We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Afia Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$366
US$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$311
US$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$50
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$128
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
27
65
40
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
65
40
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewkwame nkrumahmakola marketghanaian foodyogurtvisit accraair conditionedtribeafricasecurityproximity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel for two nights when I first arrived in Accra. All the staff were friendly and welcoming, and the outdoor bar / restaurant area was really nice. The room was comfortable but it could have done with sprucing up a bit.
Breakfast was good, and evening meals were excellent, especially the 'mlfalfa with beef', a dish I didn't see anywhere else in Ghana.
The hotel is about 500m along a dirt road from the main coast road. It's right on the beach but there is no direct access from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdmiralDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Manager at Afia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear AdmiralDewey,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

The chefs are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our "Mfrafra with Beef" so much.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your room. We are currently undertaking an extensive room and bathroom renovation program, and are sure that you will be delighted with the results next time you stay with us.

Kind Regards
Lauren Huckle
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Afia beach hotel is a well located beach side resort very close to central Accra. Kwame Nkrumah memorial park, museums, art center and the restaurants and nightlife of Osu are short walks away. The complimentary breakfast was great. The rooms however are a bit disappointing, especially the bathroom! The shower head couldn't be propped upright and the water pressure was quite weak. (I managed to get a trickle of hot water though) A little attention paid to the furnishings and decor of the place would go a long way. I agree with the previous reviewer that these things could be easily out to make this place great.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dustedlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Manager at Afia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear DustedLight,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We agree, we are so spoilt with our location right on the beach!

You will be happy to hear that we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms and bathrooms, and we know this will make a great improvement on our guests stay with us.

We hope you will join us again to check them out!

Kind Regards
Lauren Huckle
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Afia African Village

A GREAT location right on the beach.

We paid the extra $25 to get an “Oceanfront Room” (Number #1) – well worth doing .. very pleasant sitting out on balcony at night.

Lacklustre check-in staff, and same with kitchen staff for breakfast .. all like wind-up robots.

Breakfast was really fine despite a few moans above.

Place needs to be bulldozed and started again really, as things all pretty run down – simple things that takes 2 minutes to rectify.

A place or holder to put soap in shower – a $2 item in Ghana. Water pressure non-existent - a weak little dribble. You need to turn on a switch 20 minutes ahead to get hot water.

Even in ‘Deluxe’ Room no shampoo or conditioner provided, and no kettle or coffee making stuff – dumb.

Internet reception was fine. At 4 Cedi an hour ($US2) not too silly, but all our other hotels in Ghana had it free.

Landscaping non-existent – needs a wall of green or Palms etc on the ugly side abutting a bare cliff and razor wire.

Could be 20 times better, with a tiny bit of thought and expense,

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for oceanfront
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozstamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great location, easy to find, good atmosphere, clean and orderly, friendly helpful staff. Good food. A nice place to get away in the middle of Accra for a meal or a stay. Right on the beach! A good mix of Ghanaian and European guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

As per the title this hotel is situated way out of Accra (business area) so as a review on behalf of the business traveller this is not an ideal hotel. However from a travellers point of view this hotel is lovely. Situated close to the beach the apartment "Huts" are very authentic but clean. The meals are good & the staff are friendly. This hotel is situated in a very quiet location with nothing to do within walking distance. I would definitely recommend to anyone seeking a bit of relaxation & tranquility for a few days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy_Starfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews