We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Treasure in the Medina”
Review of El Khan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Khan
Ranked #5 of 21 Tripoli B&B and Inns
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure in the Medina”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Just back from Tripoli where I spent a week at the El Khan, Charming boutique hotel in the Medina. Couldn't do better in location. Staff were outstanding. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jogil415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Great to stay in a hotel with character as well as comfort. To step in from a narrow street in the old town is to enter a world of calm and a feeling of space. The rooms are individually designed and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Very convenient for local restaurants that are reasonably priced and serve excellent food. Shopping in the adjacent markets of the old town is delight with no hassle and no haggling over the prices.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in the very beginning of January. The hotel is in a great position, in walking distance of everything - the souk, the museum, Green Square etc. We had 3 rooms in all and they were all large and very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and they definitely served the best breakfast in Libya.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davies72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york ny
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

As soon as you walk through the polished -wood and brass-tack studded door of this charming, first-rate boutique hotel in right inside the gates of Tripoli's medina, you know you are somewhere special. This is an excellent hotel all around, and we would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Tripoli. Our stay there was pure bliss. The ambiance makes you feel like you are in someone's super chic private home in North Africa in the 19th century. Every detail is perfect and everything is modern and immaculately clean. We just can't say enough about this place. It is by FAR the best place we stayed during our 10 days of travel in Libya. The hotel manager Atef is wonderful and very helpful with questions and suggestions. The beds are comfortable and clean, the bathrooms, large and of excellent quality. This is the only place in all of Libya where we were actually served fresh -squeezed juice ( blood orange) at breakfast. The photos on the hotel's website do not do it justice. the hotel oozes charm and sophistication. Do not even think of booking anywhere else, we checked out the alternatives, and there just is nothing that comes close. Perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrponcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

The El-Khan is situated in the old town and has been lovingly restored with traditional furniture and furnishings. The central courtyard has a marble fountain in which hibiscus blossoms were floating as the water played. Palms and flowering plants in planters created a lovely atmosphere together with the antique furniture and comfortable sofas. Ancient lamps glittered and in the evenings a musician played , the sound drifting through the courtyards and corridors of the hotel. On cool eveinings charcoal braziers were brought out. The bedrooms were equally beautifully furnished and very comfortable and the shower rooms modern. There is an atmospheric dining room and a lovely swimming pool. The staff were gracious, charming and helpful. A marvellous place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Sensitively restored old houses in the old city have been cleverly combined to create this hotel . It has a series of open courtyards with rooms off. They are full of character , for instance the telephones would grace a museum but have been restored to function. The colour choices throughout are a delight. Breakfast had an excellent choice .

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

An absolutely delightful hotel, situated very conveniently in the Old Town of Tripoli. It was beautifully decorated and furnished, radiating an atmosphere of calm, and the staff were most charming and helpful. I would go back to Tripoli just to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#17 of 27 in Tripoli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#5 of 27 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
#2 of 27 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#6 of 21 in Tripoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
#4 of 27 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Khan

Property: El Khan
Address: Arbaa Arsat Street, Tripoli Old Town | P.O. Box 10070, Tripoli, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — El Khan 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming small hotel with 15 rooms beautifully done in Arabic/Oriental style. Located in Tripoli's old town with under 10 minutes walk to the National Museum. We strive to make guests feel at home rather than being in a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing