We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean affordable hotel”
Review of Awal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Awal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Location is very good, across the road from best Italian in town, not far from other restaurants and the old town; rooms/bathrooms are extremely clean and fresh; nice big shower head; breakfast nice, wide choice of delicious hot and cold and fruit, really good Egyptian manager of restaurant. All staff members were friendly and polite and efficient. Sat TV had loads channels.
On the downish side, wifi was available in the room but the code needed to be updated regularly, and service itself also often needed resetting, which receptionists took care of. They were expecting an upgrade so it may be better now. Receptionist and desk people are friendly and efficient but were sometimes not at the desk, so maybe more desk staff would help.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the inside, quiet side, and/or bring ear plugs coz of mosque next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nslyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, Guest Relations Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for your feedback and we value your comments. We have actually carried out an upgrade to our hotel internet infrastructure recently, and we have seen a marked improvement in the service. With regards to having to enter the code multiple times, this shouldn't be the case as the system is set in a way to recognize devices that were previously registered. It might however be something related to your specific device. Would appreciate if you can send us the details of your device (brand / model number) so that we can investigate the matter further with our technical team. You can send us the information through the feedback form on our website.

Thanks once again for choosing Awal Hotel as your place of stay in Tripoli and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very welcoming hotel. Extremely clean and well kept. Free WIFI in every room and common areas. Great Satellite TV. Very good breakfast served...it is a pitty that dinner is not served. However, for those who prefer to stay indoors at night, a take away meal can be easily ordered through reception. Overall this hotel is highly recommended because it offers excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, Guest Relations Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks a lot for your positive comments. Yes, regarding meals, we can offer various meals for in-room delivery that can be ordered through the hotel front-desk. Food options available include: pizza, kebab, soup, meat, chicken and fish dishes.

Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Pros:
Free wifi in lobby. Decent speed.
Very central location, though a decent walk to the market.
Very nice reception
Decent breakfast
Modest room

Cons:
A little noisy if on the street sign
No security
Slow elevator

Otherwise a great hotel if on a modest budget.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, Guest Relations Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear guest, thanks for your review, we appreciate your comments. We are always happy to listen to our customers, and try to accommodate requirements wherever possible. With regards to the wifi service, we are actually just making a further upgrade to our satellite internet system this week. This should enable us to provide even better internet access to our guests, in the guest rooms, as well as the public areas of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Tripoli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I come very often for years to this hotel, I tried many other hotels in town and this is the best. Friendly people, tide and clean, small nice rooms and close to all other hotels and shops. It is good if you are coming for short business trips.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Eid101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your comments.
We hope to welcome you again to Awal Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Awal Hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Tripoli just off a major artery of the road system, giving you a pristinely clean room (I counted 1 maid per 5 rooms which is unheard of), friendly staff, actually familiar staff that will do their best to service you every need. The internet is fast and pretty reliable by Libyan standards. The only drawback is the fact the Awal doesn't offer in-house dining, which is something I believe can easily be added to the service profile as most business trip require long days out and early return to home, a simple snack menu would do the trick. I've never looked elsewhere and recommend it to any other traveller to this destination.

Room Tip: Always try for seaview!! Joking apart, ask for a room furthest from the Mosque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your comments.
As you say, at this point in time we are only serving breakfast at our hotel; however we do offer a service where guests can order lunch or dinner from nearby restaurants and we take care of the delivery (room service). This service is provided for free through our reception counter.

Do not hesitate to let us know should you need any more information, and we hope to welcome you again to Awal Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I recently had the chance to visit the Awal Hotel and was very impressed, especially by it's cleanliness! The hotel was spotless and seemed to be well run. The management and staff are friendly, and internet/wifi are available throughout the whole hotel. The hotel is very centrally located, just off the main street in downtown Tripoli, and sits right across from the International Fair Grounds. It is easily within walking distance of Martyr's Square. I would highly recommend the Awal Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Libyatravelandtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your kind review. Your comments are very much appreciated, especially when coming from an experienced local travel operator.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed in the Awal Hotel while interviewing for jobs in Tripoli. The hotel was immaculate and modern. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was exceptional in comparison to those offered at other hotels in Libya.

The Awal hotel is in a convenient location--within walking distance of Martyrs square on the water and the old city.

The staff is quite friendly and accommodating. My one complaint is that we reserved a taxi for a 5 am airport run, but the person working at the desk did not follow through and we were stuck waiting for 45 minutes while the morning person looked for someone to drive us.

Aside from the taxi issue, I would definitely stay at the Awal again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LEOleprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your comments and are glad that we met your expectations. We checked about the taxi issue and it seems that there was a misunderstanding from our side. Please accept our apologies. We hope to welcome you again to Awal Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tripoli
0.6 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
#2 of 27 in Tripoli
120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#18 of 27 in Tripoli
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sabratha Youth Hostel
Sabratha Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Sabratah
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#8 of 21 in Tripoli
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Khan
El Khan
#5 of 21 in Tripoli
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awal Hotel

Address: Errebiya Elarbi Street | off Omar El Mokhtar Street, Tripoli 10.03.271, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Price Range: £76 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Awal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awal Hotel offers a high standard of quality accommodation and hospitality that meets the needs of the holiday maker, business or corporate traveler. Awal Hotel is conveniently situated in El Meseera El Kubra Street, a very central location in the heart of Tripoli, just off Omar Al Mokhtar Street, one of Tripoli’s major business districts. The Tripoli International Fairgrounds can be reached within five minutes walk from the hotel, making Awal Hotel a perfect location for exhibitors and visitors alike. The hotel is also within few minutes reach by taxi to the foremost business centre The Al Fateh Towers and the Dath Al Imad Towers, both hosting commercial offices and retail outlets of numerous reputable international companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Awal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing