We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, centrally located”
Review of Awal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Awal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Tripoli
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, centrally located”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I recently had the chance to visit the Awal Hotel and was very impressed, especially by it's cleanliness! The hotel was spotless and seemed to be well run. The management and staff are friendly, and internet/wifi are available throughout the whole hotel. The hotel is very centrally located, just off the main street in downtown Tripoli, and sits right across from the International Fair Grounds. It is easily within walking distance of Martyr's Square. I would highly recommend the Awal Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Libyatravelandtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your kind review. Your comments are very much appreciated, especially when coming from an experienced local travel operator.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed in the Awal Hotel while interviewing for jobs in Tripoli. The hotel was immaculate and modern. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was exceptional in comparison to those offered at other hotels in Libya.

The Awal hotel is in a convenient location--within walking distance of Martyrs square on the water and the old city.

The staff is quite friendly and accommodating. My one complaint is that we reserved a taxi for a 5 am airport run, but the person working at the desk did not follow through and we were stuck waiting for 45 minutes while the morning person looked for someone to drive us.

Aside from the taxi issue, I would definitely stay at the Awal again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LEOleprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your comments and are glad that we met your expectations. We checked about the taxi issue and it seems that there was a misunderstanding from our side. Please accept our apologies. We hope to welcome you again to Awal Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Visited Libya on many different occasions and stayed at various hotels.
Once I discovered Awal Hotel there was no alternative accommodation place where I felt welcome by the dedicated staff, cleanliness and comfortable rooms which are daily cleaned and coupled with its proximity to the main exhibition center and situated in the hearth of the business activity center Tripoli - I highly recommend.
Excellent breakfast and although there is no in-house restaurant for the evening meals, dinner was ordered and delivered to my room..with a smile no matter how late it was!! No extra charge.. that's a service..
There is a phone in the room, internet and TV with ample different stations. What are you grinning about....You might say they should be basic in 2013..well they are not. I am presently in UK, hotel is costing me more than it costs at Awal with no breakfast, no phone in room, no internet in room, no dinner facilities.
Awal Hotel did not save any expense. They have it all and they do it with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Busu1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your comments.
We hope to welcome you again to Awal Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Myself & My company's guests prefer to stay at AWAL Hotel,Simply because everything at AWAL really traditional, Rooms are smart and classical, People working at AWAL are really friendly and helfull, I also enjoyed the quality of the breakfast offer where you can see different types of food, AWAL Hotel located in Triploi Center, You can reach to the national museum & Tripoli Old City in just about 15 minutes walking, I recommend AWAL Hotel for another simple reason which concerns budget, Actually prices at AWAL are really affordable.

Room Tip: Security around the hotel area is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mohamed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Many thanks for your review. We hope to see you again in Tripoli soon.

Best Regards from the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabriz, Azarbayjan-e Bakhtari, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Awal Hotel is a wonderful palace in Libya.
When i trip to Libya i stayed 7 days. and i felt at in my home. Priminilary i want to say thank you all Awal hotel persons. Promise i will visit your country and your hotel. Please don't forget if you want to hospitality and comfort and clean in Tripoli you have to visit Awal Hotel.

Room Tip: all stairs wonderfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leyla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We hope to see you again in Tripoli soon.

Best Regards from the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gharghur, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have found Awal Hotel to be very welcoming and especially clean. Breakfast served was also to my liking given that there was much more on the table then in any other hotel around Tripoli. Staff was very friendly and polite. Wifi service available without any trouble. Will recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good service in a prime location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donovan72S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Many thanks for your positive review.
We take great satisfaction when reading such comments.
We hope to see you again soon at Awal Hotel, and do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msida, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have been using regularly this hotel for more than two years, Just after the end of the Libyan War.It is very central, and clean, rooms well furnished, breakfast is good when compared to other hotels of the same category. Internet Wi Fi connection at times is very slow, however this depends on the national network. There is a car park in front of the hotel which has become a necessity in Tripoli

Room Tip: Back Rooms are quieter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Many thanks for your positive review.
We hope to see you again soon at Awal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tripoli
1.7 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
0.6 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
#2 of 27 in Tripoli
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sabratha Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Sabratah
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Khan
El Khan
#5 of 21 in Tripoli
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#6 of 21 in Tripoli
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#18 of 27 in Tripoli
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awal Hotel

Property: Awal Hotel
Address: Errebiya Elarbi Street (formerly Meseera el Kubra) | off Omar El Mokhtar Street, Tripoli 10.03.271, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Awal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awal Hotel offers a high standard of quality accommodation and hospitality that meets the needs of the holiday maker, business or corporate traveler. Awal Hotel is conveniently situated in El Meseera El Kubra Street, a very central location in the heart of Tripoli, just off Omar Al Mokhtar Street, one of Tripoli’s major business districts. The Tripoli International Fairgrounds can be reached within five minutes walk from the hotel, making Awal Hotel a perfect location for exhibitors and visitors alike. The hotel is also within few minutes reach by taxi to the foremost business centre The Al Fateh Towers and the Dath Al Imad Towers, both hosting commercial offices and retail outlets of numerous reputable international companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Awal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing