We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family/Business Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sara Guardian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tripoli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sara Guardian Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Tripoli
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family/Business Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

It's rare to find any hotel, much less a small and out of the way hotel that will treat you any better or show you the personal attention this hotel offers. I am a business traveler of over 30 years and from the reservation process to the check out process, I was extremely impressed. My needs were cared for in a manner that has yet to be matched by any hotel, including the four and five star hotels I've stayed at. I'm not saying this hotel is the Ritz Carlton but, there's more to a hotel than just a name. A quality room that is very neat and clean, excellent food in good quantity, an internet that functions extremely well. Ali and Nadia treat you as if they are genuinely happy to have you as their guest. Convenient to airport and business centers. I would recommend this well kept secret hotel to anyone and this is where I will always stay when I return to Tripoli. Thank you Ali and Nadia for your wonderful hospitality during my stay.

Best regards,

Jack Shearer
Montgomery, Texas

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack4424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    16
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
2
30
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Really nice and friendly hotel. Very helpful - organised our visa and also a trip to Leptis Magna, all went smoothly. Provided nice vegetarian food (we requested in advance). Very clean and comfortable, all staff tried hard to make our stay enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topcat024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Stayed for a week. The rooms were very good and clean. Broadband was much better than other hotels I have stayed at in Tripoli. The service provided was excellent. Evening meals were above and beyond the call of duty, provided by Nadia.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Best service, perfect central location, plenty of parking space nearby !!!! (at any time of the day), friendly and helpful staff, lots of help and good advice from the proprietor, rooms clean and calm, free internet access, good food, family atmosphere, affordable prices.
from
Thomas Muerrle

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muerrletom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bluff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

This hotel is NOT as advertised. It is - now pay attention - a MODULAR building - it is not hard construction, maybe some pieces are but the rest NO. It is not easy to find - just a
DOOR on a street. Inside you have way below average furnishings, dark dank small rooms and all of the food is PAID for. No real lobby - the people who run this hotel do not like Libyan nationals even though they are Libyan. The rates that were advertised were not available ANY time. Internet is NOT free.

We can only assume that the owners of this flea trap hotel made most of the reviews himself.

There are SO many BETTER hotels in Libya such as The Four Seasons 2, free breakfast
clean upscale rooms, free wireless internet and very friendly people. We have stayed there on 4 different trips for business to Tripoli.

Avoid this joke of a hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mylo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
almesa23, Manager at Sara Guardian Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2010
One thing we are sure of: :we had no Guests from USA During The month of July.2010
with the exception of one American lady who stayed with us from mid of june to 18th September 2010
she left with happeness and we miss her.Our hotel was Built from stones as any other fine Building in Tripoli,Our rooms are Bright,Comfortable and filled with fine Quality Italian Furniture, how can we write Reviews on behalf of our Guests from all over the world?
as the review writer had suggested?
The Proof is in all of these fantastic reviews which acknowledeged our sincere efforts to make our guests feel the pleasure of being at home ,even when they were thousands of miles away.
We were astonishes by such unfair review by a person twho took advantage of the Tripadvisor transparent system to discharge the jealousy and hate ,being unable to understand yje grand success we are having above all other hotels in Tripoli,so this person came with this idea to reflect a bad image on our hotel and our selves and our services , with the hope we loose on Business,
Thanks to our honorable sincere honest guests who wrote their honest truthful Reviews by free well expressed their fine experiences in our hotel. many thanks to every good one of them and many thanks to Tripadvisor panel who gave us the chance to uncover this conceperacy and fabricated review,
We can assure all our Guets that we did not change in our attitudes or services amd distiguished hospitality.and every day it is a happy day for us all.
This Review is harnful,it is Faulse..it is a reflection on a hopeless case. with confused Despair and Jealousy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

I had a very good time at there. you do not need anything to do by yourself, because the boss is so thoughtful.

To an Chinese, the hotel is a nice choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xienxiechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

I came across this hotel via Trip advisor having previously been to Tripoli but was looking for something different...boy did I find it. I had been impressed by the comments but nothing prepared us for the care and hospitality my family and I recieved.

When I heard of this hotel I was particularly attracted to the help with visas, (see their web site,) and I could not believe just how easy and straightforward Mr Ali and his family made obtaining a visa for myself and my family. Everything they said would happen, happened when promised and no money was requested before we were actually in Libya for any of the services provided prior to our arrival. As a result of my experience I would say that anyone thinking of a trip to this extraordinary country should seriously consider staying here and making all their arrangements via Mr Ali and his wonderful family. Their hospitality is second to none and I would be astonished if anyone visiting could say anything negative about the hospitality and the help they will receive.
They will help with airport pickups, tours and our guide had near perfect English as of course did Mr Ali and his family. We went for a walk around the souk which was terrific, seeing the gold shops and the Arch of Marcus Aurelius just as the sun set.
We ate dinner in the hotel and were treated to a wonderful home cooked meal that satisfied the demands of two kids as well as two adults. It was wonderful, really wonderful and cooked to order. There was also unlimited tea, coffee soft drinks and non alcoholic beer.
As for the hotel it is situated a little way out of the centre but not so far as to cause any real concerns for us. It is very traditionally furnished and if I have one concern it was the lack of a family room. This resulted in us having two rooms which added a little to our costs. The beds were comfortable and each room had cable TV with CNN, BBC and other stations. Facilities are a bit basic but clean and functional but anyone considering this hotel should be aware that the bathrooms are not 5 star but they are spotlessly clean.
Indeed I would say the hotel is more like a big bed a breakfast and no one should expect international hotel standards from the building. What it lacks in the physical features is more than made up for from the incredible hospitality of Mr Ali and is delightful family. I hope it will not be too long before we can return.
If you are thinking of going do so now and try the Sara Guardian.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Binman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
3.3 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
1.9 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#3 of 33 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
#2 of 33 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#22 of 33 in Tripoli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
#5 of 33 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Khan
El Khan
#5 of 21 in Tripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara Guardian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Guardian Hotel

Property: Sara Guardian Hotel
Address: No4 Sayf Ben Dyzn street | Babb Bengasheer, PO Box 81202, Tripoli, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sara Guardian is a small family hotel located in the south of Tripoli centre, the are is very nice, clean, full of shops and restaurants, the streets are not congested, taxis available any time with very good fairs. The hotel is kept clean 24/7, the furniture of fine Italian quality, the rooms are bright and all en-suite with private showers, digital flat screen TVs with unlimited sports and entertainment, Wifi high speed internet at any place in the hotel 24/24 free. Services are second to none from full breakfast, refreshments, snacks, fresh cooked meals at very good prices. Daily laundry at good prices, secretarial and photo copying, faxing, telephone services 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saras Guardian Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing