We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home (far) away from home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tripoli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sara Guardian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home (far) away from home”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Sarah Guardian Hotel is a place which I would recommend to anyone who's planning a visit to Tripoli, business or leisure. Ali, Nadia, Sofeyah and Mohammed did everthing to make my visit so well worth it. The feeling is very informal, you really feel as if you are at home somewhere. Nadia and Sofeyah both cook delicious. Besides that the service is the very best. I faced some problems, and Ali took care of everything. For example the rejection of my visa, when I was trying to checkin at Tunisairport to fly to Tripoli. Tunisair didn't allowed me to checkin and so I couldn't take my flight to Libya. I emailed Nadia and Ali. They did everything they could, and with their network/contacts I was able to still fly to Tripoli the same day, without further costs/expensen. Kim (solo traveler, girl, 24)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimsikking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    16
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
2
30
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Ali and the ladies really do know how to look after their guests and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are clean and the food is great, although there is always too much!

Forget the 5 star hotels and exeprience a real Libyan welcome at the Sara Guardian.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

An extremely well run place. Very friendly owner and staff, whom couldn’t have been more helpful. Rooms are not huge, but perfectly manageable, wifi and air cond work, and they were very clean.

Food excellent. Would thoroughly recommend Sara Guardian to anyone staying in Tripoli.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishlocust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2010

It was my first time in Libya, and I really loved the hospitality of the Sara Guardian hotel, Mr. Ali, Nadia and Sofia were more than nice to me.
I liked the food as well, more like home cooking in professional way, it’s really easy for taxi drivers to know the area, closed to everything in Tripoli, not expensive, you feel more like home…. Indeed best hotel ever…
Thanks Again Ali, Nadia and Sofia….

Rashad.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RashadBashour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We have just returned from Libya and the first thing to say is a great BIG thanks to Ali, Nadia and Sofia for making our stay so great. As you might have guessed we were truly wonderfully well looked after. From arranged trips to the sights, shopping trips and advice on how to get around and what to do. Also the food in the hotel was fabulous. The meals we were served were both modern and traditional to the country, and Nadia was more than happy to adapt these to suit our palets if needed. To my son's delight, there was chips every night as well as fresh local fish and hearty meat dishes with variety of salads. Every night we finished the meal with lovely local style tea and cakes all served by the ladies in a wonderful homely atmosphere. I had many conversations with the girls who were happy to reveal the recipes which I will be trying on my friends and family. On reflection I have never been so well looked after in a hotel anywhere else, and we've travelled quite considerably. If you decide to go to the big hotel chain in this area you will truly miss out.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2010

This is a family-run hotel which delivers excellent, friendly service. Sophia cooks truly delicious food and Ali is full of helpful practical advice. They are genuinely keen on helping you resolve any logisitical problems which come up. The internet works, the rooms are spotless, they can arrange airport pick ups and they truly care about you. As someone else said, it is like staying with friends, and this makes up for the small rooms and tiny bathrooms. I have had bad service and bad food in far more expensive hotels in Tripoli before, so this was a nice change.

The hotel is not in the centre of Tripoli, but that is only a few minutes away by car. Taxis are plentiful and the area is well-lit and easy to find.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Having read the glowing reviews for this hotel and having been around several of Tripoli's other hotels, i thought i would give this place a try. I have to say that i thought i arrived at the wrong place when i first entered. Priced at 135 Libyan Dinars a night for a small room with a double bed it is on the more pricey side. For the same amount of money (or even less) you could stay in the very centre of Tripoli and be in a much bigger room with better facilities. In short first time visitors should be aware that their dinar can go much further than the prices offered here. The rooms which start at 45 euro are basically broom closets and not suitable for a long stay at all. In Europe this would be rated as a 2 star motel. That said, the major competitive edge this hotel has above the others in Tripoli is the service. They do know what they are doing here and it does have a pleasant atmosphere. I went from two other bigger hotels which despite promises did not manage to deliver functioning internet. Be warned though that internet is not free as one reviewer posted and is charged at 10 dinars a night and possibly more depending on usage. The location of the hotel is problematic and i would much rather stay somewhere central but It really depends on what you look for in a hotel, personally i prefer comfort and location above everything else which is where Sara's Guardian fails (the sheets for example were very old and had that horrible bobbly feel on them, not what you expect in such a pricey hotel), but if your priority is services and more people orientated then this is one of the best in Tripoli in that respect, the people are very kind and will bend over backwards to help you, but for me it just wasn't enough overall to justify the price.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter106669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
1.9 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#6 of 27 in Tripoli
34 reviews
3.3 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
2.4 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
#2 of 27 in Tripoli
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#18 of 27 in Tripoli
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
#5 of 27 in Tripoli
4 reviews
2.7 mi away
Al Waddan Hotel
Al Waddan Hotel
#10 of 27 in Tripoli
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara Guardian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Guardian Hotel

Property: Sara Guardian Hotel
Address: No4 Sayf Ben Dyzn street | Babb Bengasheer, PO Box 81202, Tripoli, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sara Guardian is a small family hotel located in the south of Tripoli centre, the are is very nice, clean, full of shops and restaurants, the streets are not congested, taxis available any time with very good fairs. The hotel is kept clean 24/7, the furniture of fine Italian quality, the rooms are bright and all en-suite with private showers, digital flat screen TVs with unlimited sports and entertainment, Wifi high speed internet at any place in the hotel 24/24 free. Services are second to none from full breakfast, refreshments, snacks, fresh cooked meals at very good prices. Daily laundry at good prices, secretarial and photo copying, faxing, telephone services 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saras Guardian Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing