We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of AVANI Maseru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Maseru Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Maseru
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and affordable. Buffet was included in the rate. Food was okay. I was on a business trip and the hotel met my needs. Friendly and helpful staff. Booking through the hotel reservations got me a discount.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lalitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for AVANI Maseru Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is touted as a 5 Star hotel!
I was very impressed that I got upgraded after booking online and really looked forward to a relaxing evening watching TV and sipping on some wine...

I was informed that their phones were not working upon checking in and these were sorted out within no time.

Both TV sets were nonoperational to the extent that they baffled the repairman who was sent to repair them; by the way he promised to arrange for me to be moved to another room which never happened.

Now here's a bummer...remember the extreme below freezing temperatures that were experienced on Thursday the 10th July, 2014? Well...there was no hot water in my suite!!!

I had by now given up on complaining and decided to just check-out and leave the hotel to their own devices!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was travelling alone and stayed at the Maseru Sun. The staff could not have been more helpful. The bedroom was beautiful with a huge bathroom. The room had a balcony with a chair to sit out on.The breakfast was as good as any other hotel I have stayed in. It has a lovely lobby with plenty sofas to relax in and very good shops to buy a local newspaper or a souvenir or some fine art work. The swimming pool was closed as it was winter so I was sorry it was not summer as the swimming pool and all the area around it with deck chairs was very well laid out with trees overhanging the entire area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ml042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Booked into the Maseru Sun Hotel with high hopes taking into account the reputation of this hotel chain. Well, was I mistaken! The staff are friendly and you can see they are trying really hard to make the most of a neglected hotel in dire need of a revamp. The rooms are dated and bathrooms rundown. However everything is clean and the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

If you are coming to do business in Maseru this is the place to stay. It's super clean, decent internet connection, comfortable and the food is very good. They have a buffet as well as a nice Asian Restaurant. The gym is a little bit old. Also, the location is perfect to go for a quick hike in the mountains around the hotel. For me it is always a treat to run the trails around the hotel. The only issue is that the hotel phone does not work if you have to call in the hotel from overseas

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank rwurbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed extensively at Maseru Sun during my 05 month stint in 2012 with the local operations of major South Africa based bank in Maseru.

Maseru Sun is part of the premier South Africa based Sun International group having interests in Resorts, Safari Camps, Business Hotels, etc. Maseru Sun along with its luxurious cousin Lesotho Sun are the only two options in the Business and Premier segment of Maseru. Maseru Sun is located close to the United Nations office on Orphen Road close to King Moshoeshoe road, the main business and Commercial Street in Maseru. In fact all activities around Maseru are concentrated around this street with major embassies, Parliament, Kings Palace close to this place.

Maseru Sun is a comfortable place to stay and chances are that this place will be fully booked with business travelers from South Africa and other places. The staff at Maseru Sun is very friendly and always ready to help you with a smile. Hotel travel desks are more than willing to book local tours in Maseru. If you happen to visit Lesotho in July – August then try to visit the snow clad areas of Lesotho that are a good 3-4 hour drive from Maseru. Hotel offers shuttle facilities from the airport as it is a good 1 hour drive from the hotel.

The rooms are big and very comfortable. My room had two queen beds and huge storage cabinets. Bathroom is quite big and is provided with 24 hour cold and hot water, something that is quite basic for such a hotel. Eating options are very good at the hotel for lunch and dinner. One should definitely dine at the hotel given that the best places to dine in the town of Maseru are at the Lesotho Sun. The breakfast serve is quite lavish and one should start early to enjoy the sunrise from the restaurant as the landscape behind the hotel is beautiful. Opt for rooms on the third floor on the rear side of the hotel and the second option should be the pool facing rooms. I changed rooms every week without any problem and assistance from the hotel staff. The room service is very good and the staff are well behaved and friendly.

The hotel has a well-equipped fitness centre and the swimming pool too is quite big. However I haven't seen a life guard and trainer around. The pool isn’t cleaned very often as I’ve seen dead leaves inside the pool on multiple occasions.

Request cabs in advance if travelling in Maseru otherwise the main commercial establishments are a kilometer away. The only other mode of travelling is the overcrowded local bus. Maseru is a safe place during the day and late evenings too. Maseru Sun arranges some shows for customers. The live kitchen dishes out some really magical stuff.

Overall had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at Maseru Sun. Would recommend Maseru Sun for business travelers. Try Lesotho Sun for a more luxurious option.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on the third floor on the rear side of the hotel with view of the landscape and the se...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Top tip: Make sure you stick the right address in your Sat Nav or you'll end up at the wrong hotel. The Lesotho Sun looks better so, if you've not already booked, then consider there.

The Maseru Sun (once I'd put in the right address) was actually perfectly acceptable. The dinner buffet was huge and great value as was breakfast. I've had guys who will make you an omelette at a buffet but I've never had a 'pick-your-own-stir-fry' before. Excellent.

The room was a bit basic but, hey,.

Staff were friendly and efficient at check-in and helpful in the little on-site store. There is a little Portuguese restaurant just outside the grounds where you can enjoy a fine sundowner and evening meal (and no doubt lunch too).

It's a big hotel with a conference and exhibition-hall attached and was very busy during our visit.

There doesn't appear to be a lot of higher end accommodation in Maseru (or indeed medium level) so it's either here or the Lesotho Sun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maseru
0.9 mi away
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
0.8 mi away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maseru
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Teyateyaneng
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
#2 of 10 in Maseru
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Maseru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Maseru Hotel

Address: 12 Orpen Road, Maseru, Lesotho (Formerly Maseru Sun Hotel)
Region: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Maseru
Price Range: £77 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Maseru Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Maseru, AVANI Maseru offers a large outdoor swimming pool, a thatched pool bar and restaurant. The Pioneer Shopping Mall is 600 m away. The air-conditioned rooms are fitted with a flat-screen satellite TV, safe and seating area. Each room includes tea-and-coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer a view of the pool. At AVANI Maseru, the Mohokare Restaurant features a variety of dishes and offers views of the Caledon Valley. The Katse Terrace and Mohope Bar and Lounge are popular for light meals and cocktails. The Maseru Golf Course is 2 km away. WiFi is available and free private parking is available on site. An airport shuttle can be arranged upon request and the Moshoeshoe I International Airport is within 20 minutes’ drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Maseru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing