We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little treasure tucked away from the hustle and bustle”
Review of La Maison du Pyla

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antananarivo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Maison du Pyla
Ranked #3 of 92 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little treasure tucked away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I stayed at Maison du Pyla for about 3 weeks in total over my 3-month visit to Madagascar. I stayed there as part of a big group (taking up the whole place), in a small group, on my own, and as part of a couple. It really was the home away from home that allowed me to relax and re-charge my batteries. The rooms are comfortable, beds good (a little short for me, as everywhere!) and the general decor and atmosphere very homely. The hot power showers are great and the best I experienced in Madagascar. the rooftop terrace affords beautiful views at dawn and dusk. Mme Fanja is an amazing and very attentive host, and her cooking rivals some of the expensive restaurants in Tana. Any job that neeed doing, from ordering a taxi, making a packed lunch or doing the laundry was done. Her staff are very helpful and now are starting to learn English. I can't recommend this place enough, and when I return again later this year it will certainly be my base.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbarossaVey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
15
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2013

After have been spending all together three weeks at Maison de Pyla I can assure you that this is the place to stay in Antananarivo. The wonderful, welcoming owner and the familial ambiance are great, especially if you are travelling alone like me. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated and the food is excellent (which include the best chocolate mousse and rhum arrangé I have ever had). In addition you have the terrace with a nice view where you can have your breakfast, have a glass in the evening or just spend a couple of hours reading. It is a place where you feel at home.

Angelica K, Sweden

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2013

In short, there are nothing but positive things to mention about Maison du Pyla and Mme Fanja. Everything is flawlessly being cared for, from the cleaning of rooms and the common bathrooms to the overall decoration. And not to forget the delicious meals that were carefully prepared every day AND being a real feast for any vegetarian in Madagascar!
As stated before, it was no problem to leave luggage behind, and every other need or questions were kindly answered and effort is put in providing any help necessary. It is nicely located in a part of the city that allows an authentic view of Tana just outside on the street whilst not being as hectic as the other regions can be. The whole atmosphere surrounding Maison du Pyla is just incredible.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eveline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Gidi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Maison du Pyla is like a home away from home, even in faraway Madagascar. The hospitality was all round top notch; accommodation was superb, food was sumptuous and the amenities were exquisite. It's definitely a home away from home. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunmi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slagelse, Denmark
Level Contributor
196 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at the Maison du Pyla during November 2012 with a large group (we occupied the whole house) for several days. M.me Fanja organised everything to perfection. The rooms were clean and tidy, bathrooms OK, she even did laundry for 25+ people. The meals must be mentioned - just wonderful, prepared with care. If you ever go that way, do not miss the inventive desserts. Luggage could be left behind, transports organised - frankly, it is a miracle. How can she run this tidy and attentive house in that city? Sorry if this hurts feelings - but if you just walk down the street towards the center, you will understand what I mean.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaborLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Entebbe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The whole residence is beautifully decorated. The food every day was gourmet and was a real highlight of the stay. It has a great view of tana and is conveniently located close enough to the centre of town, but far enough from the business. Mme Fanja was an amazing hostess and was extremely helpful even away from Maison du Pyla. Overall this is a perfect place to stay in Tana!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here for a night at both the start and the end of our Madagascar holiday and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The house is a bit of a drive from the Tana airport but is totally worth it. The rooms are perfectly clean and cozy, beds comfortable, with the best, hottest showers we took in the country. The beer is cold and you feel safely tucked away out of the busy city. Fanja is an amazing host who cooks up lovely delicious dinners and speaks great English, a real bonus! It feels like you are staying at the home of an old friend. We will be forever grateful to her for helping us figure out a situation with the airlines that we thought was impossible. She spent her entire morning with us at Air Madagascar so that we could figure out how to get home when our flights were delayed so long we would miss our connection. Thank you to Fanja for being so kind and helpful!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndJay0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 59 in Antananarivo
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
328 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#7 of 59 in Antananarivo
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#13 of 59 in Antananarivo
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Pyla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Pyla

Property: La Maison du Pyla
Address: Quartier des facultes, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison du Pyla in Madagascar offers cottages with panoramic views and food services. Guest house of charm located 20 minutes walk from the center of Antananarivo. What happiness to feel at home everywhere! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Pyla Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing