We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in Libyan Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Tripoli
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Oasis in Libyan Desert”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 times and I am really impressed with the quality of this hotel.
Staff are very kind and friendly, rooms are very clean and comfortable, also well decorated.
Foods are average but nop, in Libya it is very difficult to find a good and clean food.
I higly recommended this hotel, price a bit high for Radisson but all you need is safety, clean and comfort in Libya, you need to pay..

Room Tip: Choose sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstmoon3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    62
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
2
2
8
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I arrived at this hotel having expected to be in something far less suitable. A lovely surprise having only just stayed in one back over in Europe a couple of weeks ago. Unsurprisingly it is very similar, but I would say this is better. Also remember that this country was in turmoil only a few months back, something you readily notice as you drive through the capital.

First off the food. Wow! So much fresh produce; fruits, vegetables etc. They had so much choice at lunch I wasn’t sure where to start.

The gym and wellness centre is huge, well equipped and offers plenty for any traveler. The gym has limited free weights but it wasn’t busy when I was there, so I wasn’t affected. My have been a different story had I wanted to go heavy, but in the main very well equipped.

The service has been great too. Nice welcome from the porters and although you have to walk through a metal detector (same as most north African hotels nowadays) they were super friendly and sorted me a room straight away even though the company forgot to book it!

The only down side, and to be expected in these countries, is the minarets and the prayers. They are very loud and I could clearly hear them from my room...but it's culture and I'm in their country so should really stop moaning!!

I’m really taken by the two stays I have had at the Radisson Blu franchise and would definitely have these at the top of my places to stay anywhere in the world list, and I would strongly recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHoweBathUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed at the Radisson Blu Tripoli during my first visit to troubled Libya. This hotel made my visit a very pleasant one. Actually, I was very surprised with this hotel with its excellent service after what I heard about Libya. The hotel is nice in general. Very good rooms, friendly staff, super-fast internet - one of the fastest connections I have ever used in a hotel. It is well-guarded, and located in central Tripoli. I have no complaints whatsoever and will definitely stay there in my next visit. Hotel is a bit overpriced, but c'mon, you're in Libya!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YousefOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

We would like to thank you for your stay and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The rooms are adequate and updated. As others have commented service can be a bit spotty and choice of dining options is limited. The patio area is quite nice and always busy but I found the buffet to be only mediocre and expensive for the offering. The Italian restaurant is quite good but key dishes are often unavailable due to the supply chain challenges. Security seems to be mostly for show but I never felt unsafe either in the hotel or in the immediate area. Internet service is spotty but this is probably more to do with the challenging infrastructure environment of Libya than the hotel itself. The gym is excellent for a hotel property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_dfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.

We would like to thank you for your stay and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I have been using this hotel from 2010, but frank opinion is that there hasn't been much improvement. But in Tripoli, our choices are limited and my current option is Radisson.

One big reason is security, which at least is better than Corinthia or Rixos. The venue is convenient enough, though there aren't much around.

Internet connection is always unstable, but this has nothing to do with Radisson as it is the common symptom throughout Libya.

Breakfast is good, with enough variety and better than average taste. Fitness gym is also well equipped and maintained.

Overall rating can be better, but the hotel lacks service hospitality, again, which is rather common in Libya.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisuke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,

Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three weeks in September 2013. It has most, if not all, amenities that a typical business traveller would need: business center, meeting rooms, faxes. In addition, it has a business lounge on the 15th floor which serves a selection of buffet items throughout the day for guests staying in the executive floors. The lounge also sports a wonderful, panoramic view of Tripoli harbor and the rest of the city.

The hotel has two main restaurants, a buffet on the mezzanine level which has the standard variety of mid-eastern and western food and an Italian restarant downstairs that has a view of the outdoor pool. Both are averagea and the cost of the buffet is a little on the high side.

Securty at the hotel is adequate. Your car is subjected to a bomb search before entering the grounds and you pass through an x-ray detector upon entering the building. Securty may be a little higher here than in other hotels since the French embassy is located on the 3rd and 4th floors of the hotel.

All in all, I would stay at this hotel again as the rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable and the food is average.

Room Tip: I stayed on the side of the hotel with the ciy view where you also get a partial view of the old cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,

Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I made my second trip to Tripoli for business and stayed at the Radisson Blu again. I enjoy the security and service of the hotel and the view is wonderful from the balcony of the room I stayed in on the Harbor side. The hotel seems to be doing very well and hosts a lot of functions and business meetings. The location is very good and close to some excellent restaurants or the harbor, if you choose to walk around. Definitely is my hotel of choice for Tripoli!

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,

Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
1.7 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#6 of 28 in Tripoli
34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
#2 of 28 in Tripoli
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#18 of 28 in Tripoli
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Khan
El Khan
#5 of 21 in Tripoli
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#6 of 21 in Tripoli
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
#4 of 28 in Tripoli
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli

Property: Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
Address: Al Fatah Street - The Corniche, Tripoli, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tripoli
#1 Spa Hotel in Tripoli
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Rezidor, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli Hotel Tripoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing