We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay - value for money too” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Garden Hotel
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Antananarivo
bognor regis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice stay - value for money too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a 2 night stay here recently. Hotel organised the airport pickup and the cab driver was very frienly and helpful, unfortunately the bag-handlers are a nuisance so beware of a stranger grabbing your bag and wanting money for doing so!! The journey to the hotel generally takes 30 mins but took us a whole hour due to 'rush hour' my thoughts are that it is always 'rush hour' on the thin, potholed busy road!! -take this into account when rushing back for your flight. Hotel was great and greated with a welcome drink and a friendly face. Room was clean and bright, mozzi net and a bath/shower (towels a bit dated but not a problem) Air-Con, Kettle&Safe located in the room. The seperate 'lounge' area, which was part of our room including a fridge, was handy when hubby wanted to watch UK footie at some un-godly hour!! Meals were very good in the resturant, good selection, and nice cold beer round the pool. Would recommend this to family and friends.

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the busy road but it wasnt a problem as we had a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samcozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
4
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed one night at the Sunny Garden Hotel, which is not far from the city centre. The hotel is not modern but has all that you need - friendly staff, big and spacious room, four-poster bed with mosquito net, big bathroom, TV with international channels and device to repel mosquitoes. The drive to the hotel is on a very narrow and congested road (one of two leading into Antananarivo) and we arrived at the hotel at around 10 pm at night because we stopped en route for appointments. Our late check-in was not a problem, we were greeted with an icecold drink and helpful porter. The lift wasn't working at the time, which wasn't a problem for us but may be for the elderly or guest in a wheelchair.
After a pleasant night's sleep we enjoyed a reasonable breakfast on a rainy morning. The hotel management told us we could stay until 12 noon before checking out. The free Internet was very slow and the connection bombed out a few times. Ask for a room overlooking the pool, otherwise you'll have a dreadful view of the busy road outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, which provides a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3KingProtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Rooms are very large and useful. Staff were kind and helpful, always smling people. Hotel is not city center, but it was better for business, i was away from city traffic. The hotel is near to a supermarket.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank on_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

This hotel is about 8 Kilometre from Ankorondrano Airport in Madagascar. The drive will take between 20 minutes and 1 hour along very narrow busy streets that were congested but clean. The hotel is a bit dated but the staff were very friendly and the rooms were large with a very nice big corner bath although the fittings were old. There was a big new flat screen TV in the room showing recent recordings of UK Premier league football and CNN news. In room free coffee and tea as well as efficient WIFI and a safety box in the room. The large bed had a good mosquito net around it. There were a few mosquitoes in the room but not many and the net was efficient. The dining room served quite good food from a balanced small menu. The breakfast included in the price of the room was Continental with payment required for western options. During heavy rain the electricity cut out but their back up generator lit up some areas and candle light dining was pleasant. Whilst the name is Sunny Garden the garden aspect is limited to a concrete patio around the large pool with flower beds and some trees around the property wall.

On the internet the hotel was one of 3 in the town advertising an Airport Shuttle so I emailed them giving my flight details and that I wanted to use the shuttle. I was met by a private jeep and the hotel charged 60,000 AR which was about 24 GBP. I later found out there is a company operating a shuttle bus that visits various hotels and only charges 10,000 AR about 4 GBP so I used that for the return journey.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Where to start? We got greeted by a line of staff all smiles when we entered the hotel holding an icey drink for each of us. We got seated in their lounge to rest after our long flight and lost luggage hassle at the airport. The manager was great and helpful at ensuring we were speaking with the right people to confirm that our luggage got to our hotel on the next incoming flight - which we were very grateful for as our broken french woul not have gotten us those results.

The rooms - size! These rooms are huge. Having travelled to a lot of hotels throughout europe where you are in such confined and compact rooms, we were in awe of the size of the room and huge four poster beds, and have to admit they were as comfortable as they were an beautiful accent to the decor of the rooms. We spent many afternoons, after busy mornings haggling in the crowded markets, unwinding in the cleanly upkept bathrooms in our large jacuzzi baths.

And Food, im a foodie - Breakfast - was a lot more than some toast and jam, the choices were extensive, filing and delicious, we had a very sweet waiter who was attentive to our table throughout. And in our month or so in Madagascar, we had the chance to dine in an array of local restaurants but we prefered eating at 'home' which is what Sunny Garden felt like by the end of our stay. The portions were perfect and the food options for dinner were creative and all delicious meals, dining at the hotel was a real pleasure for the palate.

Regrets? ya, maybe not having spent enough mornings swimming in the huge swimming pool, i'd have a view of it from my hotel room and if i go back will definetly do some morning laps while im there. Recommended. Would go back when next in Tana and definetely would stay at any of the other hotels in their chain after what they proved to us is quality service and an attention to detail which surpassed our expectations.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LJL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

what can i say, in africa you don't have many options. sunny garden was a good hotel to stay in antananarivo. at least it is near to celtel gsm operator. stuff was kind and owner of the hotel was very generous :) even he gave me a jacket as a gift.

Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Aziz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

I don't usually take the time to do this, but I feel that they really deserved it.
I stayed at the Sunny Garden Hotel for about 20 days.
The staff really made me feel like I was home. There is a nice family and home touch to this place. The rooms are clean, very big and very comfortable. I love the bathrooms. I ate at the hotel's restaurant basically everyday. The menu offers many choices of cuirsine from Asian, Spanish, European, African. It was great! The gym and the 25m swimming pool are impecable. You could never expect this kind of place in the city center of Antananarivo.
The hotel is fit for tourists and people who travel on business.
The free internet access and the international TV channels keep you connected with the rest of the world.
Thanx again to the Sunny Garden Staff and Family! I look forward to my next visit.
Truly,
Marlon Levy
USA

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayaman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamboho
Hotel Tamboho
#8 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de L'Avenue - Tana City Centre
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#20 of 63 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#21 of 63 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
0.3 mi away
Tana Hotel
Tana Hotel
#16 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Garden Hotel

Property: Sunny Garden Hotel
Address: Route Des Hydrocarbures | Ankorondrano, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sunny Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Garden Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing