We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Khan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Khan
Ranked #5 of 21 Tripoli B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

The most charming hotel I have ever stayed in, full of character and delightful touches, tastefully and comfortably furnished, and an absolute picture with its series of courtyards, and wonderful plants. Gentle music by the charming musician adds to the atmosphere, and staff (many in beautiful traditional costume) add to the magic of this hotel. Staff friendly and efficient, wihtout exception, and the manager, Aref Salim makes the place what it is, greeting everybody, young and old, like a personal friend, one has the impression of being welcomed into a personal home, rather than a hotel. I have never been very good at relaxing but the ambience and charm of this unique hotel, and the kindness and welcome made me feel totally at home and relaxed - whilst Libya in general and Tripoli in particular have treasures to boast, one could while away hours in this little piece of heaven called the El Khan! I will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Profbridgnorth April2010, sums up our feelings about the el Khan perfectly. We thought it was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. Our room 102, opened onto the main courtyard, it was large and well furnished and always clean and tidy when we returned to it.
We spent five nights in the hotel, so had plenty of time to explore all the different areas, there are four courtyards, one with a small pool and eating area.
Near the Marcus Aurelius Arch there is a good restuarant in the Zummit Hotel. As others have said the breakfast is varied and good.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silversearcher2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

The location in the Medina was ideal. I loved the traditional style building instead of the international skyscraper hotels now going up along Tripoli's coastal strip. The real joy however was the superb renovation of four buildings into one harmonious whole, beautifully decorated and with many interesting and attractive furnishings, photos of old Libya and various objects displayed on the walls, reflecting the owners' own tastes and interests. My room was a generous size and very comfortable. The range of foods for breakfast was wide and varied each day. For a small hotel (only 15 rooms at present) the breakfasts were excellent. Finally, all the staff were friendly and efficient, and many of them have taken the trouble to learn English.

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Profbridgnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

We wonder whether El Khan has been over-praised by reviewers.

Most of the rooms open on to internal courtyards so lack natural light, are small and rather stuffy (although they do have basic air con units). We spent a total of 4 nights (2 separate visits because of the volcanic ash disruption) - on both one couple slept in an outside room overlooking the medina which was noisy but street life seemed to quieten down about 22.30. In fact, it was probably quieter than the internal rooms where there was an irritating amount of noise from work on El Khan's new restaurant. Thereafter the owners are converting another building at the back to create a further 17 rooms so this could be a problem for some time.

Room cleanliness was patchy - particularly the shower rooms (best not to look under the basin plug as our friends did). Breakfast was good but the room very cramped - this problem should be solved when the new restaurant opens.

Expensive for what it is - we paid 258 Libyan dinars per night for our unscheduled second visit - but the location (a 5 minute walk from the Marcus Aurelius Arch and surrounding restaurants) is good.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoofWoofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

Delightful hotel. The manager, espectially, was kind and considerate to young (17,25) and old (87). All staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalliverHelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rural hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

This lovely hotel has it all - beauty; peace and quiet; efficient staff; wonderful cool courtyards to laze in; historic setting; great breakfasts; plunge pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldlady02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london065
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

This is a traditional Tunisian hotel on the outskirts of the old city. It is clean, comfortable, secure and quiet. We were made very welcome. There is a breakfast room and the food was very good. I am happy to recommend this hotel.

Several good restaurants close by.

I can't comment on value - we were on a group tour so don't know the cost of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank london065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
0.0 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#3 of 33 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#22 of 33 in Tripoli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
#2 of 33 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
0.0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#6 of 21 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
#5 of 33 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Khan

Property: El Khan
Address: Arbaa Arsat Street, Tripoli Old Town | P.O. Box 10070, Tripoli, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — El Khan 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming small hotel with 15 rooms beautifully done in Arabic/Oriental style. Located in Tripoli's old town with under 10 minutes walk to the National Museum. We strive to make guests feel at home rather than being in a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing