We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all needs are catered for”
Review of La Maison du Pyla

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antananarivo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Maison du Pyla
Ranked #5 of 102 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at the Maison du Pyla during November 2012 with a large group (we occupied the whole house) for several days. M.me Fanja organised everything to perfection. The rooms were clean and tidy, bathrooms OK, she even did laundry for 25+ people. The meals must be mentioned - just wonderful, prepared with care. If you ever go that way, do not miss the inventive desserts. Luggage could be left behind, transports organised - frankly, it is a miracle. How can she run this tidy and attentive house in that city? Sorry if this hurts feelings - but if you just walk down the street towards the center, you will understand what I mean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaborLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The whole residence is beautifully decorated. The food every day was gourmet and was a real highlight of the stay. It has a great view of tana and is conveniently located close enough to the centre of town, but far enough from the business. Mme Fanja was an amazing hostess and was extremely helpful even away from Maison du Pyla. Overall this is a perfect place to stay in Tana!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here for a night at both the start and the end of our Madagascar holiday and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The house is a bit of a drive from the Tana airport but is totally worth it. The rooms are perfectly clean and cozy, beds comfortable, with the best, hottest showers we took in the country. The beer is cold and you feel safely tucked away out of the busy city. Fanja is an amazing host who cooks up lovely delicious dinners and speaks great English, a real bonus! It feels like you are staying at the home of an old friend. We will be forever grateful to her for helping us figure out a situation with the airlines that we thought was impossible. She spent her entire morning with us at Air Madagascar so that we could figure out how to get home when our flights were delayed so long we would miss our connection. Thank you to Fanja for being so kind and helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndJay0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This is a clean, comfortable and relaxing place to stay after the streets of Tana. Fanja was very helpful and really enjoys her visitors and taking care of them. Her personal touch was obvious everywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks and can warmly recommend this place!

"La Maison du Pyla" offers you nice and clean rooms, great breakfast with fresh juices and self-made products. The house is absolutely comfortable and with the roof-top terrace everything is ready for an excellent stay!
The personnel is always helpful and you can feel like home.
Not only, that the house is cosy and well equipped, it is also very well situated. Small busses going to the city center depart on the other side of the street and the university is just 5 min away by foot!
A supermarket is near and small "epiceries" where you can by some food and drinks are situated on the streets around the house.

Check out "La Maison du Pyla" - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I stayed at Maison du Pyla on 4 separate occasions during a 7 week trip in Madagascar. Each time I was thoroughly looked after! The rooms are clean and comfortable and despite having to share a bathroom, I never queued and I was never greeted by somebody elses mess. Tana is known to be quite unsafe at night, however MdP is very secure. Mme Fanja is a wonderful lady who can never do enough for her guests. I suffer from Coeliac's disease and there were a few vegetarians on our trip. All of us were catered for with our own versions of the evening meal and I received fresh fruit for breakfast every morning. After an intensive biolgoy course in one of the forests, myself and several others arrived at Maison du Pyla rather run down. Mme Fanja not only provided us with what we came to call her 'magic' soup, but even accompanied people to the medical center to act as a translator. On our last morning Mme Fanja ensured that we had a taxi to get us to the airport on time. We all very much enjoyed spending evenings playing cards on the roof terrace over looking Tana, often with a mug of citronelle tea! I really would recommend Maison du Pyla to anyone planning on staying in Tana :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. This place is a proper guest house and has far more character than most hotels. The rooms are individually decorated, and all those that I have stayed in were comfortable and clean. Some have en-suite, and others have a shared bathroom; I have stayed in both and found that even when using the shared bathroom every effort has been made to keep it clean and fresh. The welcome is warm and friendly, and Madame Fanja, the owner, speaks excellent English - very helpful if, like me, you speak little French! There is the option of having both breakfast and dinner, and I would recommend both. Breakfast consists of fresh bread, homemade jams and honey, and a selection of coffee and teas. Dinner is always three courses and includes a variety of foods; my favourites are all the Madagascan specialities, the vanilla chicken, and the homemade yogurt. If you do fancy a change of scene for dinner, Madame Fanja is happy to recommend places, and we have always enjoyed the places suggested.

The only possible disadvantage is that this is a little way out of town. You shouldn’t pay more than 5000 ariary (about £1.75) for a taxi into town however, and you are in a much nicer area near plenty of amenities, local bars, markets, and the district of Tsimbazzaza that includes an excellent restaurant, Chez Nari. Plus, I personally would much rather sit on the terrace with a cold beer watching the sun set over Antananarivo, than be in city centre itself.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
578 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Lovasoa
Maison Lovasoa
#20 of 59 in Antananarivo
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
138 reviews
1.5 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#6 of 59 in Antananarivo
130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Pyla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Pyla

Address: Quartier des facultes, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Price Range: £19 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison du Pyla in Madagascar offers cottages with panoramic views and food services. Guest house of charm located 20 minutes walk from the center of Antananarivo. What happiness to feel at home everywhere! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Pyla Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing