We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot just outside Accra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Accra
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful spot not far from Accra. The beach is one of the cleanest I've seen in Ghana. The staff are attentive and fairly efficient. The pool is a welcome attraction. The rooms are not really suited to families but overall it is a great place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oreillyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie r, Manager at Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to welcome back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

I love this little place, within reasonable reach of Accra. It is one of the few places in Ghana I've been to that 'gets it'. There is shade by the water and the chairs and hammocks are laid out in a manner that allows individual groups privacy while also being inviting. The place is clean, the food is good, the staff provides good service, is accomodating and security is first rate. Make sure you take advantage of the shiatsu massage and reflexology treatments available. The masseuse is from Indonesia and very good at what she does.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank africanescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie r, Manager at Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for you kind review. We are glad you had the chance to try a massage at our Spa. Best wishes from the Blue Diamond Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Yes, its relatively new, yes its in Ghana, and yes the competition is on a par, but still a let-down. Well over $100 for a room that would put Motel 6 to shame. The good: nice decor, standard foam mattress on the bed and clean bedding, functioning air conditioning and good food. The bad: overwhelmed by the stench of backed up drains as soon as we opened the bathroom door, making morning ablutions an exercise in holding one's breath. Tea and coffee making facilities were limited to a kettle which had a South African plus for a UK socket, so was useless. No other items anyway so not sure what we would have used the kettle for. Likewise the bedside lamps had the wrong socket and so were only for show. Maybe previous occupants had stolen the adaptor, but really? Just change the plugs. The ugly: not the hotel's fault, but the beach was filthy with flotsam and jetsam. Come for the day, enjoy the lobster and pool, and go home to Accra at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryMason101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the Blue Diamond Beach Resort over a weekend in May 2013. Just an overnight stay so we could enjoy the sunsets and the peaceful morning time when none of the day visitors would be around. I have nothing against day visitors btw. Since it was raining most of the weekend there were very few people around anyway.

The resort looks pleasant with a nice location on the beach where the waves don’t seem too strong. We were with our 2 year old daughter and were playing on the sand occasionally dipping our feet in the water. But there ends our sea adventure. We don’t swim in the sea and I cant comment on the currents for swimming. There is a nice pool overlooking the beach and we did our swimming there safely. ☺

Food was decent but nothing to rave about. We ordered Pizza for lunch and it came with an uncooked crust. We sent it back and it came back again with a slightly heated crust but still uncooked. We were there to have a good time so instead of making a fuss we just ate what we could. ☺

The rooms are decorated using certain themes. The room we stayed in was supposed to be a Thai room ☺. I have stayed in Thailand for 2 years and I know for sure Thai people don’t decorate their houses like that. There were a few knick- knacks from Thailand so that inspired nostalgia. Overall, marks for effort and thinking original but not for the results.

There was no hot water in the room and as there is no telephone in the room as well, we didn’t bother to call and complain. We can go without a hot bath for a day or two no problem but it was raining and there was a chill in the air and we wanted hot water for the baby. I didn’t see a standard geyser in the bathroom but for a small Thai style contraption that didn’t seem to be working. Also, if the resort is going for Thai style décor, they should actually do some of the simple things that Thai beach resorts do to make the stay comfortable. Like putting out a pot of water and a ladle outside the room so one could wash their feet before entering the room. Or atleast keep a broom outside the room. We trailed sand all over the room despite our best effort not to and since there was no broom anywhere we had to spend the whole day walking on a floor full of sand. It can be quite irritating.

The grounds were nice and simple and I liked the fact that there were several hammocks and loungers about. Lots of birds and butterflies to watch as well.

This place is not wheel chair friendly as there are several steps and stairs all around the place (common area) and our daughter had a couple of accidents (nothing serious) as she tripped and fell.

Overall, this is a good place to spend a day at the beach for the day visitors. LOL. Overnight stay is not encouraged unless the resort improves the facilities somewhat. I want to give a 3.5/5 rating to this hotel but since TA doesn't allow that I am going with a 4/5. This is because I know the standards of hotels in Ghana and this resort is better than average.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the beach. There are 4-5 rooms in front of the beach and the rest are behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noni_2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

There are obviously mixed reviews but we had recommendations from friends who had visited recently that this would be an ideal place to relax- they were right! We got a good 3 nights for the price of 2 deal which meant that the price for the rooms were a bit more than we would usually pay but definitely worth it. The room was clean, the AC was welcome and the bathroom/layout was very modern. The only niggle in the room was that the pressure of the hot water in the shower could have been better but we were very happy. The food was delicious- my partner had the grilled fish with a spicy sauce on night one and said it was the best meal he had eaten in Ghana; having been here for over 2 years, that is good enough for us! The Prawn tempura was as good as you would get in Monsoon and a bit less costly. The breakfast was excellent with a huge fruit platter (included in the price for the room). We found the waiter, Emmanuel, to be highly attentive and polite- no issue at all with the service and we were even given free cocktails as we chilled by the lovely pool. All in all, a great location and a good alternative to the less well-maintained or more 'rowdy' resorts in Kokrobite etc. Handy for escaping the stress of Accra and just chilling out. Unfortunately, we are relocating to the UK in August so we are annoyed that we only just discovered Blue Diamond now but we would otherwise definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view as some are positioned a little further back- chalet 4 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

When you pay 135$ a night for a room - you expect something else. You expect Luxury, and since we are in Ghana and the options are limited - that, to me, mostly means attention to details. Nothing is horribly wrong with the place - the beach is lovely, the food is decent, the rooms are fine. But stains on the sheets and the towels, bugs in the bed, waiters who forget your order or dishes that come with insects in them ("The spinach is from our garden" - well, ok, but you can still wash it can't you?). The SPA was closed (as it has been for the past 2 months I found out) which was disappointing as the place is called SPA Resort.

Generally speaking, if the price wasn't so high - I'd say, oh well, ok. But for 135$ a night, I have no intention of ever going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie r, Manager at Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Regarding the spa, waiters and cleaners, we agree improvement is needed. It is raining season and hence a time to do maintenance + renovation (spa) to improve for our valued customers. The staff is still undergoing serious training.

In response to insects on your plate, may I remind you that you finished eating your plate before drawing it to our attention? Also note that you were eating in an outdoor restaurant. Nonetheless after your complain we offered you compensation and you said you would rather have it taken of your bill. which we did.

All the same, we apologise for the inconvenience we will surely improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We went there with my wife for the weekend.
Once arrived, the first feeling was "piece of paradise" ! The landscape is simply beautiful, close to the beach, a nice and quiet palm beach.
Rooms are comfortable, a proper design, assorted colors, with modern equipment, one improvement to be achieved on water pressure in the bathroom
We have only tasted the breakfast ; nice plates dressing ; I have to say the service deserves to be more efficient and plates a little more tasty ! But I am sure it is a little step the Blue Diamond will climb !
We will definetely come back shortly, in order to taste the various meals available in the menu, to use the beach volley playground, and above all I hope the spa will be opened (soon...?)
Still a few steps to get the quality equivalent to its price, but not far at all !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOL2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.0 mi away
Bojo Beach Resort
Bojo Beach Resort
#25 of 90 in Accra
64 reviews
44.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 90 in Accra
631 reviews
48.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.5 mi away
La Villa Boutique Hotel
40.4 mi away
Somewhere Nice
Somewhere Nice
#1 of 208 in Accra
106 reviews
39.7 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#71 of 90 in Accra
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort

Address: Gomao Abrekum | Central Region, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Accra
Price Range: £93 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing