We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Most”
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It might not be the absolute height of luxuary but relative to most of the other places I stayed in in Ghana it was very good. The service isnt great but its convinient as a launching spot for the rest of the country and has a decent vibe...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearphilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We appreciate your comments and it would have been helpful if you had provided us with the specific service that was not up to your expectation.

Nevertheless, we assure you of a pleasurable experience on your next visit to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is near the airport and also not far from the shopping malls in Accra. Facilities are good and the rooms are big with a good connectivity. You can go around the swimming pool and watch a band perform in live in the evening. The restaurant offer a variety of food where most traveller can be satisfied.
At times room keys can't open the doors of the rows and this is frustrating.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Kanigui Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your positive comments.

For your information we will be upgrading our key card system soon to enhance easy access to rooms.

We assure you of a pleasurable experience on your next visit to our hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Check in time 3.00pm, till 6.30pm we weren't able check in as reception took an hour to communicate with house keeping to find out status. After which, the staff at reception change, so the new one is not aware what's going on, and then again to explain. After which receptionist finding our booking for 30mins, when we complain to duty manager, he pretends to know what's going on and claims room is being cleaned pls wait after which we shall allocate a room, though receptionist already gave the room keys to us. Manager realising he has been caught up as to not knowing what's going on disappears. When finally getting into the room, given one bottle of 500ml water between 3 persons to share. After which go for a shower, no hot water. When we complain, We are told, sorry forgot to switch on the hot water switch, hot water shall be ready on morning, it's a small issue to them. Till now no apologies.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishaal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations.

We have taken note of your concerns and are having them addressed to forestall future occurrence.

Our rooms accommodate a maximum of two persons and not three persons and if double occupancy is booked, two bottles of 500ml each is put in the room daily.

We assure you of providing a pleasurable experience on your next visit to our hotel.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As noted by other reviewers, "decent" hotels in Accra are expensive for what you get. On the positive side, it is cheaper and more buzzy/atmospheric than the Moevenpick, plus very convenient for the airport. On the negative side, the service levels can best be described as adequate and some of the rooms are a long walk away down a dark corridor with a view of the car park. Overall, I quite liked it, but would not be in a hurry to return!

Room Tip: Ask what it's situation / view is
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MrnMrsBales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Bales,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your comments which helps us improve our services.

We assure you of providing a pleasurable experience on your next visit to our hotel.


With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

On my trips to Ghana I always have to make stop over in Accra and I do book pending on the price. In general standard hotels are (very) expensive around airport and Golden Tulip is no exception. Stayed for 1 night because a special deal could be booked (still about 200 USD!) via internet and upon arrival it was obvious hotel was not fully booked. Compared to my last visit to this hotel (about 2 years ago), all was still same and staff is very friendly, food and breakfast was still as expected. Rooms are very well maintained (I have seen it differently at Holiday Inn or Best Western) and clean. Airport shuttle was fast (about 10 minutes In morning traffic). So no complaints and do recommend this hotel but you need to be willing to take out the cash!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Bart,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra


Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is an expensive four star property the nicest part about which is the pool and the surrounding areas with palm trees. I was first given a room in the basement floor with no sunlight and asked for the management to change my room. I was eventually given a room with a connecting door in the second block with a lovely view of the pool. The room had all amenities except for an ironing board and a mini bar (the fridge is there but you need to ask for the stock). The bed was extremely dirty - had hair all over it and I had to ask housekeeping to re-clean the room. The room walls are paper thin - you can hear all conversations in connecting rooms or even the TV if it is loud. The shower does not have hot water but rather warm water. Sometimes the housekeeping forgot to put towels. I found the service very spotty also at the restaurant where some days food ordered took more than an hour. The buffet is definitely quicker. But in both vegetarian options are very limited - the pizza and hummus and pita servings were delicious. Accessing the rooms in the block next to the hotel shops is very difficult as the access keys never worked and I had to walk back to the lobby to ask for help. The hotel should change the access machine ASAP. The hotel is definitely not worth what the price is for.

Room Tip: If you select a room overlooking the pool, it may get noisy in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaviDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We have taken note of your concerns and assure you that they are being addressed.

For your information, our connecting rooms are specifically designed for families (i.e. children in room next to parents). Thus, are not noise free. However, all other rooms are noise free and our reception staff should have given you one of these rooms.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We would like to be given the opportunity to offer you a more positive experience on your next visit to our hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra


Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I visited the Golden Tulip in Accra whilst I had some time to kill before my flight home. The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the Airport and also minutes walking distance from a market, should you wish to purchase some local Ghana crafts/tourist 'stuff'.

On entering the hotel what strikes you immediately is the opulence of the place, it is beautiful. I made my way through the hotel, past the reception, down the stairs, past the grand piano and through the restaurant/lounge and to the pool area. I paid 40cds to use the pool, get a towel and a sun lounger and I stayed for almost 6 hours.

Waiters were on hand for ordering lunch/dinner/snacks as well as drinks (quite an expansive cocktail menu) - - they even assembled a small television through a PA so I could keep tabs on the World Cup.

I ordered a Texan double beef burger with cheese and chips for my main meal - after surviving on rice and beans in northern Ghana for the past 2 weeks I can safely say this hit the spot.
A really relaxing and enjoyable short stay. If I am back in Accra it would be somewhere I would perhaps think to base myself.

One thing I did notice about the place was that it was full of business men types having informal meetings etc. Note too there are also local tradesmen who may approach you on site to sell you paintings, jewellery etc. Not sure if this is strictly allowed in the hotel, but I spoke with one chap who showed me his paintings and ended up buying a really nice piece.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Martin,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments and are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us.

For your information other facilities we have on site are: an Arts Gallery which sells authentic Ghanaian and African artworks and artifacts; Jewelry shop and Gift Shop.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra


Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 90 in Accra
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 90 in Accra
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range: £159 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing