We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel El Khan in old Tripoli”
Review of El Khan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Khan
Ranked #5 of 21 Tripoli B&B and Inns
Dorking
1 review
“Hotel El Khan in old Tripoli”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

The Hotel El Khan in Old Tripoli provides excellent accomodation, service and breakfasts. It will be even better when it has completed its Restaurant in 2010.

Helpful?
Thank classon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I have been travelling to Tripoli for a number of years and have stayed in a variety of hotels, but none of them beats the El Khan for atmosphere and cosy, stylish accommodation. It is well located and the prime areas of the city are within easy reach. This is going to be my regular hotel from now on.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This is a small beautiful hotel within the Medina. The rooms are large, the decor lovely, the facilities terrific and the staff are wonderfully helpful, It was a real pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QPR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Lovely renovated hotel with rooms around courtyards. North African detailing in styling with Moroccan lamps and wall colours. Welcomed to hotel with almond milk drink and live guitar music. Staff very friendly and attentive with good English skills.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NileCrocodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

The traditional door in the street wall gave no indication of what lies behind. The spacious foyer area with comfortable sofas allows you the opportunity to appreciate the fine interior of this combo accommodation (several town houses merges into one). The traditional open roofed courtyards enable you to enjoy an azure sky on sunny days whilst sipping mint tea or coffee. There are also some nice seating areas on the upper floors where you can read or doze. We changed our room (the manager was very obliging) to have an outside window as many open onto the courtyards or balconies. All seemed spacious with separate shower room. The breakfasts offered a variety of preserved fruits and jams that we enjoyed.
The hospitality was excellent and we wish Araf the very best with his business plans.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowledgebroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We have stayed here twice now and it is such a great place in the middle of the old town, the entrance hall is really like your own living room where you can check emails on your laptop and have some arabic mint tea. The rooms are spacious and have a great shower rooms with a rain shower. The decoration is very special with arabic style but a hint of modern touches. It is so clean there, and the hotel management take such a good care of everything from arranging cars to helping with printing. I would really recommend this place.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank laila2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Evocative and atmospheric hotel combining excllent service and all modern facilities with a traditional feel. Built around courtyards open to the sky and warmed at night by braziers. Proporieter couldn't be more helpful - suggesting sites to visit and places to eat. Breakfast buffet with wide choice of European and Arab dishes. Friendly staff. Large rooms with neat period touches. Spotlessly clean.

Location in old city, close to arch of Marcus Aurilius, is great for access to souks and sites.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flooziemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
0.0 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
0.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel
Corinthia Hotel
#2 of 27 in Tripoli
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#6 of 21 in Tripoli
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#6 of 27 in Tripoli
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#18 of 27 in Tripoli
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
#5 of 27 in Tripoli
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Khan

Property: El Khan
Address: Arbaa Arsat Street, Tripoli Old Town | P.O. Box 10070, Tripoli, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — El Khan 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming small hotel with 15 rooms beautifully done in Arabic/Oriental style. Located in Tripoli's old town with under 10 minutes walk to the National Museum. We strive to make guests feel at home rather than being in a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing