We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it! :)”
Review of Hotel Niaouly

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antananarivo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Niaouly
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Love it, love you guys!
I wish I had stuck to my pre-trip planning and research and had decided to stay here when I first came to Tana!

As it happens I only ended up here during my last day after a mad overnight Taxi-Brousse trip from Ranomofana to cram in a few hours sleep and a much needed shower after over a month of bushwalking and seriously roughing it in the national parks of Madagascar.

This place was close to everything and seemingly away from the unfortunate in-your-face riff raff that I endured nearby where I ended up previously (and returned to inbetween) which was rather overpriced and not particularly nice in any way.

This place is cheap, the character of the placer is lovely, the staff seem lovely and helpful and the area it sits in is also lovely.

I recommend making a plan to stay somewhere such as this (I remember now the reason I ended up elsewhere was that no taxi drivers or anybody at the time knew where it was) and sticking to it.

:)

Room Tip: I just took whatever I could get with no notice or any booking it was great, I don't know what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AquariumRescueUnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

I once went to look at rooms with the intention of staying there. The staff were so indifferent to my waiting for information - chatting amongst themselves- that I decided to go elsewhere. I must admit that some other travelers I've met in Tana have spoken highly of it.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank DonalC986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niaouly, Gérant at Hotel Niaouly, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Je viens de prendre connaissance de votre avis et je vous en remercie

J'avoue être un peu surpris par le contenu de votre message car notre personnel, qui travaille dans l'établissement depuis 2008, n'a jamais fait l'objet de reproche de ce type.

Ce matin, je suis allé faire mon enquête auprès de nos 2 réceptionnistes et de nos serveuses.
J'avoue que personne ne se rappelle de votre visite, et personne ne comprends ce qui a pu se passer.

En tout état de cause, j'avoue être surpris et un peu déçu que notre établissement ai été sanctionné de la sorte, ... le service , bien que primordial, ne devant pas primer sur tous les autres aspects de l'hôtel : propreté, convivialité, situation, sécurité, innovation, décoration, ...
Un jugement un peu hâtif malgré que vous ayez entendu parlé de nous positivement d'après votre message, un jugement d'autant plus dur que personne ne peut se prétendre être à l'abri d'un incident!

Si j'assume pleinement des critiques très négatives que certains ont pu porter à notre hôtel en 2010 en guise de représailles, critiques faisant suite à mon "éjection" de 2 clients pour attitudes déplacées à l'égard de mon personnel, en revanche, être sanctionné de la sorte ... m'est assez difficile à accepter.

J'espère que vous aurez l'occasion de vous rendre de nouveau à Madagascar et que vous aurez l'occasion de venir nous voir, afin que je puisse comprendre ce qui a pu se passer.

Je vous réitère toutes nos excuses.

Cordialement

Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Positives:

- Nice staff
- Nice location
- Good restaurant
- Cheap
- WiFi Internet
- Nice atmosphere. Managers know how to be rude with sexual tourists.

Negatives:

- On a noisy street
- Managers are great, but employees could more helpful
- Bed bugs? Unless I got an allergy to something else.
- Would gain a lot to adopt a non-smoking policy in the restaurant

Room Tip: I had the room N°1, which was good value for money, even though not very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The location is excellent for Tana, especially for those who are travelling on foot or even public transport. It's very near the central downtown area (Analakely) - about a 10 minute walk. But it's just outside it enough that it seems a bit less crowded and also has some nice upper-class restaurants up and down the street nearby. It's also within walking distance (if you like to walk uphill) of the historic queen's palace (Rova), which has some incredible views of the city. So, as a launching point to enjoying Tana (especially by foot), it's very well-situated.

The rooms are fairly simple with very nice hand-carven designs in most of the wooden furniture. Nothing special about them, but not too cramped. The hotel as a whole has an excellent view of Tana's house-covered hillsides, very scenic, especially from the restaurant. However, only a few of the rooms have great views of the hillside. The others either look out onto the streetside (and thus are very noisy with traffic going by) or are sort of in a basement with no windows at all (and unfortunately sometimes too dark with the interior lighting). My major complaint is that the beds are ridiculously hard. That might just be my pampered American back, but they're spring mattresses that seem to have no spring and no padding. But, it's a simple place, fairly cheap, and gets the job done. They have one baby crib / rocker, so make sure to ask in advance to get it for you if you need it. It's hand-made and very cool-looking.

The staff are super-friendly, which is mostly to be expected (though not always the case) in Madagascar. The food at the restaurant, while more expensive than some restaurants is still cheaper than others, and for the quality of food - WELL worth the price! We enjoyed everything we ate there. The variety of rums are fun to try as well - though I like to make a cocktail by mixing them with Sprite.

Room Tip: The upper side by the windows are full of street noises (and some pollution), so they're not rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The general hotel ambience is reasonable for the price but our room (no 8) was awful. The bed sagged in the middle, the washing arrangements were crude, the shower almost unusable. Dinner in the restaurant was virtually inedible - we chose the dish of the day, chicken, which consisted of a few chicken bones and some rice. Breakfast was similarly minimalist. We were booked for two more nights later in our holiday but transferred to Chalet des Roses - see my review there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inspiredron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

This is the first time I've been so disappointed by a room that I've not stayed at the place I've booked. I didn't have visions of grandeur when I booked Niaouly and I was already excited by the gorgeous view from the patio. However, we were taken into the bowels of the hotel and were put into a dark, damp room with two beds (as per my request). It was pretty depressing and dark, but the rooms are very reasonably priced so I just took it in stride. My other half went to the restroom and I sat down on one of the beds. It immediately collapsed - one of the supporting boards hit the floor and the mattress followed. Not good. The more I sat in the depressing room, the more I wondered if it was worth it. Then my other half shouted from the bathroom. The flush was busted on the toilet! That was it. We needed a new room. I asked for a new room but was told they were all full. She was very polite and apologetic, but it is not a place I would want to stay - not in the basement rooms anyhow. Bad luck for us I guess.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Seeing the reviews, my husband and I booked in two nights after spending seven nights in rural Madagascar, and we are extremely happy that we took advice from TripAdvisor --- we liked the hotel very much. The photos on the hotel website are not as good as the real one!

Here are what we liked in particular:
1. We got a spacious room (with two bedrooms, one with a double bed and one single bed) with a balcony and a beautiful view of the hillside. The street is peaceful, and still it is almost in city centre, takes only 15 minutes to walk to the avenue of independence.
2. The staff was friendly and welcoming (They remembered my name!), made us feel at home. The homely atmosphere stimulated conversations among guests in the dining/living/bar area.
3. The restaurant provided food of great value. The choice was limited but food was good and the price was much cheaper than popular restaurants in town. So we were happy to eat in the hotel for one night. The variety of flavoured rhum on offer at the bar was impressive --- I counted and there were more than 50 flavours. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the hillside and a balcony.
4. We requested the hotel to arrange a transport to pick us up at the airport and the driver was waiting for us with a sign. It does not always happen so we were very pleased (It did not happen with other hotel we stayed earlier in Tana).
5. There is an exciting French restaurant ‘Le Petit Verdot’ around the corner, just 1-2 minutes walk from the hotel, where we dined on the second night.
6. There was an internet café right next to the hotel. There were a couple of internet cafés in the neighbourhood.

Here are some other observations. My intention here is to try to provide an overall picture, and not to complain: we would be happy to stay in this hotel again if we come back to Tana in future:
1. There was no cleaning/bed making on the second day. I guessed they do not clean guestrooms everyday when guests are staying for more than one night, which is understandable since it is a budget hotel, so no complaint.
2. There was no fan. We slept very well without one because it was cool (or perhaps we felt it was cool after spending seven days in rain forests?) and hence it was not a problem. Yet I want to mention that in the previous week we stayed in another hotel in town and we kept the fan on for the whole nights since it was hot and humid.
3. The wooden floor creaks and woke me up at night once or twice. The hotel tries to minimize the noise late at night by explicitly requesting all guests for their cooperation in this matter. I can live with it ---if there were a couple of nocturnal guests while my stay I should consider I had a bad luck.

To reiterate, we genuinely enjoyed our stay in the hotel. This is the hotel we want to stay again. I would like to recommend it to everyone who visits Tana, for leisure and business alike.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greylourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#15 of 59 in Antananarivo
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Lovasoa
Maison Lovasoa
#21 of 59 in Antananarivo
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#18 of 59 in Antananarivo
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#7 of 59 in Antananarivo
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niaouly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niaouly

Address: Lot VE 49, Ambatovinaky | Ambatovinaky, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antananarivo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#12 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: £8 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel Niaouly est un petit hotel d'entree de gamme, simple, propre, securise et convivial, situe en plein centre ville d'Antananarivo. L'hotel comporte un restaurant, un salon, un bar et une terrasse surplombant le jardin d'Ambohijatovo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Niaouly Hotel Antananarivo
Hotel Niaouly Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing