We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The reception was fantastic on our arrival. The staff were really helpful and allowed us an early check in. A bit expensive like most other quality hotels in Africa but totally worth it. Our room was huge and spacious with a beautiful seaside view. Breakfast could have been a bit better to be honest. Also the gate linking the hotel guests to the beach shut at 6pm, sometimes before which I found a bit annoying. Would my husband and I stay here again? Most certainly! The bathroom as well was v v v lovely and spacious, clean as well.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteNeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    95
    74
    43
    14
See reviews for
25
29
20
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is next to the sea and gives you a good view if you can make the effort to come out of your villa. Food is nice and could do with a little update. The room is average and comfortable. On weekends, they have a live band at the outside dining place and it's good. Nice and helpful staff. I like it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have not stayed here overnight so cannot comment on the rooms but have been here for brunch and for an evening meal. The evening meal was Japanese, teppanyaki, and was very nice but expensive. The brunch was average with a limited range of food, and the restaurant inside is a little out of date. The outside bar is lovely with nice views of the ocean and the pool is nice but gets crowded at weekends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graciej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapalm, General Manager at La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us about your experiences with our food & beverage outlets. We try to stay competitive with our menu items and prices and are sorry we couldn't meet all your needs. We hope to do better by your next visit as we use your comments to do better.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Do not believe anything that states this is a 5 star hotel. At best a 3 star and that would only be on a good day. The two hour wait to get our room, two of us with only one bath towel, works going on that made it like a bomb site with no protective measures taken. I will not go on but can confirm that as a regular visitor to Accra I will not be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dijo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapalm, General Manager at La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our 4-star hotel. I am sorry I couldn't meet with you while you were here. Please can I ask that you contact me so I can address your concerns further.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Accra hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lausanne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

the hotel is located in a very pleasant area of accra, right on the atlantic coast. The way the hotel is built gives you a feel of being in Africa, with a number of rooms coupled into a hut. The bed is extremly comfortable.

What i enjoyed the most about the hotel is that it feels local, and luxurious, I traveled to Africa to experience Ghanian hospitality, and i got that right here. The front office staff were very helpful whenever i needed directions, ideas, etc. A true comfortable african hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the "huts", I do not know what the other rooms are like, but enjoyed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapalm, General Manager at La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thanks you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you once again to our hotel on your next visit to Accra.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Rooms desperately need renovation. Old and stained porcelain and I hadn't seen a TV with a butt in a hotel since lord knows when but what do you know, this hotel j's till has them.

Hate to be hash because some of the staff were just amazingly sweet but by and large major training is necessary. Check in was a nightmare!!! Very manual and slow and yet they have like 5 staff behind the desk!

There is never anyone at any of the service lines! Ever! Best to call operator who will likely pick up after 6 or 7 rings to then try and connect you to housekeeping or rooms revive whatever only for you to be told -- no one is answering:)

The worst and this is something they need to seriously look into or the business clientele will run off but FIX YOUR WIFI!!!! It's ridiculous!!! Slow as molasses, intermittent, incredibly annoying. And already the hotel is not particularly conveniently located (save for debris filled beach lovers) so if you want to get business folks, fix the wifi!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapalm, General Manager at La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for your unpleasant experiences while staying with us. At present we have shut down those rooms you stayed in as part of an ongoing refurbishment. We are also working to better the complimentary WIFI services we provide and hope that if you return to Accra, you will come and visit to see the new things we are doing at our hotel.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

What a warm and welcoming reception! Staff at this conveniently located hotel couldn't do any more to welcome you when you first walk in.

The hotel is luxurious and has a glamourous feel to it. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. Food is also top notch.

The staff certainly do their best to ensure you enjoy your stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freda4004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapalm, General Manager at La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Freda4004,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are happy that you wrote about your experiences and would love to host you once again whenever you are in Accra. Please contact me directly prior to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.4 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
4.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
3.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
3.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#19 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel

Property: La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Address: No. 1 Bypass | PO Box OS 3000, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#9 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale deluxe hotel on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean, offering 152 rooms and suites all with balconies and fabulous ocean or garden views. A choice of 7 restaurants and bars, state of the art conference and banquet facilities and close proximity to the airport, the Central Business District, Embassies, shopping malls and the main tourist attractions including Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel Accra has a world-class casino, 3 outdoor pools,a health club with Life Fitness equipment. Complimentary wireless Internet is available everywhere in the hotel. Business amenities at this 4-star deluxe property include a business center, 9 meeting rooms and banquet venues and ocean-front lawns for those special occasions. Full buffet breakfast is complimentary. Guests have access to complimentary roundtrip airport shuttle. Guest parking is complimentary. The staff can arrange tour/ticket assistance, wedding services and business services.Car rental services. Additional amenities include a no-smoking rooms, concierge desk, multilingual staff , event catering, beach access and a kids playground.The 152 air-conditioned guestrooms at La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel include IPod docks and laptop-compatible safes. Rooms open to balconies with ocean or lush garden views. Televisions are equipped with premium satellite channels with free movie channels. All accommodations provide desks, safes, direct-dial phones, irons/ironing boards upon request. Suites have microwaves, crockery, utensils and full-size refrigerators. Complimentary wireless Internet access is provided. Beds have pillow-top mattress, duvets and king-size pillows. In-room minibars (stock upon request) and coffee/tea makers are provided. Bathrooms offer bathtubs with handheld power showerheads, double sinks. Additional suite amenities include complimentary newspapers, slippers and bathrobes. In addition, a turndown service is offered nightly, housekeeping is available daily, and amenities available on request include in-room massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palm Royal Beach
La Palm Royal Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing