We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a business traveler”
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Accra
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good place for a business traveler”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights when I was in Accra for work. It is clean, has a great variety of amenities (swimming pool, gym, room service) and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I thought the breakfast buffet was delicious, and enjoyed a glass of wine by the pool in the evenings. The WiFi worked well for me when I was there, I was able to get online easily from my room, by the pool, and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieKilimanjaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollimoh, General Manager at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Kivulini,

We appreciate your making time to review our hotel.

Providing excellent service for our guests is our ultimate goal. Your express appreciation further serve as a good drive and encouragement to deliver quality service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    193
    153
    43
    41
See reviews for
28
25
36
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Staff is very friendly and prompt to your needs. The buffet lunch/dinner is wonderful. Every night there is a different theme to the buffet and some of them have live bands, and even a classical pianist who will play all night long for you. The most important thing is never to forget that you are in west Africa. The facilities in the hotel are good. They provide many things that other western hotels don't such as hairdresser, minimart, gift shop, travel agent, etc. the swimming pool is great and big. The pool bar is good for a drink and chill around. For smokers, there is a private smoking room next to the pool area as smoking is not allowed in the public areas. As mentioned in the previous comments, the internet is a mess. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. For my business trip i needed it a lot which have caused a problem. For tourists, i think you'll be okay. Anyway you'll be very busy exploring the city. Taxi's don't have meters so you need to bargain the price (ex: 10-15min drive should not exceed 10 Cidi). There are two markets around the hotel: a fruits and vegetables market on the right and a souvenir market on the left, both are a 3-4min walk. You should only pay 30-40% of the initial price they ask of you. As in all hotel double check your bill before you leave for some hidden surprises. Accra is a safe city and friendly people. Everyone is smiling. Just ask before taking pictures of the ladies in the street carrying things on top their heads. Have fun in Accra

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jorj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollimoh, General Manager at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Jorj,

Thank you for making time to review our hotel.

We are glad to know you enjoyed our services and looking forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel has totally ignored the rulings of the country to not charged their patrons in USD, which is still going on. This is strickly against Ghana's policy and is appalling that they are showing such disregard for their own government. If you're running a business in any country, they will charge you in their own currency. In Ghana, they do as they please just to rip you off. You are a disgrace to those business that are trying to get Ghana on their feet. Management does not respond to the pertinent problems in their hotel, just what they feel they can cope with. Not enough for the different complaints that have been raised, and there have been a lot of it going on without management doing something about it. Quit charging your customers in their country's currency, you don't belong or are part of the different countries that are visiting your hotel. You are in Ghana, live and charge with CEDIS CURRENCY, not the visiting countries. You are creating a bad name for your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

Golden Tulip Accra is a reputable Corporate company that strictly complies with the laws of Ghana. Hotels in Ghana in the past were authorized to quote room and other room related charges in US Dollars. However, in February, 2014 the Ghana Government issued new foreign exchange guidelines which required all companies to quote and receive payments only in the local currency, Ghana Cedis. Therefore, our hotel revised its room rates and quoted and accepted only the local currency, Ghana Cedis in line with the directives. Please note that Food and Beverage have always been quoted in the local Currency (Ghana Cedis).

In June, 2014 the Ghana Government reviewed and amended the February, 2014 foreign exchange guidelines and authorized hotels and other institutions which generate foreign exchange to quote in US Dollars. Our hotel thus reverted to quoting our room and related room charges in U.S. Dollars in June, 2014 accordingly. However, guests can pay in the Ghana Cedi equivalent or any currency of the guest’s choice.
.
The above are the facts regarding Ghana Government’s Foreign Exchange Policy and our hotel’s compliance with the Policy.

We regret that you impugn the integrity and reputation of our hotel without any basis.

We trust that the above stated facts sufficiently informs you about how our hotel operates and complies with the laws of Ghana.

The management of Golden Tulip Accra always takes steps to address guests’ concerns brought to our attention, because we value our guests.

Finally, for your information, we will be upgrading our internet system soon to enhance speed and delivery.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra



Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Accra hotels

Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly hotel staff, clean environment, affordable prices. It is a really resort hotel. Pool side activities and on top of that, they have free tennis classes. so if you are visiting Accra Golden Tulip, make sure to bring your tennis bag along with you, the trainers are great and all you have to do is to tip them.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tafart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your positive comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you're comfortable with unresponsive staff and generally subpar service, this hotel will work well for you.

This is an exercise in false advertising on many levels. Wifi is anything but fast, that is if it works.

Don't be surprised if your in-room phone doesn't work sometimes and some of the buttons to key services are not responsive.

The showers are poorly designed, the water pressure is not consistent. There are moldy bathrooms. Air vents are annoyingly loud.

You'll get the around from staff primarily because only a few of them have real power to do anything.

Room access cards frequently don't work. You'll have to go back and forth to the front desk to have the card reactivated. And when you do, the closest staff you to to will invariably ask you to go to the staff at the other end of the front desk.

It seems this hotel is primarily supported by contracts with airline crew who stay frequently. I'm not airline crew, but I've been staying here for close to 3 weeks with 2 more weeks to go. Why such a long stay at a crappy hotel?

Because someone else reviewed photos of the hotel and picked it because it promised everything but what it actually delivered. It's prepaid and these guys will probably hold on to the payment for much longer if I move to another hotel.

And frankly, I've come to sadly expect the frustrations that come with staying here. It's really sad when a well-situated hotel just can't get the basics right. It shows a deep & disappointing lack of respect and empathy for guests who stay here.

The other day, there was a guest at the front desk pounding the table out of frustration over an issue with the wifi. If you're looking for a hassle free stay, look elsewhere.

The photos and copy on the website might will promise you the world, but your actual experience will fall way short of your expectations.

Perhaps, this hotel is great for one thing. If you're practicing zen or some such way of life, this might be a great place to test your ability to let this just pass without complaining too much.


But if you're looking for value for money, please do yourself a favor and find some other place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 78Degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations. We have taken note of your concerns and are addressing the issues raised.

We had serious challenges with our telephone and internet during the week of your review that have now been remedied. Nevertheless, we will be upgrading the telephone and internet systems soon.

For your information, we are currently in the process of replacing our room key card system with an upgraded system to ensure easy access. Training of our service staff and enforcement of our Standard Operating Procedures is also ongoing to improve service delivery.

We assure you of a positive experience during the rest of your stay with us.

Once again, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I lived in Accra for a long time and my family always went to Golden Tulip for their dinner buffette. It is definitely worth a try if you are in town. The atmosphere is great and service is always superb. It is a taste of "the West" in Ghana.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yunzi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive comments about our dinner buffets. For your information you can enjoy the following theme buffets aimed at providing variety to our guests.

Tuesdays - French Night
Wednesdays - Arabic Night
Thursdays - Carvery Night
Fridays - Seafood Grill
Saturdays - Asian Night
Sundays - Family Brunch

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It might not be the absolute height of luxuary but relative to most of the other places I stayed in in Ghana it was very good. The service isnt great but its convinient as a launching spot for the rest of the country and has a decent vibe...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearphilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We appreciate your comments and it would have been helpful if you had provided us with the specific service that was not up to your expectation.

Nevertheless, we assure you of a pleasurable experience on your next visit to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 93 in Accra
592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Property: Golden Tulip Accra
Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing