We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here”
Review of El Khan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Khan
Ranked #5 of 21 Tripoli B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I have just returned from Tripoli and have to say that this hotel was fabulous. I would definitely recommend staying here. The riad and rooms were beautiful and the location very good. A good choice of foods at breakfast and all very fresh. Would definitely stay here again ... in fact I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerEM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for El Khan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2010

A lovely hotel with friendly approachable staff. Comfortable clean beds; had a great nights sleep there. Lots of nooks and crannies to relax with a good book. Have no plans to return to Tripoli but would go back just to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissFussyOCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

A lovely hotel - very friendly staff and good food. Nothing seems too much trouble for them. A pleasure to go back to at the end of a hot busy day.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singlewhitefemale44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I did not know I would find such a delightful small hotel in Tripoli. I found it through tripadvisor and it was just what I was looking for, with an excellent location in the old medina.
The bedrooms open on to an internal courtyard and can be a bit dark, as they are shielded from the heat of the sun. There are plenty of separate seating areas around the courtyards. Breakfast is a buffet. The plunge pool was a welcome relief after a hard day at the Roman ruins.
The staff are very helpful without being intrusive.
I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffandLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I was most impressed with this elegant and inviting hotel, which has been renovated to a high standard and is run by very friendly and helpful staff. The location is great - inside the medina in Tripoli - and the area is very safe at night. If you want to avoid the corporate luxury of the chain hotels, this boutique establishment is for you. Sitting by the pool is a great place to chill out (though, like elsewhere in Libya, alcohol is banned so it's strictly Coke, tea and coffee); the restaurant serves astonishing shrimp; and the rooms are very comfortable (though I wish they had better lighting for night-time reading). There is even satellite TV for those, like me, who are addicted to the box even on holiday. There is plenty of charm, and it's blissfully quiet!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

A stylish conversion of some old houses in the medina - and every room has a different character. Quietly efficient service at all levels, but especially from the manager, Aref Salim. A delightfully tranquil place to relax at the end of a long day's sightseeing. And the best grilled shrimps I've ever tasted!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KahawaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The El Khan is a delightful boutique hotel in the heart of the Tripoli medina. A perfect position for exploring the old town. The hotel is full of charachter with delightful design touches and very comfortable furniture throughout. In addtion the restaurant was excellent (although expensive) and the large plunge pool was a godsend in the afternoons. Best of all were the staff who provided a very personal and dedicated service. At times it felt like we were being looked after by familiy, especially when my wife was presented with an enormous birthday cake. Particular plaudits must go to Isam for whom nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
0.0 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#6 of 27 in Tripoli
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
#2 of 27 in Tripoli
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#18 of 27 in Tripoli
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#8 of 21 in Tripoli
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
#5 of 27 in Tripoli
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Khan

Address: Arbaa Arsat Street, Tripoli Old Town | P.O. Box 10070, Tripoli, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Tripoli
Price Range: £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Khan 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming small hotel with 15 rooms beautifully done in Arabic/Oriental style. Located in Tripoli's old town with under 10 minutes walk to the National Museum. We strive to make guests feel at home rather than being in a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing