We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel Tripoli

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Tripoli
Horten
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times the past year and have always been met by a very friendly and helpful staff, excellent food and spacious rooms.
I've tried other hotels in Tripoli but this is by far my preference.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Jørn Ivar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    56
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
4
9
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of UK trade delegation visiting several sites in Libya. Due to security concerns our trip was ammended to focus on Tripoli only.

The hotel was clean, well appointed and staff very helpfull. We had a lot of embassy staff coming and going from the hotel who's staff were very accomodating of this. I would have no concerns about returning to this hotel even though days after leaving Libya the president of the country was kidnapped from the same hotel!

Compared with other hotels in the region I would always but the Corinthia in the top two when planning a return visit despite the security issues.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Good points, Excellent spacious rooms, good coffee downstairs in the Lobby. Breakfast selection and service was good. Made to feel welcome. Service can improve but considering this is Libya is was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

If you are heading to Tripoli, then a great hotel for Expats that arn't too used to the area, would be the Corinthia! The only thing I was not happy with was the long walk from your car to the doors... There must be 60 wide steps just to get to the main doors and then depending on what tower you are staying in another ways to go, especially if you are close to the top. The food was great, the service fine and the gym was fully outfitted.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterMcGrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I spent there several weeks in 2008/09. The staff was always very motivated. I used to stay member for the gym after I changed to company provided guest houses. The location is top. Old city centre is very close is vincinity. Very Good breakfast, good Italian restaurant.

It is not a five star by european standards but it was definitely one of the best places to stay in Tripoli.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina B, Guest Relations Manager at Corinthia Hotel Tripoli, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased to know you are a repeated guest, hence thank you for choosing Corinthia Hotel Tripoli for your stay again.

We are glad that you like our location as well as the overall quality of breakfast. You have also positively commented on the Italian Restaurant Venezia. We would like to inform you that in very near future we will launch a brand new menu and at same time we will be opening the Venezia Terrace for a summer period, so that our guests can enjoy the wonderful view over the sea and Tripoli.

We appreciate your loyalty and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Corinthia Hotel Tripoli.

Warmest Regards,


Valentina Bambuchova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Spent about five months living in this hotel which was selected for our stay due to its good security reputation. The hotel is in the heart of the city and has the advantage of being set off any of the major roads. Surrounded by green areas and having two swimming pools (one interior for the winter months and one exterior) the hotel has a good gym facility which is free for guests.
The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms large and well lit. The bathrooms had both bath and a cubicle shower which is always nice.
The breakfast buffet is generous and well stocked with a wide variety of foods. The hotel has three restaurants which offer good food although at a relatively high price.
Whilst in general it has to be said the staff who worked at the hotel were usually very helpful and correct those at the Venezia Restaurant were not.
For those going to Libya in these rather troubling times the Corinthia hotel offers a semblance of normality.
It should be noted that the hotel whilst having a good security reputation is not to be considered an entirely secure location. Militia groups can and do enter when they wish to and should they want to remove an individual from the hotel it is difficult to image the hotel security being able to stop them.

Room Tip: All the rooms are more or less the same with the view changing somewhat depending on which side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OldParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina B, Guest Relations Manager at Corinthia Hotel Tripoli, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing with us your feedback on the recent stay with Corinthia Hotel Tripoli.

It is indeed a pleasure to read the words of appreciation on the product itself as well as hotel services.

Regarding the well documented incident that is referred to in your last comment, you will appreciate that this was a domestic political issue in which the hotel could not enter and goes beyond the remit of the hotel's security functions.

Thank you again for deciding to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you soon back to Corinthia Hotel Tripoli.


Sincerely,


Valentina Bambuchova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here on business for four days in October and found it pretty good. There's a decent choice of restaurants and the food is generally good, though I'm an early bird and I wish that full breakfast service began at 6.30 and not 7.00. It's clean and well maintained and the staff are attentive and helpful. I needed to arrange a seminar while I was here, and get a lot of handouts printed, and the Business Centre staff dealt with it well. Internet is free and connections good. It's almost fifty years since I first came to Tripoli and this is as good as hotels have been here in that time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina B, Guest Relations Manager at Corinthia Hotel Tripoli, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing with us your positive experience with Corinthia Hotel Tripoli while on business in Libya.

We appreciate your compliments on Food and Beverage, Business Centre services and overall condition of the hotel, in terms of cleanliness. Hope you have enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you soon back to Corinthia Hotel Tripoli.

Warmest regards,


Valentina Bambuchova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
1.7 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
0.6 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#3 of 33 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#22 of 33 in Tripoli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Khan
El Khan
#5 of 21 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#6 of 21 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
#5 of 33 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Tripoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Tripoli

Property: Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Address: Souk Al Thulatha Al Gadim, Tripoli, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tripoli
#2 Spa Hotel in Tripoli
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Tripoli 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Tripoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Bab Africa Tripoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing