month.

Furthermore we are in the process of upgrading our room key-cards to enhance access to rooms.

We assure you of a pleasurable stay on your next visit and look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotonou, Benin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. I slept in on of the renovated rooms which are really nicely redecorated. The service at the reception is really up to standards. Having breakfast in the morning on the terrace near the pool is really very agreable. One of the best hotels I stayed in the Westafrican region.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor in the main building, with a view on the tenniscourts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosvanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra



Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

In general - good stay for our biz trip (really close to airport with free shuttle from and to). The room was pretty basic and feels a bit old. But the place is relaxed, water is clean, restaurant food is ok. Chef at the breakfast made my day with a few jokes :) (in a positive way)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renatmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased our Breakfast Chef made your day.

We look forward to welcoming you again.


With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Like many reviewers this was the first time that I had an opportunity to stay at this hotel in Ghana. I was very impressed on a number of matters. Firstly, even though the hotel is only 10 minutes or so from the international airport and is situated in a busy part of the town, sleep was completely uninterrupted. So good when you have a busy day of business coming up. Staff were very welcoming and friendly and can't remember anyone having an upset face! The food was of a very good standard, both at breakfast as well as at lunch. What particularly impressed was the wide choice of food at the buffet lunch. Whether local fish or meat dishes - all were nicely prepared and hot! The outside pool area was a very relaxing area to chill out after a day of business. With the local band playing a medley of catchy tunes, the palm trees slowly swaying and the sun dipping down over the horizon you think you could just be sitting in the Caribbean. Add to this the opportunities to play a couple of sets of tennis with the local pro or working out in the gym then the hotel had something for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive comments and are pleased we made your stay pleasurable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.


With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Property: Golden Tulip Accra
Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing