We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Restaurant

Regal Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Maseru
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Maseru, Lesotho
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Regal is a very good Indian cuisine restaurant. It has a wide variety of starters, breads, and mains. I recommend every bread, though the thick one is best, and the chicken tandoori. Service is a little slow.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Miksa223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    34
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Slowest Service - Average Taste!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I am surprised with the reviews written about this place. Dined at this place multiple times during my stay at Maseru. The initial impression is very good due to the internal decor, menu and the Hat complex but the impression does not stay until the end.

Regal is located at the start of Kingsway and is the only place serving Indian dishes in Maseru and perhaps the whole of Lesotho. This was the reason why we organized a team dinner to Regal. The menu is quite exhaustive with options of Veg, Chicken, Lamp, Beef, etc. The interior are nicely done and leaves a lasting impression. Regal has a good stock of South African red and white wines, local and imported beer.

Where this place lacks is the flavor of Indian spices and the way things are prepared. We were served bread similar to the base of a Pizza in place of Garlic naan. Now that’s some basic misalignment. Lamb vindaloo too didn’t have the Indian flavor to it. The tadka on the dal too didn’t feel right. Things were either too spicy or no Indian touch to it.

Having said that the food was average, but definitely not something to expect from a place that charges a premium vis-à-vis the Indian restaurants in Johannesburg or Cape Town. We visited the place a couple of times more as this was the only available Indian option in Maseru as some of my team members were staved of Indian food and this was their only connection with India.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food, service, and next to the hat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I've been to this restaurant several times and have always left satisfied. One word of caution is that the naan may be much different than you're used to. It's the thickest naan I've ever had! It's more like a fried loaf of bread. Other than that though, the fare is really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DXB
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Indian food was something I hadnt expected to find in Maseru, Lesotho - imagine the surprise then when I found Regal serving authentic food! As most other people have mentioned here, the food is great (with some inconstancies depending on who's cooking), the place is huge and has a very special atmosphere, the staff are extremely friendly (except for a couple of guys who unnerve you by just hanging around right in front and staring at you while you eat). At least two members of the staff are truly outstanding and provide prompt, friendly service. The owners are friendly, and the restaurant is good enough to offer to drop you off at your hotel if you're a bit late with your dinner - a very thoughtful and welcome gesture. In my case, I was dropped off by one of the partners (Matioke) when I finished at around 8 pm. The establishment is truly the best available in Maseru, and if it werent for a bit of messing around with orders by one of the staff and a couple of occasions where food was inconsistent (samosas came with spring-roll stuffing!), it would rate a full and well-deserved 5 stars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
217 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Nice Indian restaurant and vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I ate at the Regal several times when I was in Maseru early this year. The food is authentic and spicy and the owner Raj and the waiting staff were excellent. I particularly liked the outdoor seating on the balcony.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuttappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Regal Restaurant also viewed

Maseru, Maseru District
Maseru, Maseru District
 
Maseru, Maseru District
Maseru, Maseru District
 

Been to Regal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing