We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Apartments but poor cuisine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roots Apartment Hotel
Ranked #5 of 242 Accra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Apartments but poor cuisine”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Roots is a well located hotel apartment property. The rooms are well sized with an efficient air conditioning system and comfortable bed. The only downfall really is the cuisine which is very limited with unhealthy international food and the complimentary breakfast was very poor indeed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    45
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
10
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had a very enjoyable stay in the mid April 2014. The location is very convenient and safe, not too far to the main points of tourist interest. Rooms are nicely decorated, nice bathroom/shower, lots of wardrobe space,only thing missing was a full length mirror for dressing. Fully equipped small kitchen if you feel like cooking or better still getting a take away to eat in your room later like fufu with light soup, and other local dishes not catered at the hotel.The wifi worked 100% all of the time. Customer service very good, certainly not slow, then again this is a hotel not a fast food joint. All the staff I came into contact with were very pleasant and helpful especially the lovely ladies, manager and kitchen staff in the 7th floor restaurant. I enjoyed a varied cooked breakfast, with fresh fruit, delicious fresh fruit juices, and pastries. Something I haven't come across before was having prepaid in full for my stay, I had to pay a further 15% city tax before I could check into the room, don't understand why they just don't add it to the price of the room when you book from outside Ghana or add it to your bill to pay on check out, but they insisted I pay before I could go to my room. A bit annoying when you arrive on a late flight, tired, just want to get to sleep, no local currency and credit card payments have a 2.5% fee slapped on. That's my only little gripe. All in all, I really liked Roots Apartment Hotel and the lovely staff and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoUK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here recently for four weeks for business purposes. The property is a very nice, comfortable hotel, with a gym, laundry service (expensive though), café on the ground floor and restaurant on the 7th floor with nice views of the Osu neighbourhood. The layout of the each room/apartment is just great and you have all amenities required for if you wanted to cook (all units come with full kitchen).

The hotel itself is very well-positioned and centrally located. Everything you need is within reach and walking distance. There are many cafes & retail shops nearby. If you need to do some cooking, there is Oxford Street Mall nearby where you can get all your groceries in Shoprite supermarket. For those who is looking for halal restaurants..do look up for Papaye and KFC. Halal food is not a problem here. Even the property uses halal ingredients as the owner is a Muslim.

Just one thing that could make this place an excellent hotel, worthy of 5 stars: Improve the service! It seems endemic here in Ghana where most establishments have a slow or bad service.

Room Tip: The unit which have the balcony - great place to unwind plus extra space to dry your clothes :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanyALGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We went to eat at the rooftop restaurant. The viw's of Accra were really great. The food is European inspired with burgers, lasagne etc. The burgers were quite tasty by local standards.

It is reasonably priced considering how smart it is and the location. We paid Ghs25 per person for a main and drinks.

The staff was friendly but the manager looked so grumpy.

One of the oddities is that the prices in the menu are in cedi but they convert them to dollars for the bill. You can still pay in cedis (with menu prices) ... Not sure why they do that

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyclo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is newly built hotel and has all modern amenities. I booked a standard room and the room was spacious with well decorated furniture. There was serious problem in air conditioning and they shifted me to another room for the night. The problem went on for two nights and I kept using other room in the nights. This was little uncomfortable and I expected them to shift me to other room but they refused as all other rooms were studio apartments. I guess they should have accommodated me. Anyway, but otherwise I enjoyed the stay especially because of its location and amazing roof top restaurant. They play nice music in the evenings and you can enjoy view of the city from restaurant. The food was decent and staff was very prompt and supportive. The place is also surrounded by lot of Italian, Chinese & Indian restaurants and some of the supermarkets are nearby which makes life easier.
I found this hotel little more expensive than the amenities they offered. They should revisit the pricing and I am sure it will be then flooded with customers then.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor are good and offer great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avadhutjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at Roots for 8 nights and for 8 nights the internet did not work. Every day they promised they were working on it and it would be fixed. On my 5th night after missing an important Skype call I purchase a mobile internet stick from MTN for internet. I asked the manager to reimburse me and they refused. There reason was "they were working on the internet and it would be fixed soon". Despite the fact that my room rate included internet service.

My room also had a sickening sewage smell every morning and the water smelled bad. I reported it and they said "they were working on it". Make sure to brush your teeth with bottled water.

Room Tip: The mattresses are uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed for three nights on business. The room was great with good facilities. The area is pretty busy with lots going on in the street. The top floor restaurant has great views and good service with pretty good food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N74_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
1.7 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
2.9 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
601 reviews
3.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mahogany Lodge
Mahogany Lodge
#7 of 92 in Accra
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urbano Hotel
Urbano Hotel
#21 of 92 in Accra
23 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crown Apartamento Hotel
Crown Apartamento Hotel
#34 of 92 in Accra
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roots Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roots Apartment Hotel

Property: Roots Apartment Hotel
Address: H/N. F97/2 15th Lane Osu, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 242 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roots Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roots Apartment Hotel is equipped with modern facilities plus fully furnished Apartment and Hotel Bedrooms. It is a brand new 7-storey building which has instituted extensive design and quality standards to ensure first class accommodations. Roots Apartment Hotel is committed to quality service, comfort and security. We promise to give you the feeling of getting a "home away from home". It combines the cosines of a private apartment with luxury of a hotel living. Your comfort starts the moment you step through our doors, where our dedicated staff will see to it that your expectations are met throughout your entire stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roots Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing