We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star prices, 2 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here 10 days in April and booked about 15 additional rooms for a delegation. Service was very poor and not as a cause of still returning to normal. It doesn't really take much to give a wake up call after agreeing to. Still no room service and front desk service was non-existent. Staff is nice though indifferent, and they don't seem to have any management to keep anything on track. Management that are there seem focused on price gouging rather than providing value for money. Radisson service is much better and prices are lower.

Room Tip: Executive room floors are the same rooms, but have access to the executive lounge. The guys who are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWDWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed 6 nights. High prices but best hotel in town. Rooms are very large and 
With sea view. Walls and door soundproof. The hotel was not crowded at all. Reception and security guys very very smiling and nice. The receptionist could speak at least Arabic, English and French (very good French). Security guys always had a word in French. Only one restaurant La Valette was opened with buffet: very nice, very good and fresh food. This comes at a price: 40 euros... Very very expensive for Lydia and would be too expensive in Europe. but that is the price to pay there. Internet free in lobby and in rooms: very good speed. They forgot to clean my room one day.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank MeddEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at the Corinthia Hotel for 3 nights on a recent business trip and they have returned to International levels of servuice and performance very quickly after the conflict. Not all the F&B venues are operating as yet and you maybe notice that a little after a few days but what is open is a very good standard. The staff and rooms are first class and the views amazing - strongly reccommend the place.

Room Tip: Clubs level is worth the small extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunesdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Signs of the recent conflict are still very evident. The airport contains the sight of injured people going to and returning from medical aid aboard. Airport security was still under the control of one of the main malita groups and not what you would expect at most similar venues. I was directed out onto the front public part of the building in order to change money and pay for my visa!

That said the collective sense of release and joy hits you very early. Yes we had a few hassles at first but found that some of the 'officials' even had a sense of humour (when was the last time you encountered that in the west). On route to the Hotel had to get throught a couple of milita road checks, again you will feel more threatened by many national police and military bodies in other countries.

On arrival the Hotel had armed security and scanners but the atmosphere even after dark was relaxed. The check-in went well and the staff were organised and spoke good English. The reception area was huge with an open cafe area and signs of people conducting business.

Rooms were large and clean with what I took to be a North African theme. The mini bar contained everything but alcohol, as the demon drink is still considered a big no no. WC and showers were fine and yes the TV was one of the smallest I have seen in any Hotel.

Enjoyed breakfast and lunch over a three day period and could not fault it. The service was friendly but maybe they could have done with a few extra bodies. The business facilities were up to standard and it was clear the venue was being used to conduct lots of business.

Maybe not everyones idea of 5 stars but all considered this Hotel is doing better that it has any right to. My guess is it will go from strength to strength and in a year or two it will be truely excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockstarNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Little to say here other than this hotel is smart, clean and well presented, the staff are attentive and efficient though not many are Libyan. The rooms are reasonably priced but the food is expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

One of few 5 stars of Tripoli, Corinthia enjoys this opportunity to charge 225 euros + taxes for 1 night. Room air condition is not situated for heating where you can freeze like I did in february. There is one closet, a small 63 cm TV with a few TV stations, no carpets, no slippers, no robes. Mini bar empty and they charge handsomely for a dinner at the restaurant. Book only if you can not find rooms in other 5 stars...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssjordan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Well, Libya is recovering from its famous war...
anyway, being objective I will say the below:

- No room service ( ?? really ??)
- No wireless internet in the rooms
- only 1 restaurant and 1 cafe
- barely have enough slippers and robe de bain!!! ( asked for one they're like: ok let's check if we have some more)
- no entertainment at all
- spa is minimum by monthly subscription
- smile guys !! come on we're your visitors here!

but to be fair, the buffet is awesomeeeeee! really good and rich.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naji A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tripoli
2.9 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
0.6 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#5 of 27 in Tripoli
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#18 of 27 in Tripoli
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sabratha Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Sabratah
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Khan
El Khan
#5 of 21 in Tripoli
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#8 of 21 in Tripoli
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Tripoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Tripoli

Address: Souk Al Thulatha Al Gadim, Tripoli 82874, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tripoli
#2 Spa Hotel in Tripoli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tripoli
Price Range: £259 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Tripoli 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Tripoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Bab Africa Tripoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing