We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great staff but too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Good staff, good food (esp the African themed restaurant out at the back of the hotel).
When I was there December 2006, the pool was being renovated so never got a chance to use it..
The rooms were ok, just ok. The price was a bit steep compared to the quality.
The beach was fenced off, I guess because of the filth and maybe security.
Overall I would recommend this hotel but if you can get a cheaper one with better standards then go for it.
Honestly for a hotel charging US$150 per night, I would have expected more.
Did not like that the smoking areas were so near the rooms.
The BEST thing i guess was that the staff were very helpful, even helped us buy sim cards and credit for our phones.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

Staff was pleasant, breakfast was good, and rooms were spacious, but quality was not up to price. Overlooks the ocean, but beach is dirty and fenced off and you can't even walk there, and no views. Had problems with prostitutes at the pool. Moved out to a cheaper pace nearer my work.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nudibranch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I travelled to Ghana on business and stayed at La Palm for 4 days. I felt that the hotel was over priced and did not live up to my expectations as the overall finish in the rooms was poor. That said i felt that the staff were friendly and went the extra mile to try and accommodate us. My bathroom was dusty and in certain places quite dirty and my colleagues' sheets on his bed were stained. We also encountered problems with the swipe card system for one of the rooms. On my second night there the big mirror came clean out of the wall ( plaster and all) I am glad that i was not in the room when it fell as it was quite big and required 2 men to carry it out - but also showered the floor with splinters of glass. It took four members of staff to clean up the mess. Overall it was not a terrible experience however it was too costly for what it was. Next time I will stay at the Labadi Beach hotel ( where we had dinner one evening) as it seemed more modern and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hatari1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The Palm is a great place, but whether it drives you mad or not is all about expectations. It looks (and costs) like a top quality, hotel but in fact the cracks are starting to show.
Nevertheless, if you are prepared to take a relaxed approach to the frequently poor service, the variety of restaurants and the great location and pool means it is still a good place to stay in Accra. There are also a few notable exceptions to the bad service, and the Ghanaian people are lovely - so take time to understand the culture and its easier.
Slow slow service regardless of where you are in the hotel.
Be prepared to wait.
Location is excellent and a casino next door if you fancy a flutter.
Food was excellent both in the bar and restaurant.
If you are there on business like I was, then it is central for a lot of the business areas and offices downtown. If its oil companies you are meeting then get yourself into one of the airport hotels, unless like me you want to avoid the chain hotels and get some real Ghanian culture.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I would have loved to write about my other unique experience in some countries i visited this year but this recent one at the La Palm hotel was an interesting experience for me. It was the yearly Africa Security watch awards,where distinguish sons and daughters of Africa are celebrated for their efforts in the field of security,and i happen to be one of the compere. I arrived Accra Ghana 17th October 2012, for the 2 day event. As the event kicked off on the 18th at some point i decided to go round the hotel for the 4 day i stayed in Ghana but was shocked to see several events going on at the same time in the different halls and function rooms the hotel had to offer, i have never seen an hotel this busy yet everything seem so calm and normal, you would have thought it was a carnival going on yet very peaceful that guest were not denied their fun,the pool side was fun spot for many of the foreign guest that i felt like going for a swim while i was doing my job, an interesting sight it was for me. The staff are very warm and friendly, they are ever on hand to help, to assist with any information, their friendly nature is a true reflection of the Ghanian society as i observed on my visit to other spots. The hotel gives you the impression that all is well in Ghana, and that is absolutely true, its a safe haven for tourist and business. I enjoyed the food and the safe environment,for someone who love prompt service and attention La palm is the place to be any day. Finally i must commend the management for the different function rooms and their ability to manage different events at the same time and yet make lodgers feel very much at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shinasmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The reviews were not very encouraging but we decided to try this hotel anyway. We had a good stay except for a few small things which are quite common for hotels in Ghana as we had just spent a few nights in another hotel. The rooms were okay, nothing special but the hotel grounds especially the pool area are particularly great. Service was great, reception were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, enjoyed the variety. The service at the pool area was also on point. We were allowed early check in and late check out on request.

The hotel location is good in Labadi area, not too far from the airport and along the beach, however, its fenced off with a small gate to the beach as its a public beach where you find locals selling some wares or fishing, being a public beach its not too clean, but one can swim or take a walk .......(if you really want a private beach, then Labadi Hotel is preferable as it has a beach area for residents only)...

At $300 per night, this like many other hotels in Ghana, can pay a lot more attention to detail. The bathroom floor got wet when one took a shower and there was nothing one could do. The shampoo and bath gel were not replaced even after they were finished. Also, one had to ask for extra towels.The balcony door did not open and I expected some seats on the balcony for when one wanted to sit out there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wema34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

La Palm is a beautiful Hotel, set in acres of gardens, edging onto a golden sandy beach that looks out into the Gulf of Guinea. It is peaceful respite from the bustle of the town. I have been coming here for years and thoroughly recommend it.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, from the gardeners to the managers, you are assured of a friendly smile. The rooms are excellent as is the service and a refurbishment is currently underway.

The pool area is outstanding and the Wi-Fi coverage is so good here that you can work in comfort from your poolside office lounger. If you need to relax further, there is a restaurant overlooking the beach where you can enjoy a sundowner.

I have noticed over the years that the weather on this stretch of the coast can be different from a few miles in land. On the coast it can be bright sunshine, whereas in the city it can be cloudy and raining. A point to note if you like tanning.

There is also a modern gym that is essential to work off what must be one of the best breakfasts in Africa (or anywhere else come to that).

It is a mark of La Palm’s attention to detail that they noticed from my check in information that my birthday was during my stay. Bless them, they made me a cake. Now that level of care takes some beating.

Ghana is a great country!

Room Tip: Book well in advance and talk to the reservations directly. Rooms in 15 corridor are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikailW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.4 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#3 of 90 in Accra
638 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
4.6 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
3.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
3.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#17 of 90 in Accra
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel

Address: No. 1 Bypass | PO Box OS 3000, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range: £114 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale deluxe hotel on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean, offering 152 rooms and suites all with balconies and fabulous ocean or garden views. A choice of 7 restaurants and bars, state of the art conference and banquet facilities and close proximity to the airport, the Central Business District, Embassies, shopping malls and the main tourist attractions including Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel Accra has a world-class casino, 3 outdoor pools,a health club with Life Fitness equipment. Complimentary wireless Internet is available everywhere in the hotel. Business amenities at this 4-star deluxe property include a business center, 9 meeting rooms and banquet venues and ocean-front lawns for those special occasions. Full buffet breakfast is complimentary. Guests have access to complimentary roundtrip airport shuttle. Guest parking is complimentary. The staff can arrange tour/ticket assistance, wedding services and business services.Car rental services. Additional amenities include a no-smoking rooms, concierge desk, multilingual staff , event catering, beach access and a kids playground.The 152 air-conditioned guestrooms at La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel include IPod docks and laptop-compatible safes. Rooms open to balconies with ocean or lush garden views. Televisions are equipped with premium satellite channels with free movie channels. All accommodations provide desks, safes, direct-dial phones, irons/ironing boards upon request. Suites have microwaves, crockery, utensils and full-size refrigerators. Complimentary wireless Internet access is provided. Beds have pillow-top mattress, duvets and king-size pillows. In-room minibars (stock upon request) and coffee/tea makers are provided. Bathrooms offer bathtubs with handheld power showerheads, double sinks. Additional suite amenities include complimentary newspapers, slippers and bathrobes. In addition, a turndown service is offered nightly, housekeeping is available daily, and amenities available on request include in-room massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palm Royal Beach
La Palm Royal Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing