We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Afia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afia Beach Hotel
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Accra
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

The Afia Beach Hotel is in a very convenient and peaceful location. It faces onto the relatively clean (compared with many others in Accra) beach which was safe enough to swim in. The room was a little worn, particularly the bathroom, but for the price was very good value and fully functioning. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The restaurant serves good but comparatively expensive food in a nice location.

The main improvements would be more landscaping to the beach-facing garden and better access to the beach, which at the time of visiting was a bit of a scramble up a bank of rock and sand.

As non-chain West African hotels go, this is one of the best I've encountered.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajw136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    61
    38
    14
    10
See reviews for
25
34
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

I stayed there for one week in a beachfront room. Friendly staff, clean everywhere and everything worked, like Internet, AC, TV, Warm water.
The beach can be dirty, as the waves just show us how dirty we all are. Armadas of yellow dressed people came every three days to clean the mess up. So it depends, on which day you walk on the beach.
I appreciated the cultural mixture between tourists and Ghanaians. People who prefer their white linen environment and crystal wine classes should step out and go to a upmarket international place, but if you like to feel a bit of Africa and don't mind to go jogging on the beach, it's a good place for a fair price.

Room Tip: Take the Oceanfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeymissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Upon arrival our taxi driver parked for some minutes, when we checked availability in the reception. The owner started yelling at him, and when we interrupted to pay so he could be going, the owner started yelling at us. The whole situation felt threatening and very uncomfortable. We were about to stay two nights, but changed our minds because of him. When we left on the morrow he started yelling again. Nice to be out of there! I feel sorry for his much nicer employees.

Stayed in an oceanfront room, neat and clean but very simple, not worth 120 dollars. Breakfast was ok, but below expectations. 20 meters to the beach is what one pays for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilhelm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Accra hotels

Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel was an easy walk to town and markets in Accra. Staff were helpful and bungalows quaint and serviceable with restaurant on the beach. A walk along the beach found an interesting fishing village. Tried to stay at end of tour but was all booked. I found it listed as Afia Beach Hotel.Lots of locals stay here too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffetoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Ok I have not stayed here but I ride out there often on the weekends for breakfast. Can't tell you what the rooms/chalets are like but I always wondered how one gets in or out when its raining?! I like the fact the chalets are shaded by trees, almost has this homely feel sragely as its right on the edge of the government offices/business district and right in the middle of two popular tourist attractions; the Kwame Nkrumah memorial and Black Star square and 5mins from Oxford str/Osu.

That staff are super courteous, the meals were always great, a bit pricey for what's supposed to be a 'budget' hotel. The juice is always fresh, and it has a nice rustic African feel with the carved wood columns, chairs, etc. You can whilst your meal is being prep'd browse the gallery/gift shop, a few unusual items in there :)

They've recently (12months) installed a tennis court, hard court (cement) but hey its by the beach! ok the beach suffers from same dirt et al the rest of the Accra suffers but they do their best to clean up what they can.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarix02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This place has gone from being good budget level to overpriced upper midrange, but it is an excellent hotel with the best location in town. The food is excellent, if double the price of other places with a similar level of quality. Ideal for a first or last night in Ghana, but there are cheaper options if you re in town for long. Very slow answering emails, meaning booking is not always easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sodafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Of the 3 budget hotels we have stayed in so far on our tour of Ghana, Afia has so far been the best one. The room itself was old seeming (I think the humidity makes it hard to keep anything looking new) and budget, but it was clean and had working air conditioner, fan and fridge. The best part was that it had hot water and good water pressure (although the bathroom was dingy), which both of our other hotels did not have. The dinner was mediocre and the breakfast buffet did not offer much. However, it did include french toast with homemade orange sauce which was surprisingly delicious! The staff were polite and relatively helpful. They also had wi-fi available that we were actually able to log onto for 2cedis an hour.

I think the important thing is to maintain perspective when traveling in Ghana. Budget places are very budget and do not maintain Western standards. Likewise, the service here is not what we are used to. So our 3 star rating is a Ghana 3 stars. We would be willing to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MallieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.8 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
8.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
3.5 mi away
Bojo Beach Resort
Bojo Beach Resort
#25 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Accra Beach Hotel
4.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.8 mi away
Accra City Hotel
Accra City Hotel
#15 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afia Beach Hotel

Property: Afia Beach Hotel
Address: No. 2 Liberia Road Extension Osu, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of lush tropical landscape, Afia African Village is a quiet oasis in the vibrant city of Accra, Ghana. The serene oceanfront environment makes Afia a peaceful retreat from the daily activity of life in this busy city. Situated on the Gulf of Guinea, in a gentle bay sweeping from Ghana's Presidential Castle to Jamestown Fishing Harbour,Afia African Village is ideally located to meet the needs and interests of business travellers and tourists alike. The hotel has been sensitively designed to take full advantage of the expansive ocean views and cooling sea breezes. Its traditionally styled architecture evokes the very essence of Africa. Within Afia African Village is Afia Beach Hotel,Tribes Bar & Restaurant and Afia Gallery.These three components have created a synergystic experience that has made Afia African Village a popular destination for all visitors to Accra. A Short drive (5 mins) to "Oxford Street" - Accra's main shopping and entertainment area and only 10 - 20 minutes (depending on the traffic) to Kotoka International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Afia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afia African Village Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing