We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a Chain Hotel but Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Little to say here other than this hotel is smart, clean and well presented, the staff are attentive and efficient though not many are Libyan. The rooms are reasonably priced but the food is expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

One of few 5 stars of Tripoli, Corinthia enjoys this opportunity to charge 225 euros + taxes for 1 night. Room air condition is not situated for heating where you can freeze like I did in february. There is one closet, a small 63 cm TV with a few TV stations, no carpets, no slippers, no robes. Mini bar empty and they charge handsomely for a dinner at the restaurant. Book only if you can not find rooms in other 5 stars...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssjordan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Well, Libya is recovering from its famous war...
anyway, being objective I will say the below:

- No room service ( ?? really ??)
- No wireless internet in the rooms
- only 1 restaurant and 1 cafe
- barely have enough slippers and robe de bain!!! ( asked for one they're like: ok let's check if we have some more)
- no entertainment at all
- spa is minimum by monthly subscription
- smile guys !! come on we're your visitors here!

but to be fair, the buffet is awesomeeeeee! really good and rich.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naji A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a top hotel that is recovering nicely from the recent conflict and shortages of staff / supplies that resulted.

Nicely appointed rooms, decent food quality in the restaurant and consistant internet service

Room Tip: Tower 1 high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fwohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

When in Libya I don't usually stay at the Corinthia, but given the current security concerns I wanted a place whereby I needn't roam and stroll around (especially at night) in search for a restaurant. So I booked a room at the Corinthia. I paid a hefty EUR225 per night and to be quite honest there's nothing out of the ordinary to justify the price. By far the Corinthia Tripoli scores well when compared to other local hotels in Libya but by international standards this place is average.

The rooms are spacious and furniture is well laid. There are no fitted carpets in the rooms and for me this is a positive thing. Cleanliness is adequate but again not top notch. A decorative ornament in the room must have been quite a while since it received a dust off. My bathroom door handle was broken and bathroom tiles at the bottom end of the shower cubicle are severely rust-stained. Surely not the utmost for a 5 star.

Food is good, not great - but definitely expensive. So is the coffee shop, 9LD for two coffees is indeed expensive in Tripoli. The service especially at breakfast is slow, many times it was a challenge to find a clean table after 8.00am. Checking in and out took ages to complete. The business centre couldn't offer me a wireless internet connection at my time of stay, instead they offered a wired internet connection from my room, but still didn't work!

In a nutshell this hotel did not meet my expectations. I don't think I would stay again here, unless prices are improved.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlGaffiero G, Guest Services Manager at Corinthia Hotel Tripoli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Allow us to thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with valuable feedback relating to your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel, Tripoli.

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for not having met your expectations. Your comments relating to your room, our restaurant and café, the front desk and the internet service available have been shared with the hotel management team and steps are being taken to correct any service inconsistencies that may have arisen.

May we also take this opportunity to inform you that we have recently embarked on a soft refurbishment program for all our guest rooms which will allow us to provide our clients with an improved experience in the near future.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments and assure you that they have been of great help to us.

We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you at the Corinthia Hotel, Tripoli, once again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Karl Gaffiero
Guest Services Manager
CORINTHIA HOTEL TRIPOLI
LIBYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel has large, well-decorated rooms with modern bathrooms and nice views over the city: although the rooms are slightly dated, for this city, this is one of the best...and you pay dearly for it. The gym is well-equipped, and the buffet breakfast is excellent with a very nice international selection: staff were attentive during this stay and had no issues with English.

The wifi, like the stay, is expensive and the laundry is ridiculously so (as you would expect from a hotel of this caliber), but if you're looking for a safe bet and can afford it, this is a good choice. The location is in easy walking distance to numerous local sights / museums, and is located near (or in?) the city's business district.

Writing months after the stay early in the year, it should be noted that the situation in Tripoli has obviously changed dramatically from the time of the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bvonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

this hotel is very nice, clean, and modern. It is very centric and the staff is always willing to help. The majority of the staff speak very good english. Room service was not that great. Stay here and have an awesome time in tripoli.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Laredo_TXBolovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
2.9 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
0.6 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#6 of 27 in Tripoli
34 reviews
0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#18 of 27 in Tripoli
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#8 of 21 in Tripoli
10 reviews
0 mi away
El Khan
El Khan
#5 of 21 in Tripoli
49 reviews
0 mi away
Al Waddan Hotel
Al Waddan Hotel
#12 of 27 in Tripoli
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Tripoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Tripoli

Address: Souk Al Thulatha Al Gadim, Tripoli 82874, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tripoli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tripoli
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tripoli
Price Range: £259 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Tripoli 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Tripoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Bab Africa Tripoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing