We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Afia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afia Beach Hotel
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Accra
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Good location, nice spacious rooms, really nice food, big art Gallery, right on the beach, friendly staff. Close to independece square and few mins ride from Oxford street. Airport pick up was waiting for me with sign of hotel. Only thing is missing is a swimming pool.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank spottedbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Manager at Afia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear spottedbean,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Indeed, we agree about a swimming pool being the perfect addition. You will be happy to hear that we are currently underway with plans to add one. We hope to have this completed early next year. So hopefully for your next visit, you will be able to enjoy it.

Looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    61
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
25
35
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have stayed here a few times now, generally before a flight home of after a late arrival into Accra. The hotel staff are always friendly. We have stayed in a variety of rooms. The beach huts are air conditioned and quiet. They seemed to have been modernised after the first visit we had. The rooms that are near the car park away from the sea are also quiet.

We have never had a problem in the hotel and the food is fantastic! It is only a short walk from the cultural centre and the Nkrumah monument and in the other direction, is the main square with its famous arch.

I couldn't say that I would take a holiday here but for stop overs for business and flight hopping it is great.

The hotel offer an airport shuttle also. It is well worth it if you are a new visitor to Accra as the arrivals can be very overwhelming when you come out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Manager at Afia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Rachel L,

I'm glad to hear that you had another comfortable stay with us at Afia Beach, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Lauren Huckle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Afia Beach Village Hotel at the beginning and end of our stay in Accra.
We have read the comments of other travellers and we do not agree on most of the comments.
The Hotel is very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is just perfect as it is close to the old town, close to the Artit's centre and other places one might want to visit while stayin in Accra.
The breakfast was a very nice buffet with fresh fruits and juices and other english breakfast foods.
The Restaurant is great, really very very good African or Ghanian food. We enjoyed it a lot.
Maybe a swimmingpool would make this place a perfect one for a stay in Accra.
The only invonvenience we found are the prices of the rooms, a standard room is 120$ which we found is far too expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorisBurtscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Manager at Afia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Doris Burtscher,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience.

We do indeed agree about a swimming pool being a wonderful addition. Please note that it is in our future development plans. In the meantime, we clean the beach on a regular basis, and it is safe to swim.

We believe that our rates are competitive for the current market, but we will be adding value adds in the near future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Lauren Huckle
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

For Accra, this is a nice place location-wise, in the center, yet at the beach (not a nice one, but a beach). It is about 300 meters along a non-paved road from the main road. Osu ("Oxford Street"), Kwame Nkrumah memorial park, national museum, and (tourist) art center in walking distance. Easy to get taxis. The rooms are in small bungalows ("African style") distributed in close proximity to one another in a garden-like set up. However, the rooms are dark and in need of maintenance. Poor furnishing, run-down bathrooms. There is a nice, open air restaurant which is a nice place to sit, read, eat. Food is very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakoba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Manager at Afia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Jakoba K,

Thank you for your review of Afia African Village,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our restaurant.

We are fully aware of the need for room renovations, and are currently underway with a rolling program to renovate all bathrooms and give our rooms a face lift.

We hope you will love the difference next time you stay with us.

Kind Regards
Lauren Huckle
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metung, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Needs a makeover. It was fairly comfortable but the toilet in one room was faulty and the water pressure was inadequate. Basically clean with good food, European and Ghanaian. Good service. But baggage storage room is a junk room for rubbish. Discovered my bag had been left in the foyer for two weeks. However I would recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank olderbutnotout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Manager at Afia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Olderbutnotout,

Thank for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are always delighted to receive feedback to make your next stay with us even better.

We are curently renovating all of our bathrooms, due to guest feeback.

I will address the baggage storage issue with front desk urgently. We have recently had a big sort out of our storerooms and will soon have a dedicated bag storage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Afia in the future.

Kind Regards
Lauren Huckle
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel for two nights when I first arrived in Accra. All the staff were friendly and welcoming, and the outdoor bar / restaurant area was really nice. The room was comfortable but it could have done with sprucing up a bit.
Breakfast was good, and evening meals were excellent, especially the 'mlfalfa with beef', a dish I didn't see anywhere else in Ghana.
The hotel is about 500m along a dirt road from the main coast road. It's right on the beach but there is no direct access from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Manager at Afia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear AdmiralDewey,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

The chefs are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our "Mfrafra with Beef" so much.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your room. We are currently undertaking an extensive room and bathroom renovation program, and are sure that you will be delighted with the results next time you stay with us.

Kind Regards
Lauren Huckle
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Afia beach hotel is a well located beach side resort very close to central Accra. Kwame Nkrumah memorial park, museums, art center and the restaurants and nightlife of Osu are short walks away. The complimentary breakfast was great. The rooms however are a bit disappointing, especially the bathroom! The shower head couldn't be propped upright and the water pressure was quite weak. (I managed to get a trickle of hot water though) A little attention paid to the furnishings and decor of the place would go a long way. I agree with the previous reviewer that these things could be easily out to make this place great.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dustedlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Manager at Afia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear DustedLight,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We agree, we are so spoilt with our location right on the beach!

You will be happy to hear that we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms and bathrooms, and we know this will make a great improvement on our guests stay with us.

We hope you will join us again to check them out!

Kind Regards
Lauren Huckle
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.8 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
8.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
3.5 mi away
Bojo Beach Resort
Bojo Beach Resort
#26 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Accra Beach Hotel
4.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Accra City Hotel
Accra City Hotel
#13 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afia Beach Hotel

Property: Afia Beach Hotel
Address: No. 2 Liberia Road Extension Osu, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of lush tropical landscape, Afia African Village is a quiet oasis in the vibrant city of Accra, Ghana. The serene oceanfront environment makes Afia a peaceful retreat from the daily activity of life in this busy city. Situated on the Gulf of Guinea, in a gentle bay sweeping from Ghana's Presidential Castle to Jamestown Fishing Harbour,Afia African Village is ideally located to meet the needs and interests of business travellers and tourists alike. The hotel has been sensitively designed to take full advantage of the expansive ocean views and cooling sea breezes. Its traditionally styled architecture evokes the very essence of Africa. Within Afia African Village is Afia Beach Hotel,Tribes Bar & Restaurant and Afia Gallery.These three components have created a synergystic experience that has made Afia African Village a popular destination for all visitors to Accra. A Short drive (5 mins) to "Oxford Street" - Accra's main shopping and entertainment area and only 10 - 20 minutes (depending on the traffic) to Kotoka International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Afia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afia African Village Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing