We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surroundings are ideal, but bad experience with staff member has put me off.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roma Trading Post Lodge
Ranked #4 of 28 Maseru B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surroundings are ideal, but bad experience with staff member has put me off.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Roma, where the trading post is central to many great tourist attractions, Dinosaur footprints, Thaba Bosiu, and a 20 minute up the road, is Lesotho's only museum.

Trading Post was a little difficult to locate, and though it was night time, it took us well over an hour to locate the accomodation, So I think some more signage on the road would be an advantage.

We stayed in a Rondavle, it had comfortable beds, a kettle with tea and coffee making facilities, toilets were located in the Kitchen.

Kitchen is reasonably tidy, but a little un organised, the owners really need to get rid of alot of "guest food" under the draws, as it appears to have been there for some time, however there is a good selection of reading material (wildlife magazines, and a few books in foreign languages), However the TV does not work, or it has been tampered with. In the main kitchen/lounge, there is DSTV however.

Grounds at night are not lit up, and it would be useful to have a few lights on the main paths, as it is rather dark and did get lost.

I didn't have a good night sleep the second night as we had mosquito's in the room, as well as crickets, so bringing a can of insect repellent, or a citronella candle might be a good idea for wary guests. The roof of the Rondavle also housed a plethora of spider webs, I did not want to know what kind of creepy crawlies were lurking, so it may pay to look in the Rondavle's if you are a little arachnophobic.

There is a pool to swim in aswell, and WIFI is limited, you need to go near the owners house to access WIFI, A suggestion would be too again, invest in a few computers and place them in a central location.

There is a Souvenier Room, where you can buy handmade souveniers and gifts, one of the only places in Lesotho I could find that sold souveniers.

Unfortunately, one of the Staff Members (head groundsman/grounds keeper) offered us a tour of some of the attractions in and around the area, we took him up on the offer, as we realised that tourism development is limited in Lesotho.

From the start, we used our own car for the trip, where he persisted to sit in the front, which I thought was a little strange, as he had his own transport, and I was a little concerned regarding our safety

He advised us that it would not cost anything for the tour, only to pay for the attractions to see (Thaba Bosiu and the museum) which was fine. After the tour, I stopped and got some money out at an ATM to reimburse him, as well as a tip to say thankyou.

..From there, he looked at the money, and his mood changed from being friendly, to being impolite, rude and very off-standing, He asked us to stop at a local shop and persisted to get out to purchase something, whilst speaking to the shop owner, looking at us in a way which made us feel a little uneasy,

Once we made it back to the trading post, I advised him that I have to go in and pay for the accomodaton before we left, he persisted that we give him the money, not the manager, and he will pay, I said to him that we have to pay the rest of our accomodation, which he didn't understand and persisted that I gave him the money,

He then asked my friend and I that he is building a home for his family and that he needs donations and money to continue as he wants to send his kids to college. Unfortunately, his attitude before made me uncomfortable and I told him that we are going and I don't have money to give.

He then persisted to block the entrance way of our car and would not let us leave, until I revved the car and he jumped out the way yelling.

I strong reccomend to the Staff at the trading post, that you cannot allow your staff to take the responsibility of being a tour guide with this attitude, he had ruined a reasonably good experience of Lesotho up until then.

While the trading post is reasonable accomodation, I would not advise any of my friends to stay here due to the staff member who befriends you, then made it very unsavoury for us, and our experience of Lesotho in general.

Room Tip: - Do not stay in the Rondavels, if possible, request a room within the main building. - Bring repel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    13
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
11
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The lodge is absolutely lovely. The family has been an important member of the community for over 100 years and they love sharing their community/country with visitors. The food is delicious and the location is ideal for spending time in Roma, there are dinosaur footprints on the mountain down the road, visiting Thaba Bosiu and about 30 minutes from Maseru. The accommodations are in absolutely charming colonial era guest houses or thatched stone huts. WiFi is available near the owners' home and they are more than willing to let you sit on their patio to use it. The family also owns the local Trading Post next door, which contains lovely Basotho blankets and other local souvenirs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Trading Post Lodge is set in the middle of Roma. You are privy to the daily routine of the village that immediately surrounds the lodge. All of the locals are very friendly, especially the kids. The owners are very nice and willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. And the rest of the staff is friendly, helpful and make the most wonderful food. There is also the convenience of an on-site store. Close to the University as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here in late October 2013 a group of 8 of us. It is about 20 minutes out of the main city in rural Roma. its hard to find if you don't know the way, but worth it! We stayed in the large guest house. It has three bedrooms all with ensuites. A large kitchen, lounge, dinning room and beautiful deck out front. All surrounded by lovely gardens. There is also two other rooms just outside the front door if you have more in your group.
Internet is avail near the owners house and they are very happy for you to sit down there and use it.
Water is from a bore they have been using for over 100 years we all drank from the taps and none of us got sick.
They still run the trading post and the locals come each day to the mill to grind their maize. We went for a walk up the hills to see the views, one of their workers took us up there. Beautiful views!
We only had two nights there and could have stayed longer. Lovely people, lovely place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

The Roma Trading Post and Guest House is lovely! The owners are an important part of the community and treat guests and staff alike, with courtesy and respect. Lodgings are in charming thatched stone huts, which are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rehamilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Roma Trading Post and Guest House is a jewel in Lesotho's educational hub of Roma. The owners attend to ones's every need and give helpful local suggestions. The meals are delicious and ample, and the dining room offers a stunning view of the mountains that begin just beyond Roma. We stayed for almost a week, lodged in a charming thatched rondavel which was clean and comfortable. We strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebeccaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We turned up here without booking and were very relieved to find such a pretty spot, and rooms available. We stayed in a small rondavel with its own ensuite facilities. The house has been there since 1903, and is covered with creeper and looks over a delightful garden which you are welcome to wander round. There is a small swimming pool.

We didn't eat there, not having warned them we were coming, and just went for the inclusive diy breakfast of tea/coffee and cereal. This is to be found in the rather basic kitchen, but you can take it to eat in the conservatory overlooking the garden.

It all felt very relaxed and the others staying there were very friendly. It seems to be well used by ex-pat aid workers and missionaries.

They offer a range of activities and we took a guided tour of Thabu Bosiu which is not far away - very informal, but our local guide was helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SV_and_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maseru
0.0 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#7 of 9 in Maseru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Trading Post Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Trading Post Lodge

Property: Roma Trading Post Lodge
Address: Maseru 100, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Maseru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roma Trading Post Lodge is located a stone throw away from Lesotho’s capital Maseru and the airport, in the foothills of the mighty Maloti Mountains in Roma. The name stems from its rich history of being the base shop for pioneering trade into the mountains. Travellers can expect a rustic and luxury destination, filled with many stories from its vibrant history. No matter whether you want to relax in our colourful gardens, by the swimming pools or to explore Lesotho, Roma is the starting point of your adventure. Roma Trading Post Lodge is managed by the Lesotho Sky team, which hosts the annual 6-day mountain bike stage race. We look forward to sharing our wealth of adventure activities and gladly help you plan an unforgettable stay in Africa’s Mountain Kingdom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing